We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Great Western Hotel

Save
Traveller (349)
Room & Suite (219)
Dining (91)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good33%
  • Average13%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“premium room”(59 reviews)
“steam bar”(24 reviews)
“sea view”(100 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
Bar/Lounge
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (961)
There are newer reviews for Great Western Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
939 results
Traveller rating
397
320
123
53
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
397
320
123
53
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremium roomsteam barsea viewoverflow car parkparking spacecornish breakfastfantastic viewsper daywater pressurebooked this hotelgreat roomstayed for nightsfish and chipsthe cliffcomfy bedtolcarne beachshort break
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
171 - 175 of 939 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

I went for a business meeting , we arrived late on the evening and reception knew us all by name which was great. The room was clean and spacious with a lovely view of the sea very therapeutic at night . Breakfast was lovely with...More

Thank Sharon C
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

Good value hotel. Standard room was quite small but cosy. Very warm at night. Food was good for the evening meal and good value. Also a generous breakfast in the morning and we had a good sea view from the restaurant. All the staff were...More

Thank Zoona1960
Response from StAustellManagement, Manager at Great Western HotelResponded 27 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and your food with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

Really nice hotel with lovely views, comfy beds and great cleanliness. Ideal location - about 30 seconds walk from Newquay train station. The staff were very friendly and our room with a sea view was also really spacious! Would stay again.

Thank Lauren2710
Response from StAustellManagement, Manager at Great Western HotelResponded 27 March 2017

Thank you for your lovely 5* review Lauren, we are so glad you enjoyed your time with us, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed 21 March 2017

My wife and I have had lunch with a drink here on several occasions. Food and drink great. Amazing views of the coastline. We haven't stayed here but we would seriously consider it based on our dining experience. Give it a go!More

Thank Monstermunch2017
Response from StAustellManagement, Manager at Great Western HotelResponded 27 March 2017

Thank you for writing a review for our Steam Bar. The team works hard to produced fresh food from locally sourced ingredients which offers the great taste of Cornwall. If you wish to stay with us at all in the future, please call our fabulous...More

Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

We decided to stay here while we attended a friends wedding nearby and we're very impressed. The room was very comfortable and had everything you could need for your stay. With a brilliant location overlooking the beach and at a great price you couldn't ask...More

Thank jandgdaddy
Response from StAustellManagement, Manager at Great Western HotelResponded 27 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a 5* review for us. We are really lucky to be located so close to town and one of the most beautiful beaches in Newquay. We look forward to welcoming you next time you are in Newquay.

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Newquay
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Room Service
Beachfront
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$93 - US$166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$93 - US$166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (349)
Room & Suite (219)
Dining (91)
Pool & Beach (13)
Family and Play Areas (5)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
manicparrot1979
31 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from HobbitHJ | Reviewed this property |
It does have a lift on one side of the hotel which serves quite a few rooms, however alot of the rooms are via stairways. They are very good at accommodating wheel chairs etc so if restricted I'd ring and book or state you... More
1
Vote
nessy1954
19 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Archy28 | Reviewed this property |
Pub next door associated with the hotel.
1
Vote
Tabs2000
I left a review pointing out the terrible view from our room during our stay and you have pointed out that these are your lowest rooms and they are advertised as such regarding the views of staff quarters or the main road and we were offered a £30 upgrade for a costal view. Now I see you are quick to defend your hotel but could you point me in the direction as to where this is advertised on booking. Also in terms of what we were offered I put that in my review we were offered to upgrade the main issue was the lack of customer service from your front of house, it was basically computer says no with blank stares. My review was honest and I felt you only acknowledged the part where you could make it appear that you had offered a resolution. No your hotel didn't offer a resolution, I would have happily cancelled and had a refund, that wasn't offered and as I pointed out I feel these rooms are booked on a pre paid basis and non refundable because of the poor standard and the room does not reflect any photos that you advertise it as whether it's your lowest room or not.
5 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Mr_ben_83 |
Could have been worse, we paid for an upgrade (£40) only to find an attic room with a small window that overlooked the beach. Admittedly the view was nice but you had to go to the corner of the room to be able to see out... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Always ask for a room with a sea view, it really is worth it."
Read review
"Definitely go for the sea view rooms!!"
Read review
"The Bridal Suite is superb! Room 217"
Read review
"Choose premier room with a sea view. We has 229 but was down the far end of the hotel and fair trek."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing