We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cliffdene Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cliffdene Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

306 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cliffdene Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 298: English reviews
Steeple Morden
Reviewed 9 December 2016

I stayed at Cliffdene with a friend with a coach trip. The weekend was turkey and tinsel but we didn't know that til we got there. Room was clean and beds very comfortable, excellent nights sleep. Food was well cooked and plentiful. Very friendly and helpful staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thelma w
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2016

This hotel was amazing, quick check in straight to a lovely room. The staff are outstanding, food was delicious with great choices and superb service. We were part of a coach party visiting Padstow Christmas market and the Eden project. My Mum who has limited mobility was very well catered for. A lift is available so no problems going upstairs....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angie M
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Cradley Heath West Midlands
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Had a funeral to attend in Cornwall so decided to make a mini break out of it. I saw this advertised on a booking site, and at £40 for a night thought, that'll do. As said before on other reviews, it does look a little drab and dated from the front of the building and the reception area just needs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank slartybartfast_1
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2016

I have just returned from 5 days at the Cliffdene Hotel. The hotel is of the traditional type - friendly, warm and welcomiing, and is in an excellent location on the sea front. The staff were cheerful and helpful, and nothing was too much bother for them. The rooms were clean and comfortable - good heater that worked really well,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pjoybells
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Reviewed 16 November 2016

First impressions were not too good the reception area is very drab and outdated and not too clean looking, so was quite apprehensive about the guests rooms but although outdated they were very clean. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfast was nice and piping hot unlike some places where the food can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

An overnight stay at this hotel, sited on sea front at Newquay. Hotel is clean and the staff are friendly, the food is also very good. This was our second visit, last time we stayed the weekend for the price its really fine. It could do with updating but then the price would go up!! We really enjoy our stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue H
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

cornwall
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Cannot praise Hotel highly enough, staff were great and went out of their way to ensure we were well catered for. Have used this hotel for past three years due to escalating costs by other hotels in the area, accommodation is great for the price, clean and comfy, found no faults so not sure what others complain about, thirty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sailorbeware
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Amesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2016

The room was comfortable and clean, the bed was hard and springs were prominent which lead to poor sleep each night. The Breakfasts each morning were badly organised and the service was slow and we waited up to 35 minutes each morning to order our breakfast. When it arrived it had, uncooked sausages, badly cooked eggs, bacon just cooked or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jonathan D
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your...

Matlock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

I chose this hotel as I needed somewhere inexpensive yet nice. I booked a single room with single bed for £20 for a night. I wasn't expecting much for the price but was greeted with a friendly and attentive welcome. The room I stayed in was very well maintained, for the price I expected it to be a bit shabby...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank starkeyl
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Reviewed 4 November 2016

Location by gorgeous beaches and Newquay is not far from airport - Opposite bus stop to Padstow, Airport, Truro, St Austell. Newquay town centre and walks - friendly helpful local staff who directed me on the best pasty in town (yum) - clean - excellent value for money - lovely view from lounge - breakfast £6.50 - good wi-fi in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flossy N
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 km away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
789 reviews
1.6 km away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
53 reviews
0.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#19 of 38 in Newquay
189 reviews
3.5 km away
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel
0.2 km away
Sandy Lodge Hotel
Sandy Lodge Hotel
#20 of 38 in Newquay
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Cliffdene Hotel

Address: Cliffdene Hotel 12-14 Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Price Range: RM144 - RM458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cliffdene Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cliffdene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffdene Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cliffdene Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
9 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Cliffdene Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms at the front have good views but rooms to the rear could be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles rogersH368LZ, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea view! Room 8”
  • Huge room and very warm
  • Small but clean ensuite shower room
  • More of that view from the balcony!
  • What a view from a £40 room!
 of 5 bubbles , 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Just ask for sea view. Simplessss.”
 of 5 bubbles sailorbeware, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view room”
 of 5 bubbles 210elainet, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Sea and road at front, quiet but with no outlook at back”
 of 5 bubbles RDH1, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5