We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pied Bull Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pied Bull Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

547 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pied Bull Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 543: English reviews
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

We visited the Pied Bull for lunch recently during a visit to Chester. We had been before and had enjoyed the beers from their brewery. These did not disappoint. The food was not as good as I remember. My husband had 16-hour braised shin of beef which he said was very good. It came with carrots and potatoes and was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boaterlady
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. I am very happy that you came back to visit us and i hope that you will again so that next time you have food here you can leave happy and pleased with your dining experience. I can only apologize that the nicoise salad was not up to the standard that we aim...

Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Not cheap, but a reasonable price considering the time of year (school holidays) and the location which was very central (but fairly quiet). Room was small but double bed very comfortable. Bathroom and shower first class. We didn't eat but the micro brewery downstairs has an excellent pint of IncrediBull. Staff very friendly and helpful. This coaching house can be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nic1691
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your pint of incrediBull as this is a beer that could possibly be a one off special so our brewer is very pleased with this thank you. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time spent with us here at the Pied Bull and hope to see you...

Cockermouth
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The Pied Bull is centrally located in the middle of Chester. For a pub it was surprisingly quiet. Service friendly, casual but impersonal. An interesting old building; our room was well adapted for modern use although the floor had quite a slope! The room was clean and pleasantly decorated and the bathroom modern and spacious. Chose not to stay for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elspeth P
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review i am pleased that you enjoyed your time here. Hopefully next time you stay we can tempt you with one of our belly buster breakfasts. We hope to see you again soon.

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Despite its website this really is a very overpriced place to stay, the reception is at the end of the bar, the pub itself is really quite tacky with lots of tacky offers, e.g. Sunday lunch 9.99, it is not the boutique style of inn the website aims to portray, our room (3) had a 4 poster bed and was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcrogers
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback which i can assure you will be acted upon. My deepest apologies. I would like the opportunity to try and rectify this for you and if this is something that you would like please do not hesitate to contact us direct so that we can do this. Once again my deepest apologies.

Basingstoke
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Friendly and helpful check in, room was nicely laid out - only comments no fan in the room and I asked three times for one and never got one it was a stuffy night - there is a tiny TV with terrible sound - nice bathroom with a good shower but a big no no was there were no mattress...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephelloyd
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, i am very happy that you enjoyed your experience with us at the pied bull and that our staff here were helpful in service. I do apologize about the fan as we do have them available for guests. Your feedback has been noted and i appreciate you taking the time out to provide us with...

Liverpool
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We stayed here on a Saturday evening and as we had arrived a little earlier than check in times we were able to leave our bags behind reception before heading off to explore Chester. The hotel is very centrally situauted so perfect to head out and explore! Upon our return, check-in was efficient and easy and the staff were friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John L
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am very happy that you enjoyed your time with us and that our staff here were able to accommodate your needs. We hope to see you again when you next visit chester.

Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

We chose to stay at the Pied Bull as we'd been there 17 years ago after our wedding. Pleased to find out that the rooms had been renovated. We had room 14 which was very clean and well appointed. The bedframe was a bit wobbly and moved when we sat on it. The bathroom has been modernised with a big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We do offer a late check out as well as a early check in. I am deeply sorry that your dining experience was not up to standard and i thank you for informing us of this so that i can improve things instantly and i can only assure you that this will be done with...

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2016

What a lovely oldie worldie place - was a nice place & staff where first class. Only problem was the noise in room 16- noise was horrendous from the main road & from the sanaflow system in the bathroom- every time you either flushed the toilet or turned the tap on the noise was really bad. Food was lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed the history of the hotel and that our staff here catered for you first class. I apologize for the negatives but thank you for informing us so that we can solve these problems. We hope to see you again soon.

Mold
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

We booked a room for 4 people and were pleasantly surprised with the 2 bedroomed suite that we stayed in. It was very clean and comfortable, with TVs (one with dvd player) and free WiFi and a gorgeous bathroom! The staff were very friendly and the bar area and beer garden were also friendly and food was reasonably priced and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at the Pied Bull. Although we cannot prevent the noise from outside as we are a city center hotel we do our best to pre warn people via our web site. We do have a range of fans available for bedrooms on...

Liverpool
Reviewed 5 August 2016

my wife bought me a groupon voucher for the Pied Bull brewery tour which my friend & I went on last Saturday. The tour started at 6pm & the very knowledgeable tour guide (sorry didn't catch his name) showed us round the micro brewery which is located in the pub cellar. It was very interesting to see the process of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lLiverpoolSteve
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your brewery tour. Brewing our very own ales is a great passion for our brewer Richard and the guide of your particular tour was one of our supervisors John. Taking great pride and passion in brewing and our tours i am extremely happy that you enjoyed your time with us.

207 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (123)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (84)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (60)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.9 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,013 reviews
0.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.6 km away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 44 in Chester
1,058 reviews
0.5 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Pied Bull Inn

Address: Northgate Street, Chester, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: RM400 - RM977 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pied Bull Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pied Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pied Bull Hotel Chester
Pied Bull Chester
Pied Bull Inn Chester, Cheshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pied Bull Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
uk
over a year ago
10 months ago
Lincoln, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Pied Bull Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check it has been cleaned thoroughly”
Unhappy276, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Do not stay in room 9.”
kimbobl81, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 8 was lovely and clean”
Sar_Hantrip, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask before booking!”
TonyR438, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Can only speak of rooms down side street. 20 rooms in total, some are in the actual pub.”
114DebbieG, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5