We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Claremont Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Claremont Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

240 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for The Claremont Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 236: English reviews
Devizes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2013

How many times have I stayed here now? I honestly can't remember but it's as friendly and as comfortable as ever. I had room 6 on this occasion, a spacious double room with en suite as well as tea and coffee making facilities and a TV. This room faces the back but that didn't bother me; at this time of...

2Thank GBfromDevizes
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for yet again a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.We was so happy to read that , once again, we have made sure you have had a great stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again and again and again :) My kindest regards Carina Marta,Partner

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2013

It's true!!! Carina has the loveliest smile in Cornwall. We have stayed in many hotels but can honestly say we have never encountered such a lovely host with a brilliant personality. She made our stay so special,and we can't wait to return next year. We have been to Polperro many times but this is the first time we had met...

Thank Wendy H
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review

Wow! What a wonderful review, thank you so very much! It is so good maybe readers will think that we wrote it ourselves or our parents. :-) We really enjoy our work and we try very hard to make our guests happy and enjoy the fruits of their hard earned money. We do not expect praise but when it happens...

Reviewed 17 October 2013

Our room was small with a tiny bathroom also the room had poor ventilation. Breakfast was good & service was excellent. The big bonus was the closeness to the village, easy walking. Polperro is a beautiful little seaside village & the area around it has good walking paths.

2Thank CanadaSylvia
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and for mentioning the items you like and your excellent comment all of which is very much appreciated. Yes, the room that you chose is one of the smallest in the hotel and this is also reflected in the price being the least expensive room. We have floor plans of all our rooms...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We called in here, late afternoon, after walking from Lansallos to Talland Bay and back. We asked a female member of staff if they were still serving afternoon tea, and she said 'of course we could have some'. We sat on a balcony overlooking the street down to the harbour. My husband asked if it would be OK if he...

2Thank Kath00000007
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you really enjoyed our cream teas and as we have mentioned in previous responses the scones are to our own recipe, and freshly baked in an AGA oven which produces a beautiful scone. We also believe that Cornish Clotted Cream is the best in the world so we have to make sure that the other...

Oswestry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My partner and myself returned for a 3 night stay this September, as we had enjoyed it so much last year. Once again, Claremont Hotel and the lovely cheerful helpful Carina helped make our Polperro experience perfect. We had everything we needed, a lovely clean room, very comfortable bed, delicious breakfast, faultless hospitality, with the added benefit of free parking...

1Thank Maxine A
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review

It was really lovely to see you again. We remember all of our guests, perhaps not by name as there are so many regulars, but when we see their faces it all comes back and gives us so much pleasure. Thank you so very much for your review which details all the things that we are proud of. It also...

Reviewed 4 October 2013

I don't usually write reviews but after our 3rd visit to the Claremont I thought I should share our wonderful holiday experience. We first visited the Claremont as a couple 3 years ago and we enjoyed it so much that we took my parents for the following 2 years, they also loved the hotel and Carina. We totally agree with...

1Thank Kay H
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your review, we note that you said that you do not normally write reviews but we are so pleased that you wrote this one. Your regular visits and your very kind words are very much appreciated. Yes, Polperro is old worldly and quaint and this is part of the charm that make it so...

Reviewed 26 September 2013

We popped into the Claremont hotel for a cream tea while visiting Polperro. We sat on the balcony with our dogs and were made to feel very welcome by the lovely Hungarian lady. I had to leave a review for this as I think this was the cheapest price for a cream tea in Polperro and probably the best. We...

1Thank 91traveller
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you and your dogs dropped in for one of our cream teas and we are very happy to read that you really enjoyed them especially your description that the scones were delicious. The scones are made to our own recipe and freshly baked each session. We have a AGA in our kitchen and it is...

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My partner & I recently stayed at the Claremont Hotel in Polperro, we visited Polpero for the day and decided we would like to stay a few days as my partner fell in love with the village. We had not booked anywhere and we popped into the Claremont just on the off chance. The owner was lovely, always smiling and...

Thank Martin A
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and your very kind words and comments. Polperro is a wonderful village and so easy to fall in love with as we did when we first came here. Many of our guests just come to Polperro for brief visit and then like you decide to stay for a few days and many become...

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Claremont Hotel for a weekend at the beginning of July. From the time I phoned to book the room to the time we left, Carina could not do enough for us. Nothing was too much trouble and she always went about her business with a smile. She really made us feel welcome. Some...

mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review

We have just read the two latest reviews, your's being the most recent and it has made us both very happy indeed. We really appreciate you taking the time and trouble to write the review and your comments and very kind words are indeed a great bonus. You have very adequately put into context the sometimes adverse comments about our...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a long weekend break in Polperro. We had a lovely room overlooking the road. As very little traffic passes down the road, this was not a problem at all. Breakfast was lovely, I ordered poached eggs and bacon every day and these were cooked to perfection and served on hot plates, which...

Thank Sue795
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review

We have just read the two latest reviews, yours being the first and it has made us both very happy. Thank you so much for your very kind words and in particular about the room facing the road, as this sometimes worries guests when they see the hotel is close to the road. Your are quite correct, not much traffic...

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (13)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
View from Room (1)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Dining (1)
Room/Suite (2)
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (12)
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polperro
2.1 km away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
821 reviews
5.3 km away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
257 reviews
8.3 km away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
7.9 km away
The Old Quay House Hotel
8.5 km away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Address: The Coombes, Polperro PL13 2RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Polperro
Price Range: RM280 - RM381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Claremont Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Polperro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Claremont Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Claremont Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front rooms overlook the street and is quiet”
sarahp660, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“"Crows Nest" room in the loft has slightly limited headroom but is very comfortable and peaceful!”
iangk148, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 11 is very big with king size bed and has a nice seating area. New bathroom and TV!”
suemari, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Polperro is built in a steep valley, so everything, including the hotel, is steep!”
560warwickd, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you use their own website to book, you can book specific rooms.”
Jane_and_Gary, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
* /night
View Deal
View all 7 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates