We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Queens Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Queens Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

426 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Queens Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 400: English reviews
Soldotna, Alaska
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

We arrived and the atmosphere was that of family. Very pleasant to deal with. The room was big and clean. The bathroom was very clean and spacious. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choices. They were very helpful with information about places to eat. The bartenders were funny and we enjoyed our conversations with them. They had a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank janern703
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Jane, Thank you for your wonderful review of The Queens Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our bar staff to be entertaining. We do try to make sure that all our guests are well looked after, and that you are truly accepted as one of the family. Regards, Nigel Pengelly.

Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2015

Room 26. Perfect sea view. Lift to the floor. Very comfy bed, nice size room with multi channel TV. Coffee and tea in the room. Good size bathroom with shower & bath. Plenty of storage for clothes and a newspaper delivered to your room every morning. With no kids around, you can chill out in this hotel. Plenty of guests...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave L
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Dave, Thank you for your exemplary review of The Queens Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Nigel Pengelly.

Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2015

I was happy to pay a bit over the odds for a room with a view and it was a very good room. For the price £180 the breakfast should have been excellent. The cooked breakfast was okay but because of the heated containers all a bit watery. The poached egg I asked for came when I was halfway through....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janet p
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Janet, Thank you for your review of The Queens Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Queens Hotel. With regards to the breakfast, we have spoken with our head chef who has pledged to investigate the breakfast provision and will be taking some of your comments on board. Regards, Nigel Pengelly.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2015

Very expensive for what it was, dated internally especially the shower in my double room. The breakfast was cooked & left within steel containers to stew... not good, i would have at least expected a decent shower & 'freshly' cooked breakfast. This makes the travel lodge look good...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank James A
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

James, Thank you for your review of The Queens Hotel. The Queens Hotel is a traditional hotel, and concentrates on comfort and service rather that being 'modern' despite the fact that the hotel has all modern facilities including lifts, stairlifts and fibre optic, wi-fi throughout. All our breakfasts are freshly cooked and presented in heated display units as is the...

Reviewed 24 June 2015 via mobile

We visited family who suggested lunch at the Queens. Very disappointing we had a variety of food and non seemed to gave been made by the chef. All the sauces, burgers, and even the onion rings and chips were frozen and then fried. For the price I would have preferred the longboat Inn near the station.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul C
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Paul C, Thank you for your review. We can assure you that very little of our food is 'frozen and then fried' - especially not the sauces. Our food is all cooked to order, using locally-sourced produce wherever possible. Your comments have been passed on to our head chef and kitchen staff. Regards, Nigel Pengelly.

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2015 via mobile

I knew before booking that the hotel was dated. The room cost £111! What I open the door I quite simply couldn't believe they had the audacity to charge me that amount for this room. I own a caravan and the shower facility and toilet where larger in the caravan than it was this room! I complained and was given...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Lee F
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Lee, Thank you for your review. The Queens Hotel is a traditional, family hotel that takes pride in values such as comfort and service. The hotel might not appear modern, but it has all the facilities of a modern establishment. Our room prices are, simply put, our room prices. In the summer months, the hotel is often full and so...

Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2015

My sister and I arrived at the hotel late at night after a 12 hour journey, having vacated the hotel we had originaly booked as we were not happy to stay there. The night porter, Russell, literally came to our rescue and could not have been more welcoming and helpful. He organised 'emergency' single rooms for us until the next...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jill096
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Jill096, Thank you for your kind review of The Queens Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found all our staff to be very helpful in your hour of need. We always put the interests of our guests first, and are likewise glad when we can go the extra mile to help. Regards, Nigel Pengelly.

Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2015

We went by coach from Wales on Bank holiday week to the Queens hotel Penzance. On arrival we were greeted with tea and coffee, The rooms are very spacious and the bathrooms are nearly the same size as a single room. All very clean, towel changed every day.Waking up each morning, to a sea view which was lovely. Two dinning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank penzance55
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Penzance55, Thank you for your review of The Queens Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again. Regards, Nigel Pengelly.

Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

As locals we have visited the Queens Hotel lately for Sunday lunch. The choice is good and there is an alternative to the roast and a vegetarian option also. The roast is value for money at under £10 for one course. The meat is plentiful,fresh veg is cooked to perfection and the gravy is delicious a real tasty meal. Starters...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline S
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Pauline, Thank you for your kind review of The Queens Hotel. Our Sunday roasts have a good reputation locally, and further afield, and so we're pleased that you enjoyed your meal and the views. As you say, it's always good to book early to get a window seat. Regards, Nigel Pengelly.

Penzance
Reviewed 26 May 2015

I stayed for 4 nights recently. The £87.50 for a single was Ok for the bedroom and the lovely hotel features. (I like these older hotels) The bathroom was tiny without room to put your shaver etc. There was a shelf above the WC so you need to remember to keep the lid shut. The shower was quite a step...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank penlowarth
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Penlowarth, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Queens Hotel and for the review. Sorry to hear you nicked your toe - we'll take a look at the shower unit in that room. Our staff are always pleased to help and serve you, and we're pleased that you enjoyed the bar and breakfast. Regards, Nigel Pengelly.

141 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (129)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
2:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
1.2 km away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
766 reviews
0.3 km away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
207 reviews
5.9 km away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.4 km away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#1 of 87 in Penzance
307 reviews
0.4 km away
Artist Residence
Artist Residence
#6 of 87 in Penzance
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family run 3 Star Victorian hotel situated on the promenade in Penzance. 70 bedrooms - all en-suite enjoying pride of place in Mounts Bay with views of St Michaels Mount, Newlyn and the Lizard PeninsulaFree car parking, Free WiFi access and disabled access to the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Address: Promenade, Penzance TR18 4HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Price Range: RM494 - RM1,185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Penzance, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Queens Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Devon
Essex, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Queens Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Well worth asking for sea view!”
 of 5 bubbles simonew944, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles emmapD1686WD, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pay extra if you like a sea view but our room at the back was excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles Blondiebooboo, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“if you want sea veiw ask,or if quieter you can have one”
 of 5 bubbles 719arte, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms on the front on the first floor were absolutely wonderful. Terrific view.”
 of 5 bubbles SisterNearLondon, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5