We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tregarthen Guesthouse

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Tregarthen Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 164: English reviews
Start your review of Tregarthen Guesthouse
 Click to rate
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Excellent location for us.just far enough away from the town (about 15 min walk and about 10 mins from the beach. The room was almost perfect. The only criticism that I had was the shower lever could be easily caught when showering and knocked to the cold position. The shower was very good it just didn't suit my large frame...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
JULIESPRINGETT, Owner at Tregarthen Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for great review, very pleased you were comfy and pleased with Tregarthen and what we offer. We have taken on board about you caching the shower leaver we have made alterations so hopefully his issue now resolved, hope o see you both again in he future :)

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Can't recommend this B&B enough. Julie is an incredibly welcoming and attentive host. She really looks after all her guests. We requested a room that didn't look out on to the car park but there was only a room over looking the car park available during our stay; Julie went above board and bought us some wine and an Easter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayley L
JULIESPRINGETT, Owner at Tregarthen Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely words and great score, so pleased you were happy and comfy, was lovely meeting you both, hope to see you in the future :)

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

This guesthouse is absolutely beautiful. Julie is so welcoming and could not have been more attentive during our stay. The guesthouse is kept immaculately clean and is very fresh and modern. Our room had tea and coffee facilities and also a hairdryer with a lovely en suite bathroom. The cooked breakfast was lovely and got our day off to a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
JULIESPRINGETT, Owner at Tregarthen Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you or lovely review, was great meeting the 3 of you so pleased u were all happy with everything, you with others last weekend were out first guests of the season testing out our new coffee machine, pleased u all loved it, it's gone down very well so far, Hope to see you again one day :)

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2016

We stayed here for 6 nights in September. The host Julie welcomed us and showed us to our room, which was spotless. The room has a fridge and tea making facilities. You can also bring a takeaway to the room as plates and cutlery are provided for this purpose.Julie was very helpful with ideas on what to see and do....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tong998
JULIESPRINGETT, Owner at Tregarthen Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for great review, hope to see you again in the future :)

Axminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We spent two nights at Tregarthen Guesthouse. The facilities were excellent and there were extra touches of thoughtfulness. Breakfast was freshly cooked and there was a nice selection of fruit, cereals and pastries.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine B
JULIESPRINGETT, Owner at Tregarthen Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for you lovely review, glad you like the little extras we add to the rooms, having wine glasses and takeaway plates and cutlery is handy after a long day site seeing so you can chill in you room, hope To see you in the future :)

dorset uk
Reviewed 18 September 2016

We stayed here for the weekend, it's a lovely place, we are already planning a return trip ha! Julie made us welcome from the moment we arrived, the rooms are fantastic, fridge, kettle, plates, cutlery, for takeaways, if you want to stay in. Loved the personal touches and little extras like the good quality toilet roll and soaps/shampoos etc, also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chasingrainbows7
JULIESPRINGETT, Owner at Tregarthen Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review it was great meeting you both, and looking forward in seeking you again, so pleased all was too your liking u were a pleasure to look after :)

Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Upon arrival we was greeted by Julie the owner, who was very welcoming. We was shown to our room and Julie very kindly went through details of the set up, which was very helpful. Room was very comfortable, pleasant surroundings and clean. Our Room was accommodating with little extra's such as lightweight sheet, drink making facilities, plates, cutlery if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goughrichard
JULIESPRINGETT, Owner at Tregarthen Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to do a review, we cannot thank you enough for your lovely words so happy all was too your liking, we do try hard and love what we do hope to see you again soon :)

Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

The room was spotless.Plates knifes and forks supplied if you fancied having a takeaway for the evening.A mini fridge was also in the room to chill any drinks you may have during the evening.The guest house is in easy walking distance of Newquay centre and is close to Lusty Glaze beach.The breakfasts were outstanding and all tastes catered for and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon F
JULIESPRINGETT, Owner at Tregarthen Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for lovely review, so pleased you found our little extras in rooms useful, and u like our location just a short walk from town so when u come back from an evening out in town it's nice to come back to a quiet location to sleep, looking forward in you returning to us in the future :)

Kingskerswell
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

From the moment we were greeted by Julie the owner, we knew we were in for a perfect stay. Shown to our room straight away, even at 3 hours early. Room was spacious and spotless. Every eventuality considered (staying in, going out). All varieties of Breakfast provided, all freshly made. It's easy to see why the ratings are so high,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlanDodwell
JULIESPRINGETT, Owner at Tregarthen Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Alan & Michelle thank you for taking the time to put a review up , and what a review thank you so much so pleased all was to your likeing, looking forward in seeying you both again one day :)

Reviewed 4 September 2016

Myself and 5 of my family members stayed here last week for 5 days and we were all extremely pleased. We've stayed in Newquay for the last 20+ years and we've stayed at number of different Hotels, B&B and Guesthouses but we've found none of them to be as accommodating as the Tregarthen Guesthouse. It's around the corner from our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andy P
JULIESPRINGETT, Owner at Tregarthen Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi You all great to hear from you and what a brill review thank you so very much, it was a pleasure looking after you all, and i know it was a very special time for your parents having you all together on holiday, thank you again for lush words very appresiated hope you will return :)

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.4 km away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
2.6 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.8 km away
Geckos Rest
Geckos Rest
#3 of 105 in Newquay
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Quies
The Quies
#5 of 105 in Newquay
490 reviews
0.9 km away
Westward Bed and Breakfast
Westward Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 105 in Newquay
237 reviews
0.9 km away
The Cove Guesthouse
The Cove Guesthouse
#4 of 105 in Newquay
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Julie & Jim welcome you to Tregarthen, a Bed and Breakfast offering you a very high standard of accommodation, taking bookings of couples and families only. Tregarthen Guest House is situated in the prime location for Lusty Glaze & Tolcarne beaches and the bustling town centre of Newquay. Fresh, modern, affordable accommodation in the Tregarthen Guest House, Newquay, Cornwall. We offer short breaks and special offer holidays. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tregarthen Guesthouse

Address: 1 Arundel Way, Newquay TR7 3BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Price Range: RM327 - RM460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tregarthen Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregarthen Guesthouse Newquay, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tregarthen Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Tregarthen Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are only 7 rooms but all spotlessly clean”
JasmineB_13, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 6 is a large 'superior' loft room with a HUGE BED and a lovely bathroom. There is also a garden room (7) which may be quieter.”
193alyne, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We had room 5 and was very happy”
charlie1412, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“no matter what room you stop in in this place you will be well looked after, if you look and don't book it will be your loss”
baldy_83, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the garden room (7) and it is a lovely quite room with its own deck area.”
Paroha, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Priceline
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates