We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all 2 hotels in Polperro

The Claremont Hotel

264 reviews
Save
Traveller (13)
Room & Suite (3)
Dining (1)
Overview
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good20%
  • Average3%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“car park”(42 reviews)
“his lovely wife”(3 reviews)
“budget hotel”(3 reviews)
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Paid Wifi
Breakfast included
Pool
Restaurant
2.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (264)Write a Review
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
184
54
8
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
184
54
8
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkhis lovely wifebudget hotelworks very hardgreat bonuscooked breakfastideal place to stayhotel ownersingle roomhotel is perfectly situatedwould definitely stay here againwarm welcomebeautiful villagefull english breakfasta stones thrownext yearfew minutes walk
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from a most wonderful three days over New Year in the beautiful village of Polperro. We booked fairly late so were happy to get one of the last rooms at the Claremont. Now this establishment advertises as a budget option and reading some...More

1  Thank socialentrepreneur
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Although I've been to Polperro quite a few times this was the first time I stayed at the Claremont. I booked the single room and found it suitable for my stay. One of my reasons for staying there was the free car park. The hotel...More

1  Thank clevelandindiantribe
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

This place was awful. It felt like you were staying in an old folks home with dirty sofa covers and ripped crocheted cushions in the lounge. Room no better - paint peeling in bathroom, ceiling badly cracked and dropping in bedroom. Shower grouting was black...More

3  Thank Mytravadv
Response from William S, Owner at The Claremont HotelResponded 14 November 2017

We are obviously very disappointed to read your review, especially so, because during your stay you gave no indication other that you were very happy with your stay. Regarding the sofa covers they had just recently been cleaned so we do not understand your comment....More

Reviewed 7 November 2017

We booked this hotel because of its location in the centre of Polperro. We arranged to arrive at around 3pm. On arrival, Bill the owner met us and spent sometime explaining the hotel and nearby restaurants and shops. There is no food available at the...More

Thank Allen H
Reviewed 5 November 2017

This hotel is ideally situated with free parking included . There is no food but that is reflected in the price , and there are many eating places close by . If you read the information before booking the owner makes very clear what is...More

1  Thank lizy5062
View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345652
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Details
Price range
US$68 - US$86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$68 - US$86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (13)
Room & Suite (3)
Dining (1)
Pool & Beach (1)
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
little-miss-magic1
3 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from GRAHAM C | Reviewed this property |
Hi there, the front of the hotel looks across the main narrow street that leads down to the harbour and across from the car park. This street is not busy at night as Polperro becomes much quieter as the evening progresses... More
0
Votes
russrug
19 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from PCS130352 | Reviewed this property |
It's at the village end walking down to the harbours the left.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Read the information put out by the owners."
Read review
"Some of the rooms are small so take care when booking."
Read review
"Difficult to say as I'm sure all rooms offer great value"
Read review
"The Claremont is exactly as described and in our eyes very good value"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite