We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Esplanade Hotel

Booking.comUS$124*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
09/06/2017 10/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Esplanade Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,295: English reviews
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2016

Great hotel, great people. They really do look after you. Room was fantastic and the view of Fistral beach took some beating and this was all during an Atlantic storm. Breakfast was really good and excellent coffee.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmead1999
JoeTurner-Esplanade, Guest Relations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jmead1999, I am pleased to see that you chose to celebrate your Mum's 80th Birthday with us and you felt well looked after throughout the stay. We are spoilt to have such lovely views even during a Stormy week. I'm glad breakfast was to your liking and we do hope you chose to stop with us again soon. Don't...

Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

Nothing but good comments to give about this hotel. I could only make small complaints about the experience. It is a hotel with a lovely view of the beach from the lounge. From the moment we checked in the service was excellent. From the assistant manager , restaurant manager (and assistant), the bar manager and other members the service was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank easytiger1607
JoeTurner-Esplanade, Guest Relations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Easytiger1607, It's truly fantastic to find that you could only provide good feedback about your stay. I am positive that you received the same excellent level of service across all departments and we are a very strong team which makes for a good level of customer care, as i'm sure you would concur. We are gratified that you found...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Can't fault this hotel. excellent service in every way. Warm spacious rooms, great facilities and wonderful food; though I personally could use a little less garlic and spices. Helpful friendly staff and good entertainment. Would definitely book again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny J
JoeTurner-Esplanade, Guest Relations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jenny, It's marvelous that you couldn't fault the hotel in anyway and every aspect of your Twixmas break with us was to your standards. I'm also glad that the entertainment aspect of your stay met to your standards and that you shall be returning to stop with us again soon. Please remember to book direct to receive the very...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Very disappointed in this hotel . Room small despite paying for an ugrade-had to stand sideways to pass each other. Carpet dirty and sticky. Bathroom shower vent filthy No hot water at 6pm. . Bed hard and pillows lumpy. Kitchen and waiting staff unable to coordinate to get food on table in timely manner. Sat with friends but ate at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joan C
JoeTurner-Esplanade, Guest Relations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joan, I am saddened to hear that you were disappointed in your stay with us. I would like to firstly apologize that you had received this experience and that you found the room not to your liking. I am glad however that the service you received from the majority of the staff was courteous and to our set standard....

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2016

Just had 4 nights at the hotel. We had a cream tea on arrival and our package was on an all inclusive basis. We had a room upgrade to a sea view. The room was very clean and comfortable, with lovely fluffy towels in the bathroom. Evening meals were excellent and plenty of choice. Entertainment was ok but not to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 18Deb65
JoeTurner-Esplanade, Guest Relations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 18Deb65, It's perfect that you tantalized yourself with a Cream Tea upon arrival on your all inclusive package. Sea View rooms are an excellent indulgence to upgrade to and its wonderful to see that the room met to your satisfaction. We do try to ensure all entertainment is tailored to a broad range of tastes, so my apologies that...

Saltash
Reviewed 13 February 2016

We have been back to this hotel many time's, the staff couldn't be any more helpful,from the moment we walked through the door to the moment we checked out we were made to feel like we were the only guests in the hotel,they were always friendly and would go out of their way to make our stay as nice as...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lee_compton
JoeTurner-Esplanade, Guest Relations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lee_Compton, We are very glad to see that you are such loyal guests with us and have enjoyed each repeat visit. We try out up most to ensure each guest feels like an individual as we value our guests like royalty. It's excellent that the kids were equally as well looked after as yourselves and we most definitely look...

Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2016

We stayed 5 days (Mon - Fri Break) in Feb 16 - We couldn't fault this hotel. Food was first class & so were the staff. Evening entertainment was a bonus. If you could book a room with a seaview I'm sure that would be the icing on the cake

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sanskinner
JoeTurner-Esplanade, Guest Relations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sanskinner, I am extremely glad to hear that you couldn't find fault in your stay with us and that the whole stay was of first class service. We do ensure that entertainment is provided to keep our guests with activities to do and indeed our sea view rooms have views to die for. We do hope you would like...

Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

This was our forth visit and how things have changed. The accommodation was excellent however the meal was a disaster, nearly 200 of us attended our annual weekend at the hotel. Usually the food is first class but this year it was totally different the service was abysmal and more worrying was that some of the food came out from...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Martin G
Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

Booked a last minute trip here and what a lovely hotel. There was a big function going on but the hotel staff were more than happy to help us. Sauna and jacuzzi were fab especially as the weather was so awful. Amazing views of Fiscal beach and good location. Great night away. Would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
JoeTurner-Esplanade, Guest Relations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emily, It is fantastic to hear that the last minute trip proved a fabulous experience for you and even though a large function took place you still felt well looked after. We look forward to your return and don't forget to book direct to receive all loyalty club benefits.

somerset
Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

Went for a short break and informed dog friendly. On arrival told dogs not allowed in public areas including lounge and bar, only allowed in rooms. Really disappointed as hotel is advertised as dog friendly and is clearly not. Therefore we could not enjoy the full facilities of the hotel. Shame as its a great location. But Headland hotel a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank c4aker

498 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (299)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
View from Room (45)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
1:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (118)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (156)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Best Room (28)
Viewed
Pool (4)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Seaview Family Room (Sleeps Five) (28)
Viewed
Seaview Family Room With Sofa (27)
Viewed
Standard Family Room (Sleeps Four) (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
09/06/2017 10/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.0 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.2 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
4.1 km away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
982 reviews
0.5 km away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
892 reviews
2.0 km away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Esplanade Hotel is a contemporary family-focused hotel overlooking the world-famous Fistral Beach in Newquay with stunning views from inside and out. The Hotel is more than just a place to sleep - it's a place where you can enjoy quality family holidays on the North Cornwall coast; from splashing about in the heated indoor pool and dining together in the informal family-friendly Ocean View Restaurant to exploring the indoor and outdoor play areas or chilling out in the reception lounge whilst soaking up the view and enjoying a coffee. The hotel is also home to the Quiksilver Surf School and all guests receive discounted surf lessons and equipment hire- the Esplanade Hotel really does have something for all the family! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Price Range: RM329 - RM780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Newquay
The Esplanade Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#8 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#13 Family Hotel in Newquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Esplanade Hotel staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from The Esplanade Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a 2nd floor room as what we could see was that have started refurbishing some of these rooms.”
inlineml, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Sea-view rooms are an extra £20 a night. However, if you can struggle down to the lounge, you can enjoy wonderful sea views from there.”
StewartS317, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Room with a sea view really worth an ask”
_hbcatalystHELEN, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Excellent. Good value for money. Everything you could need including biscuits with the tea and coffee. ”
lydiaw660, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“It would be worth paying extra to have a view across Fistral beach.”
kalamiqueen, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$124* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$124
TripAdvisorUS$124
Orbitz.comUS$124
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates