We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The St Mawes Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The St Mawes Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 164: English reviews
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a short but super break at the St Mawes hotel. Although the hotel was quiet we were given full attention and looked after by the staff. The room was lovely with views across the inlet and fitted out to a very high standard. The hotel lounge and bar were beautifully decorated and some real thought had gone into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Philip, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us, I'm delighted to hear how much you enjoyed everything and that we looked after you so well. I hope you can join us again in the future. Best wishes Ben Bass, Manager

Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a superb room overlooking the scenic harbour. The staff were attentive and welcoming. Food was excellent, traditional with a modern twist. Our visit was in late November, and we ate in front of a cosy wood burner. we can would definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susiepondplant
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susie, Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us, it was a pleasure to read and I'm so pleased to hear you will be returning. I look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes Ben Bass, Manager

devon
Reviewed 1 week ago

Really lovely atmosphere here with roaring fires and live singing the night we were there. Food and service excellent, with lots of choices from light bites to starter and main course, so suitable for all. Lots of locals here too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sleepingbeauty
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sleepingbeauty, Thank you for your review following your recent visit to us for dinner, I'm pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us and that my team looked after you well. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes Ben Bass, Manager

London
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having booked the best rooms on the top floor of the hotel with glorious views over the harbour we were delighted to find that they had been recently redecorated to a high standard in calm fashionable shades of grey. The bathroom of our room had a large walk-in shower whilst our travelling companions had a larger en-suite which allowed for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JeffersonLondon
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JeffersonLondon, Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you all had an enjoyable stay. We now offer full cooked breakfast from 8am, so sorry that this was not yet implemented when you visited but it will be available on your return. The reception will also be covered by...

Cirencester
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We like boutique hotels and the SMH was just how we like them to be. The room was very comfortable, sea view, comfy bed, warm, good sized bathroom with a shower like that in its big sister the Idle Rocks, which I could have stood under for an hour. We ate there and the food was great, not too expensive,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RGGB
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RGGB, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to hear how much you enjoyed everything and happy that we could offer the cinema for you to enjoy. I will certainly be looking at the WIFI and we are hoping to upgrade the system over the next year. We...

Fowey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wow what a wonderful Hotel, having just stayed at The St Mawes Hotel, I booked to go back on departure and it cannot come soon enough. Delightful in every way, super attentive staff that delivered everything beautifully and extremely efficiently, they manage to get that tricky balance just right, nothing was too much trouble ( i am vegan ) and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank debwalker2016
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Deb, Thank you for your wonderful review following your recent stay with us, I'm delighted you enjoyed everything and that you have booked to stay again. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back. Best wishes Ben and the team

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is fantastically situated and despite the rooms being small well decorated and furnished. However, it is let down by terrible service by inexperienced unsupervised staff. The hotel staff were all seemingly teenagers who had no clue what they were doing: - they booked us a table only to cancel it 30 minutes before were due to eat leaving...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clarinda_Vine
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Clarinda_Vine, I am extremely disappointed to read your review following your stay with us in August. A few months have since past and improvements have been made, however I would still appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience with me directly. Can I please ask you to drop me an email on ben@stmawes.com? If you are visiting the area...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our first time upstairs to have dinner, usually sat downstairs in the very comfortable bar area. The upstairs is equally as nice with their choice of decor, however, the chairs were the most uncomfortable to use as dining chairs, they are sofa style chairs you use to relax, not dining chairs. We both felt uncomfortable eating good food from these...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graeme G
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Graeme, Thank you for your review following your visit to us for dinner. Sorry to hear that you found the chairs in the Upper Deck uncomfortable for dining. Please let us know in the future if you would prefer to dine downstairs and we will happily try and accommodate you. We do offer two different dining areas so that...

Helston, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a change ! I last visited this beautifully located hotel about two years ago with three of my grandchildren .We were served watery coffee and Luke warm , thin bland instant hot chocolate .It was run down and inhospitable and expensive for what was very sub standard fair.i complained to the young inexperienced member of staff with no satisfaction...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denises671
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Denise, Thank you for your recent review following your visit to us. I'm delighted to read that you returned after a few years, and were able to appreciate the changes the new owners have made. We look forward to welcoming you both back again soon! Best wishes Ben Bass, Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A good place to sit and have a coffee with tables outside on nice days and a cosy Chesterfield sofa in front of the log burner on chillier days. Welcoming staff and good coffee although the tea was a bit weak even after leaving the teabag in for a while. We would have stayed for lunch but the menu is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diddlum
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diddlum, Thank you for your recent review following your visit to us for coffee, I'm pleased to read you enjoyed the ambience and that you were looked after well by my team. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again. Best wishes Ben Bass, Manager

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.2 km away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 6 in St Mawes
343 reviews
0.2 km away
The Rising Sun
The Rising Sun
#4 of 6 in St Mawes
206 reviews
0.1 km away
The Ship and Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
441 reviews
11.1 km away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
789 reviews
3.3 km away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 25 in Falmouth
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set alongside the harbour, in the heart of the village, the St Mawes Hotel has a lively and informal feel, without compromising on taste and style. The warmth of the team, beautifully designed rooms, lively bar restaurant and terrace makes the luxury sea view hotel a place that will draw locals and visiting guests back time and time again. The seven bedroom boutique hotel has bright and airy luxurious guestrooms. Decorated by Karen Richards herself, the interiors will capture the nautical views of the village and harbour. Each room echoes Karen's signature style, a marriage between traditional coastal culture and contemporary design. All front facing rooms offer spectacular sea views and look out over the harbour. The bar restaurant at the St Mawes Hotel is a convivial escape to enjoy authentic quality dishes that will showcase the best locally sourced Cornish ingredients. Menu options include both smaller and larger dishes based on the wonderful produce from the sea, alongside stone baked pizzas and daily specials. Alfresco tables provide an idyllic location to make the most of sunny days and enjoy the spectacular views of the water. Guests staying at the St Mawes Hotel will appreciate the comfortable lounge, complete with compact library and log wood fire place for cosy winter days, with nautical inspired interiors and unspoilt views of the harbour. The addition of an events space and an intimate 25-seater cinema will follow this summer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The St Mawes Hotel

Address: Commercial Road, St Mawes TR2 5DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Price Range: RM713 - RM1,086 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The St Mawes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The St Mawes Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The St Mawes Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book early to secure harbour view”
 of 5 bubbles susiepondplant, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The rooms with views at the front can be noisy during the High Season.”
  • St Mawes Hotel - View from Room on top floor
 of 5 bubbles JeffersonLondon, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 1-3 have the sea view. Spoil yourself.”
 of 5 bubbles RGGB, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“sea view is a great option”
 of 5 bubbles banter69live, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid family room near kitchen exhaust.”
 of 5 bubbles Mildredmoo, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay