We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Penzance

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

743 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 711: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife had bought a voucher on Groupon for the Hotel Penzance. Due to various reasons we were unable to use it until early November 2016. With thoughts of at best, dreary weather, we nearly never went but a window of opportunity occurred and we booked in on November 1st for a two night stay. What a lovely surprise it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Many thanks for your very positive review........It was our pleasure to welcome you to our hotel and am very happy it exceeded all expectations. We all look forward to seeing you again very soon so that you can relax, indulge, drink, taste and enjoy your stay once again.

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was such an incredible evening - what a way to welcome in the New Year. Started New Years eve with a walk to Mousehole, returned to afternoon tea and then the party started. Good food, fun entertainment and amazing staff. Thank you all so much for such a good time. Same again next year?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crissy318
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Crissy, Wow - thank you for your incredible review. It is always our pleasure in welcoming you to our Hotel and glad you thoroughly enjoyed our New Years Eve entertainment - it would not have been the same without you and we are all looking forward to seeing you again.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good sized room with huge bathroom. Took advantage of the 2 for 1 cocktails happy hour. Very friendly staff, our Seaview room had good views to St Michaels Mount. Good hotel with a nice vibe. Only suitable for able bodied if you want to walk. steep hill down to the station and local restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FWLook
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, many thanks for your review and am happy that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. A member of the team is always on hand to arrange taxis too and from the Hotel which is only a two minute taxi ride or a ten minute walk to both the main street and both the railway and bus station....

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely hotel and friendly staff. Reception staff helped carry bags to room on arrival (2nd Floor, no lift). Light and airy room - no view but none asked for. Staff gave us details of where to walk dogs nearby, literally 5 minutes from hotel. I had tried to book a parking space but none of the 'reserved spaces' were left....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, many thanks for your five star review and glad you were provided with an excellent quality of service by the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in April to experience more of the same.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A charming hotel with a proper, good old fashioned welcome from the staff on front desk - I'm always amazed at how many hoteliers forget how to greet guests! The hotel is situated on a steep hill and has amazing views across the bay at Penzance. There are a number of well furnished and cosy lounges to enjoy tea, coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your great review and glad you enjoyed your stay......especially the views and dining experience in our Bay restaurant. It was our pleasure to welcome you. Your compliments will be passed on and look forward to seeing your again next time.

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel needs some help, car parking up hill and not many spaces, No lift three floors, A Shower door u cant open, sea view was lovely but small window, Food was ok, MENU needs some work, Fresh veg to small And fresh fruit with cheese would be nice and some fresh nuts , The staff Were very friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul f
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Happy New Year to you and thank you for your review. We are very fortunate to be able to offer our guests on site parking which is on a first come first served basis unless you have prioritised one of our allocated parking bays for the duration of your stay. There is however usually on street parking to...

Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On my second visit to the hotel I had to book into what was laughingly called a 'true single'. I assume this is a euphemism for cupboard. My room at College 50 years ago was in fact bigger. I am unable to comment on the view as the window was small and high up . At dinner I found the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank profectus
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and your comments have been noted. I am sorry you were disappointed with the single bedroom which has a medium sized window situated at the bottom of the bed together with a wardrobe, desk and chair with bedside table ( I can only guess it was all that was available during our busy...

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2016

The restaurant and bar staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and the evening meal ok. We paid an extra £30 per night to upgrade our room to a sea view but the window was small and high up so we could only see out when standing right up to it. The room was small, bland and ordinary....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie F
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, thank you for your review and your comments have been noted. We trust you had a safe journey home. Best wishes for a very merry christmas and a happy new year.

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights with a groupon deal. The staff were so welcoming, showing us to our room, asking if we wanted help with our luggage as there is no lift. Very clean facilities, comfortable bed and large bathroom with plenty of toiletries. We had dinner on the 1st night which was superb with great service, wines were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francesca S
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, many thanks for your five star review and it was our pleasure to welcome you. It makes us very happy that you were able to relax, indulge, taste, drink and enjoy! Merry Christmas and a happy new year from us all.

Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Stayed for 2 nights, lovely place bit old for us. Nice hospitality , clean, bathroom spacious and well presented. Excellent views. Nice short break. Great situation for exploring. Polite helpful staff. Bedroom a good size.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandywoody2
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, thank you for review. We are happy that enjoyed your short break with us especially your room and location enabling you to explore West Penwith whilst taking in the spectacular views. Your compliments will be passed onto the team and look forward to welcoming you again next time.

346 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (167)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (149)
Viewed
Beach (8)
Viewed
Pool (6)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
St Cuby Classic Double Seaview Room (21)
Viewed
St Mewan Superior Double Seaview Room (25)
Viewed
St Piran Superior Double Seaview Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
1.2 km away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
401 reviews
1.4 km away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
203 reviews
7.1 km away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.2 km away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
758 reviews
9.8 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
5.1 km away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Bay Restaurant
The Bay Restaurant
Cuisines: European, British
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4 Star independent Town House Hotel. Converted from 2 Edwardian merchant's houses and perched on a hill overlooking the busy Penzance waterfront and harbour. 25 individual rooms over 3 floors with warmth, comfort and service a priority. Open all year with a 2 rosette restaurant - The Bay Penzance - Ideally situated for all the sites of West Cornwall from The Lizard to St Ives and the Isles of Scilly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Penzance

Address: Britons Hill, Penzance TR18 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Price Range: RM534 - RM1,090 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penzance 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Penzance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penzance Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Penzance staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Delray Beach, Florida
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
29 days ago
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Penzance staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea views overlooking Mounts Bay the ones to go for.”
 of 5 bubbles P7878FIsteves, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get a sea-view room to benefit from this fantastic location”
 of 5 bubbles 219alexw, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go for a big room with a view and book your parking ok.”
 of 5 bubbles paulfQ2455IF, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't book a 'true single' whatever that is,”
 of 5 bubbles profectus, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid a room in the attic”
 of 5 bubbles 733jackief, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay