We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

992 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 958: English reviews
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2015

Right out side the Exeter Central station, very near to shopping and dining. The hotel is really very elegant from inside, cannot complaint much. Hoe ever there is few issues with assessing the floors, fourth floor cannot be assessed by elevator. Need to climb 2 stairs up and the final is really narrow and very difficult to make it if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kasi G
Thistleexeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kasi G Thank you for taking time to provide feedback (and photos!) of your recent stay at the Hotel. Our fourth floor rooms have fantastic views of the city, however the lift only goes up to the third floor. We do offer luggage assistance at the Hotel to all rooms, and our team are happy to carry bags up...

cheltenham
Reviewed 7 July 2015

had a 1 night stay,great staff at check in,great location,2 min walk into the centre or 10-15 mins to river and quayside,will stay there again when next in Exeter,did not eat there,they offer breakfast for £10 pp in hotel,small car park on site

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank barryhebbs
Thistleexeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BarryHebbs Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Hotel. It is so great to see that you had a great stay! I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2015

My husband and I booked a special night away for our wedding anniversary. We treated ourselves to a suite, and the room, and the hotel itself, were exactly what we were hoping for. The hotel's ambience was grand and luxurious yet comfortable. The suite was spacious, extremely well-appointed and spotlessly clean. All staff were efficient and friendly. The hotel's location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vix_197613
Thistleexeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vix_197613 Thank you so much for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your wedding anniversary at the Hotel. Both of our suites are lovely rooms and we are really happy that you enjoyed the service of the team. I am sorry that here was a small...

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2015

Stayed in deluxe double room bed and breakfast. PROs Good location Pleasant rooms Great breakfast Friendly and helpful staff Evening meals in the bar are very good CONs Some of the rooms have a foisty damp smell that is unpleasant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TDownes
Thistleexeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TDownes Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your visits to the Hotel. It is great to see that you have recognised the team's friendly service and the good food. I am sorry that you had a problem with a musty smell - unfortunately there was a leak in the corridor by the last room that you...

Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2015

We stayed here at the weekend, It is a really nice hotel located extremely close to the city centre. The only complaint would be no air con in our room but they did provide a fan. However we did stay on the hottest weekend of the year so far.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
Thistleexeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Caroline B Thank you for your comments - it is great to see that you enjoyed our city centre location. I am sorry that you found the room to be hot - it was the hottest week Exeter has seen for a long time, however I am pleased that you found the fan and were able to use it...

Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Upon entry The Thistle looks like a really nice place. However as soon as you begin check in you start to realise it is not that great in terms of value. £8 for overnight parking. £10 per head for breakfast (we saw a great looking breakfast bar literally 3 doors down as we were leaving, so perhaps that would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lucy w
Thistleexeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lucy W Thank you for taking the time to provide your honest feedback on your recent stay at the Hotel. I am sorry that you were disappointed with our charges for breakfast and carparking - we are open and honest that these are not included when guests book our Hotel and do regular checks with other city centre Hotels...

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2015

Great location easy to find arrived late pain to park had to off load bags and go down the road to multi story parking had to be out by 8 next morning or pay by chance managed to park in hotel car parking which was great room clean but hot even with fan on all night great helpful staff maybe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eileen M
Thistleexeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eileen M Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay at the Hotel. It is nice to see that you enjoyed the location, clean rooms and friendly staff. We are constantly looking at ways to improve what we offer to our guests and will definitely look at the possibility of mini fridges when the Hotel is refurbished. Kind regards...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2015

Good location, it is opposite the central station in Exeter and looks at one time to have been a station hotel, very grand and regal looking. Staff were friendly and efficient, rooms were clean and of a standard you would expect. In places the hotel is a little tired looking, Parking is limited and charged at £8 per night. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
Thistleexeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David M Thanks for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Hotel. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel, in particular our central location. We are in the process of carrying out an ongoing improvement programme to ensure that the bedroom product matches the friendly service that our staff...

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2015

As I use a wheelchair, our entrance to the hotel was by a very unsatisfactory metal ramp. We had an aplogy from the receptionists and were told that a better ramp was on order. For our 4 night stay we managed the ramp situation by my getting out of the chair and walking up or down the steps while my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley R
Thistleexeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shirley R Thank you for your constructive feedback on your recent stay at the Hotel. It is great to see that you enjoyed the Hotel's central location and indeed your stay in our suite. As we are a Victorian Hotel we do have areas of the Hotel which do require the use of some steps to access the rooms....

Telford
Reviewed 21 June 2015

A nice hotel - we stayed around xmas as it was a perfect location for shopping trips around the city. Our room was great - we chose a family room and it was huge! Generally clean and a really lovely breakfast. Not a great night sleep though as there was a function at the hotel that night so very noisy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsShephard
Thistleexeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Shephard Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay back in December. As you were stay was during the Christmas period, I think you would have stayed during some of our Christmas parties. We do try to ensure that guests attending the parties are given rooms right above the function rooms so that guests are...

123 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (93)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.6 km away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.8 km away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
1,150 reviews
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
786 reviews
0.4 km away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#26 of 31 in Exeter
203 reviews
0.3 km away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel is a classical Victorian hotel in Exeter city centre, close to the cathedral and directly opposite the railway station. The Mercure Exeter Rougemont has local attractions including the Castle and Rougemont Gardens within easy walking distance, with other attractions including stately homes, theme parks and the racecourse a short drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Address: Queen Street, Exeter EX4 3SP, England (Formerly The Rougemont Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Price Range: RM376 - RM597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rougemont Hotel, Exeter Hotel Exeter
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel Devon
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room facing the inner courtyard”
 of 5 bubbles JamesCR5, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Front of hotel 2nd floor was OK in terms of access and noise but was rather small”
 of 5 bubbles 745ruthh, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“get a room on the first 2 floors”
 of 5 bubbles 86nigelt, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't accept Room 103 - it looks out onto a brick wall.”
  • Bedroom
  • Bedroom
 of 5 bubbles rosecrystal, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 204 and didn't have any problems. Drawers for storage, even bedside cabinets rather than tables would be useful”
 of 5 bubbles DreamCatcher103, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5