We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

New Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
New Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 163: English reviews
Redruth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Just great. Fantastic people made our first holiday with our puppy so much easier. Food is lovely and hearty and the room very comfortable. Clovelly is just beautiful and peaceful. Just right for a quiet break.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cslk_13
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Dogs are very welcome here at the New Inn.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 27 October 2016

I could wax lyrical about Clovelly all day but this review is about our accommodation. As mentioned in other reviews, we left our suitcases at the top and only brought in the bare essentials which made the walk down to The New Inn a pleasant stroll. It also enabled us to appreciate the views of the bay between the whitewashed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JennyBednarz
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us lovely feedback, and thank you for recommending us. We do hope you can return to the New Inn.

Leutenberg
Reviewed 26 October 2016

friendly and helpful hosts, nice room en-suite with wonderful view, delicious dinner and breakfast, good beers, located in village centre, many possibilities for walking in the surroundings I would like to come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us in Clovelly, we hope you can come back and see us again soon.

Philadelphia,PA
Reviewed 26 October 2016

A very friendly place in the lovely, unique village of Clovelly. The breakfast is first rate and the staff are welcoming and very friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. The only thing needed is a bit of an update, especially in the bathroom. Although the shower was nice and hot, the sink didn't have a mixer tap and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelbean10
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We totally agree with you regarding the tour with 'Jana' it is well worth doing as she is very passionate about Clovelly.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Stayed in the accommodation across from the actual hotel, a little disappointed at this as we had booked a while back and wanted to experience staying in small hotels and B & B's while traveling around U.K. We had a shared bathroom and was told no one else was on the floor but this was wrong information as their were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Negal2014
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your food during your stay with us.

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Conveniently situated if you are walking the SW Coast Path. Clovelly is a charming little village, on a steep hill. We had an en-suite room with a balcony. The hotel is dated, but clean. The bar served basic pub grub, but was reasonably priced. As we walked in and out carrying everything, we didnt use the luggage carriage service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed Clovelly.

Pucklechurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016

This was our second stay at the New Inn and it easily surpassed the first visit. The welcome was genuine and nothing was too much trouble. The two rooms we had were both exceptionally clean and welcoming. We arrived early enough to enjoy lunch and there was plenty of choice and plenty to eat when it came out, likewise with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R W
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2016

First of all the practicalities: As no cars are allowed in the village, you park at the Visitor Centre, and whereas visitors have to pay a combined charge of £7 for parking and visiting the village - if you are staying overnight there is no charge at all (even parking is free). As we only had a couple of light...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank johnhouston2
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. Clovelly is very quiet in the evenings because of where we are situated we get very little passing trade in the evenings. We are pleased your enjoyed your breakfast.

Chester, Maryland
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

The New Inn is located in a sea faring village in NW Devon. Access to the village is by foot only down a steep rock path. The New Inn is a charming B&B located half way down the hill with a great view of the harbor. My only complaint is that we felt ignored at check-in. We wanted some information...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daryl B
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback, we are sorry you felt ignored at check-in we will address this matter. We do hope to see you again at the New Inn.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed August bank holiday weekend, our room was across the path in 'new house' this has shared facilities. Room was old fashioned but in keeping with area, very clean though. Although it had shared facilities which I was initially worried about we were only using the facilities one night and the second we only had one other couple. Nice view...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clovelly
0.2 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clovelly
489 reviews
6.0 km away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
325 reviews
8.3 km away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Bideford
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 km away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
685 reviews
13.7 km away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#7 of 12 in Bideford
659 reviews
20.8 km away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 13 in Bude
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet

Additional Information about New Inn

Address: High Street, Clovelly EX39 5TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Clovelly
Price Range: RM381 - RM448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — New Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Clovelly
New Inn UK/Clovelly, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from New Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from New Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 6 for a solo person”
 of 5 bubbles Penguin1234, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Stunning location”
 of 5 bubbles SimonW565, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 has a lovely balcony with a seating area.”
 of 5 bubbles minibreaksrule, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are quiet as village is car free”
 of 5 bubbles 848kated, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 2 was quiet, with a view, though small. View spoiled by intrusive chimney from adjunct property in middle of window. no A/C. Small TV.”
 of 5 bubbles 880lorraine, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay