We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

WH Thirty Six

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
WH Thirty Six
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

13 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 12: English reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2016

A friend and I stayed while visiting for the Chester races in May, we arrived in Chester early on the Friday and made our way to the B&B. As we paid for early arrival the room was ready and waiting for us, the whole establishment was clean and modern. The room was a nice size and airy, then bathroom is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie G
Tamsin H, Manager at WH Thirty Six, responded to this review

Hi Jamie, We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for the lovely review! We look forward to welcoming you again next year

Reviewed 26 July 2016

Great little gem in the city centre with everything we needed for a few nights stay for a friends birthday. Tamsin kindly arranged some extras for us, and even left a present too! Will definitely be booking again next time we're in Chester

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elliebelliexo1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 April 2016

What can I say? After our bad experience just a day before at another hotel, this place was rather refreshing with its cleanness and coziness. We had no problem to enter or to find a parking place. Breakfast is made by a person who looks after the property (I guess) and contains fruits, cereals with some baked croissants etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niki S
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Beware!!! this is nothing more than an occupied 2 bedroomed mid-terrace house although the owner does not live on site. Having booked the accommodation I attempted to contact the owner to arrange an early arrival & to use the free on site private parking. The landline number listed is a residential number (nothing to do with the B&B) and despite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LeeandJen64
Tamsin H, Manager at WH Thirty Six, responded to this review

Lee & Jen booked one room for two nights in WH Thirty Six prior to us changing to a two bedroom let only. At this time we provided guests with a number of items for their use, including guest amenities in the fridge. I can assure future guests that when booking self catering accommodation no staff visit the property other...

Reviewed 27 August 2015 via mobile

When we walked into this bed and breakfast we where slightly worried that we had walked into someone's house. But having looked around it was obvious that it was a B and B. Having been in the house for half an hour we where very impressed with the setting and how clean everything was and how easy everything was to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Morgan G
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Found this B&B online and made reservations since the BW Queeen's Premier hotel was asking too high a price due to horse racing that day. No information pack was sent and was unable to get to info site via address they gave, BUT after wandering around Chester and asking lots of local folks how to get there, we found it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rhinogal
Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2015

The owner was rude. Soon as we got through the door she asked us for the money before she showed us around. This is not a B and B. Beware it is a two bedroom terrace house with a shared bathroom and no owner on site. She charged us £20 late check in fee and then turned up half an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaa450
Tamsin H, Owner at WH Thirty Six, responded to this review

These guests asked to arrive at 8.30pm, which is well outside of our check-in time. When told that late check-in was available for a fee of £20 they asked to cancel (the morning of their booking). As is our policy, we would have charged for this, so the decided to proceed with the booking. We had a team member waiting...

Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2015

If you need a room to stay in and you're willing to pay an extortionate price for it's lack of facilities, then this is the place to stay. The Continental breakfast consisted of rooting around in the kitchen cupboards for ASDA own brand croissants and DIY service.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nikki1368
Tamsin H, Owner at WH Thirty Six, responded to this review

This guest left without paying or leaving any details in order to process payment. We spent several days chasing this guest for payment, and only received a response after explaining further action would be taken. We are clear on what we offer, and have a high percentage of returning guests who have enjoyed their stay. A team member arrived 10minutes...

Reviewed 4 July 2015 via mobile

Appaling customer service. A nice place and nicely done out. However, it's neither one thing or another. It's basically a room in a house. The owner was late in providing breakfast on the first morning. I also contacted the owner to say I was leaving early and had forwarded my bank details and contact details and I was moving on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
Tamsin H, Manager at WH Thirty Six, responded to this review

This guest left without paying or leaving any details in order to process payment. We spent several days chasing this guest for payment, and only received a response after explaining further action would be taken. We are clear on what we offer, and have a high percentage of returning guests who have enjoyed their stay. A team member arrived 10minutes...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2015

This is not really a B&B, more like overnight lodging in student accommodation. You have to sort yourself out, that is if the landlady has remembered to buy stuff for breakfast. It looks like something from the set of Hollyoaks, and very over priced for £85, plus an extra £20 for arriving after 6pm. Be warned if you are a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A C
Tamsin H, Owner at WH Thirty Six, responded to this review

Please see response to review from A C, as this is the same reviewer.

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.9 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
536 reviews
0.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,471 reviews
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
BW Premier Hallmark Chester The Queen
1.3 km away
Devonia Lodge Guest House
0.4 km away
Maison Claire
Maison Claire
#41 of 83 in Chester
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
WH Thirty Six offers bespoke stays in luxury accommodation. The modern two bedroom townhouse is located only 10 minutes' walk from Chester Racecourse and 5 minutes' walk from the city centre. With all the amenities to make the most of your stay, you'll be spoilt for choice on hiding out to enjoy the sights and tastes the Chester has to offer, or snuggling up in front of the living flame fire with the latest box office hit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about WH Thirty Six

Address: 36 Walpole Street, Chester CH1 4HG, England (Formerly Walpole Street B&B)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: RM560 - RM1,372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your WH Thirty Six reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
WH Thirty Six Chester, Cheshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from WH Thirty Six staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from WH Thirty Six staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book quick!”
 of 5 bubbles jamieg507, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Personalised, homely service!”
 of 5 bubbles Elliebelliexo1, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
2 of 2
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay