We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

891 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Royal Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 887: English reviews
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing service and food quality was superb for a wedding I attended. The manager was brilliant and all the staff were brilliant. It's certainly not the cheapest place but they say you pay for quality and that is certainly the case here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JayWootten
Judy K, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JayWootten Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We are very happy to hear that you had such a wonderful time attending a wedding at The Royal Castle Hotel. We specialise in bespoke weddings and are not just renowned for our excellent hospitality and fine food, but our friendly and efficient staff are well practiced at...

Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Although we only stayed one night, we found the Hotel very comfortable. The staff were friendly & helpful, it has two pub type food bars & a restaurant on the second floor, the menu was extensive & the food was excellent, although our room was at the back of the hotel, it was clean & airy with full amminities, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clive V
Judy K, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Clive V Thank you for taking the time to write this glowing review. We are so pleased to hear that you and your furry friend enjoyed your stay with us. We are very proud of this beautiful old building and endeavour to provide impeccable service to match. Best wishes Judy Kitt

Braunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had the luck of "old Nick" and managed to get a parking spot right outside the Royal Castle so popped in for coffee and a spot of lunch. Both had fresh crab sandwich with side salad and a coffee. Excellent sandwich, bar quite full, quick service. Well recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timothy_George1
Judy K, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Timothy_George1 Thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable lunch with us at The Royal Castle Hotel. We hope to see you again in the near future. Many thanks Judy Kitt

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped by for the curry night but were sadly disappointed. To say the hotel is known for having a great Indian chef you may expect a little more of the curry night. The serving was bland and lacked any traditional flavour. Seems like an army style serving "feeding the masses", clearly no traditional flavours are valued here. The restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JamesW1989
Judy K, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JamesW1989 Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. It is disappointing to hear that you weren’t satisfied with our offering of curry night. We value all feedback and appreciate your comments. We hope that this will not put you off returning in future Ensuring you of our best intentions at all times. Judy Kitt

Bristol
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were so impressed with the hotel that we will certainly be returning. The interior is filled with unique bits of history and the staff are friendly and courteous. Be sure to dine in the resturant, the food is simply too good to describe. We were lucky enough to try the Indian set menu and it rivals some Michelin starred...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank topazadam
Judy K, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear topazadam Thank you so much for taking the time to write this glowing review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us looking out over the beautiful river Dart. We are delighted that you enjoyed our themed “Nawab Darbar” Indian dinner. We are lucky enough to have a fantastic head chef who has an...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ate here on the 18th February when my family visited for the weekend (recently bought property here) Ordered off the children's menu which was not on the tables or visible on the bar. Had to ask for the menu Ordered Jacket Potato for myself and daughter,which was average My grand-daughter ordered the pizza from the childrens menu The pizza came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ANN S
Judy K, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ANN S Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. It is very disappointing to hear that you were not happy with your meal, I can only apologise that you felt that your granddaughters meal was unsatisfactory. I understand you have already spoken to a colleague of mine regarding this issue. I appreciate that may not want...

Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

we popped in for pre drinks it's a fun busy place for people watching. great bar and lots of choice. in the past we have stopped overnight and had many meals evening and lunchtime. it's a fabulous location for food & drinks with friends. there are two bars both serving food with the restaurant on the first floor with wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beachgirl67_12
Judy K, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear beachgirl67_12 Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed a few early drinks with us and it is lovely to hear that you enjoy coming to visit The Royal Castle Hotel so regularly  We look forward to seeing you again soon. Many thanks Judy Kitt

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We popped n here after a long walk around the harbour. It was a very cold February day. We were welcomed by the staff who friendly and normative. We ordered coffee and tea. The service was prompt and the locals were sitting playing cards, dogs enjoying the open fire and the paper being well read. Very comfy atmosphere. So much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BristolDawn1
Judy K, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BristolDawn1 Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed popping in for a coffee to warm up after your chilly walk. We endeavour to make The Royal Castle Hotel a warm, welcoming haven throughout the winter months. We hope you get the opportunity to come and stay...

Staines, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We went into the pub/hotel's older bar on the right hand side as you enter the front door for lunch. A busy area with quite a few people eating and drinking making a good atmosphere. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The decor was superb, swords etc on the wall and a welcoming warm fire. We ordered fish and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dav3com
Judy K, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dav3com Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at The Royal Castle Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us and felt it was good value for money. We are very proud of our team here and hold weekly training sessions to ensure that our staff have excellent...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017

For the second time, we took advantage of the Royal Castle Hotel January half price sale. A very comfortable bedroom overlooking the river Dart and boat float. The only hotel I have stayed in so far that provides a mini cafetiere and real coffee along with the tea and teapot. I do not know what new chef they have but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gay_martin
Judy K, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gay_martin Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Royal Castle Hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us again. Thank you so much for your kind words, we are lucky enough to have an excellent team of chefs that work tirelessly to create these exquisite dishes. We are...

348 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (169)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (86)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (166)
Viewed
Beach (6)
Viewed
Double (25)
Viewed
Four Poster Deluxe (25)
Viewed
Four Poster Seaview (26)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)
Viewed
Twin (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
0.6 km away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
0.2 km away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
282 reviews
6.1 km away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 km away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
22.1 km away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
718 reviews
1.1 km away
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel
The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, British, International, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The award-winning Royal Castle Hotel is in the centre of Dartmouth with its cobbled streets, intriguing shops and famous restaurants and bars. Looking out over the River Dart, this 17th-century building offers bright, airy rooms, free Wi-Fi and a stylish restaurant. There are 25 en suite rooms, all of which are individually decorated. Many of the rooms have river views, four-poster beds, spa baths and 15 of our rooms have air conditioning units as well. Every room has a TV, radio and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Castle Hotel

Address: 11 The Quay, Dartmouth TQ6 9PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Price Range: RM692 - RM1,290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Castle Dartmouth
Hotel Royal Castle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best views are at the front of hotel”
 of 5 bubbles CliveV433, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We only had lunch so cannot comment on the rooms. if they are like the downstairs pub area i would imagine they are very good.”
 of 5 bubbles dav3com, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“River view rooms are obviously nice to have and cost more, but all the rooms are of the highest standard you'll find anywhere.”
 of 5 bubbles johns12014, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great river Viuw in the town great fun”
 of 5 bubbles patrickkF4332LE, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Worth extra for river view.”
 of 5 bubbles UkYoungretired, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5