We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pied Bull Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pied Bull Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

548 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pied Bull Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 544: English reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Just stayed here for two nights fantastic the staff and the accommodation also the food was excellent will definitely be coming back .. Very central as we didn't take a car bus station just around corner also a very helpful information centre down the street.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amanda M
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you intend to come back to stay with us again and we look forward to seeing you again.

Ware
Reviewed 15 February 2017

We had difficulty in finding somewhere to eat last Sunday evening in Chester. We were directed to the Pied Bull and we were so pleased at the outcome. We had a marvellous meal at a good price and the staff were delightful, especially the young lady who served us.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank juliadaviesuk
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your food with us at the pied bull and that our staff was very accommodating to yourself. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Many Thanks.

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We stayed at the Pied Bull last night. First impressions were good. The staircase was steep however that is to be expected from an old pub that is full of character. Our room looked nice however we immediately noticed a strong draft coming through the window. The room was cold however portable heaters are provided to combat this. Unfortunately, our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bionicferrets
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We try our up most best to advice people on our web site that front faced bedrooms may be open to street noise. This can not be helped due to being situated in the city center. This being said it is very rare that we receive such a complaint about those bedrooms. The executive king...

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2017

This is old and full of character - the stairways up to the top floor have a life all of their own. Our room was very clean and well appointed - but since it overlooked a main road we didn't get much sleep (I'd like to know why Chester thinks it necessary to run street cleaning machinery at around 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very happy that you enjoyed your time spent with us. Unfortunately we have no say as to street cleaning times in the city center that is the councils choice. We do apologise for the inconvenience but being city center located we cannot change that. We would like to say however if you choose...

Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

What a wonderful pub. It's facinating to see the medieval decor in parts and sample the great range of real ales. Food looked good and hearty. Shame we got the barmaid on a bad day; when asked about the beers she said sharply she didn't drink beer so couldn't say......

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kath R
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us at the Pied Bull. I will also be looking to see who the bar maid was so i can understand this matter further. We have recently started to put a sample pot out so that the customers can see the...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Nice atmosphere here, good range of ales and beers, and plenty of history all around you. Highly recommended place for a couple of drinks, or a meal. The Pied Bull has its own range of brewed beers, which means its always good, and also very good value as well

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time spent with us and we are very pleased that you enjoyed our wide range of beers that we brew here.

Reviewed 26 January 2017

Lovely old pub with pleasing atmosphere. It is an old building so have to expect steep uneven stairs and creaky floorboards. Very pleasant, clean, nicely decorated room with modern shower room (easy to use shower). Central heating is poor but very effective heaters provided. Quiet enough for me not to need ear plugs. Good situation in the town. Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janet c
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us at the Pied Bull. We are happy that you enjoyed your time spent with us here and that the location of where we are situated was ideal for yourself. Breakfast is available and be chosen upon booking or on the day if you decide to add breakfast to your room rate....

Llandudno, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017

this was a last minute booking for my wife and I to stay in Chester overnight. our parking was at a nearby shopping mall. the twin room we had was on the top floor. interior was clean. one suggestion would be to have some air freshener in the rooms, as the bathroom smelt damp. had a local beer in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GWW_12
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us at the pied bull. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us here and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the near future. Many Thanks

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

The rooms were beautiful and immaculate, unfortunately that is the only positive. We booked the penthouse suite the staircase was steep and even right at the top we were still disturbed by the noise from the bar. The food was awful, although it looked nice it was so greasy and full of oil that it was impossible to eat. Such...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glsimpson
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear this about your dining experience. I will be looking in to this matter and hope to resolve the situation. The stair case is original to the building and it is unfortunate that we dont have a lift here. When booking rooms we do our very best to allocate rooms...

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Lovely, central very genuine olde worlde coaching inn. Beautiful Christmas decorations. NCP parking handy. Fab accommodation, we were down side street, No 17. Bit cold but elec rad took chill off. Lovely breakfast, but service v slow (50 mins) as two tables of 5 in before us. Wish breakfast was up till later than 0900 and check out was later...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time spent with us here at the Pied Bull. My apologies for the delay on service on breakfast from my understanding we did have some large groups in for breakfast that morning that all came down with only 15 minutes left of service. We would love...

207 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (123)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (84)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (60)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.9 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,018 reviews
0.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.6 km away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#9 of 44 in Chester
1,060 reviews
0.5 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Pied Bull Inn

Address: Northgate Street, Chester, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: RM400 - RM977 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pied Bull Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pied Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pied Bull Hotel Chester
Pied Bull Chester
Pied Bull Inn Chester, Cheshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pied Bull Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
uk
over a year ago
10 months ago
Lincoln, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Pied Bull Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a bigger double room in the main pub”
Papagayo12, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check it has been cleaned thoroughly”
Unhappy276, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Do not stay in room 9.”
kimbobl81, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 8 was lovely and clean”
Sar_Hantrip, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask before booking!”
TonyR438, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5