We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Claremont Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Claremont Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Claremont Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 232: English reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Visited for a few days last week & had a wonderful time. Great breakfasts, great hosts & great fun. Carina & Arpi are such a hard working pair & make us feel so welcome as soon as we arrive in the car park. It is exceptional value for money, considering the location in this beautiful little fishing village. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rjherd
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review

We were delighted to see you again and to welcome you back to our hotel for the "umpteenth" time. Thank you so much for your regular custom and for the very kind words in you reviews, it really was a great pleasure to see you again and we sincerely hope your visits will continue. We must also thank you for...

Honiton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Amazing four days at this proper job hotel. what more could we ask for clean , tidy, comfortable easy atmosphere all served up with the happy ,giggly Carina who serves up those to die for cream teas .Don,t forget her man Arpi the man behind the scenes who cooks up those lovely breakfasts ,what a great team to run this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chrisA65
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review

It is with our sincere thanks that after visiting Polperro many times your first stay at our hotel was to celebrate your 30th wedding anniversary. We are so pleased that on your previous visits to Polperro you sampled our Cream Teas and this enticed you to stay with us and your feedback via you kindly worded review is indeed very...

south wales
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We have recently returned from our fourth visit to The Claremont and had a wonderful time, yet again. The weather was hot and sunny and Carina`s welcome was just as warm. She makes the Claremont not just another nice hotel but a home from home. We had intended to stay for a long weekend which turned into 8 nights. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sadieSouthWales
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review

It was so lovely to see you all again, all our guests are special to us but returning guests are extra special, especially so all of you. We were extremely pleased that you decided to extend your stay by so many days and it was very fortunate for us that we were able to accommodate you ,we especially thank you...

England
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We have stayed at the Claremont several times and loved its uniqueness, location and friendly welcome. We now live in Polperro and one of our treats is to pop in for Carina's perfect cream teas. She bakes beautiful scones which are served warm with plenty of clotted cream and jam. Even the tea is perfect; none of those weak teabags...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley L
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review

Congratulations on your move to Polperro and in joining the many of our ex regulars who enjoyed Polperro so much that they became residents in our beautiful, historic and friendly village. It is really very nice that you still drop in to see us and sample our tea and scones as we really appreciate our ex guests maintaining contact even...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Just spent another few days with Carina and Arpi, Polperro a beautiful place, and the welcome you receive from Carina is outstanding, she can't do enough for you, her scones are to die for. spotless Hotel, the terrace a perfect place to enjoy a Gin and Tonic, do take your own drinks, Carina will supply you with glasses and ice,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank poodle8
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review

It was really lovely and very special to see you both again. The cakes you baked and brought with you were truely wonderful. We really look forward to and welcome you regular visits to the Claremont Hotel. Thank you so much for your excellent review, your very kind words and for mentioning some of the many advantages of staying at...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This is the third year we have been to this hotel on a long weekend. Its right in the village of Polperro, and the only hotel with a car park right opposite. Karina and Arpe run this hotel very well. Its only a B & B, they dont do evening meals but there are plenty of places to eat in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christine l
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very good review and for being one of our many regulars that visit us every year, some guests more frequently. We really appreciate returning guests whether it be twice a year or once every two years. It really gives us a lift to see familiar faces and makes everything we do so worthwhile. The...

Wirral
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Our second visit to The Claremont . After a delayed six and a half hour drive, we arrived in the rain at just before 9 pm. Carina greeted us in the car park like returning friends. Our bags were whisked away to our rooms, which were the same rooms as we had last last year, 3 and 5. Lovely memory...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your excellent review and it makes us so happy that you chose to return to stay with us on your birthday. We are so sorry that you had a horrible journey but pleased to read that your arrival and stay with us made it worth the travelling inconvenience. You say you were treated as retuning...

Dawlish, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My partner & I stayed at The Claremont on Sunday 23rd June, to catch the end of Polperro's Music Festival week. For what we paid, this hotel was superb value for money & one we'd happily stay at again & again. OK, it's a little quirky & can't be compared with the modern "fresh look" you get in certain big...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian D
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review

What an excellent review, thank you so much. You have covered everything that we consider to be our best points and your have described them in such a way that we hope others will be encouraged to visit Polperro and stay at our hotel. Polperro is in fact a village not a town, "An Historic Fishing Village" but we like...

bristol
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Nice hotel for a short break, when we arrived we were given the choice of two rooms and chose the attic room, it was very clean and had a comfortable bed, the shower was also very powerfull ,the breakfast was plentifull and very nice.The host a young lady a think is called Carina is very pleasant which makes a stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank blodwynBristol
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you very much for your review and your kind words. The room you chose has been known as "The Crows Nest" for more than 20 years and long before our comparatively short tenure of 6 years. The name obviously comes from its position at the top of the hotel. We are informed that up to about 40 years...

Reviewed 23 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel in May with my husband, booking it only the day before based on TripAdvisor reviews. It's a little gem in the heart of Polperro. I will echo what others have said; that the hotel's greatest asset is probably Carina - a more hospitable and efficient hostess you couldn't hope to find. Yes, the hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review

What an excellent review which is very much appreciated and we thank you so much for your very kind words and taking the time and trouble to submit this review to Tripadvisor. We could not have wished for a better review even if we had written it ourselves. You mention all the items which we also consider important for our...

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polperro
2.1 km away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
787 reviews
8.3 km away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,265 reviews
7.9 km away
The Old Quay House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.8 km away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
789 reviews
19.5 km away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
5.3 km away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Address: The Coombes, Polperro PL13 2RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Polperro
Price Range: RM244 - RM365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Claremont Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Polperro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Claremont Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Claremont Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front rooms overlook the street and is quiet”
 of 5 bubbles sarahp660, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“"Crows Nest" room in the loft has slightly limited headroom but is very comfortable and peaceful!”
 of 5 bubbles iangk148, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 11 is very big with king size bed and has a nice seating area. New bathroom and TV!”
 of 5 bubbles suemari, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Polperro is built in a steep valley, so everything, including the hotel, is steep!”
 of 5 bubbles 560warwickd, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you use their own website to book, you can book specific rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Jane_and_Gary, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5