We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Booking.comUS$104*
View Deal
#7 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$127*
US$104*
US$127*
US$104*
US$127*
US$104*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,922 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,859: English reviews
South Molton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015

We've had fabulous stays here in the past, but sadly, this time we were disappointed due to noise, the service and some maintenance issues. This was doubly sad because we were celebrating a very special wedding anniversary with our family. The main problem was a lack of catering staff on the Friday. There was a party event going on and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pinc
Fiona D, Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear pinc, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am deeply disappointed that your recent experience did not meet your, or indeed our, expectations. Regrettably we did encounter some operational challenges in the restaurant on Friday evening however this problem was a true exception to our normal practices. Rest assured that we are...

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015

I've stayed in this hotel a few times per year for the last 5 years and it has got better with time. This is now a very strong 4 star offering with reception / bar / restaurant and now rooms being refurbished to a strong modern standard. This latest visit my room was a superior and can only have been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LordGadget
Fiona D, Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LordGadget, I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and I thank you for your continued patronage of the hotel. I do hope that we may be able to continue to welcome you back to the Mercure Exeter in the future. Kind regards, Amy Gleadow Operations Manager

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2015

Highly recommend a stay here if you are visiting Exeter, lovely hotel with great access into the town centre (just a 5 min walk) plus parking at the hotel is available. Rooms are clean and tidy and wifi connection is good. We ate in the bar and the food was lovely plus the staff in there all very friendly. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WiseOwl89
Fiona D, Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear WiseOwl89, Thank you for your recent review and feedback. I will be delighted to share your comments with the team who I know will be encouraged by this. I hope we can welcome you back again very soon to the Exeter. Yours sincerely, Amy Gleadow Operations Manager

Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2015

From the moment me and my partner arrived at the Mercure we were blown away. Firstly the experience of this grand looking hotel was outstanding and the customer service was equally impressive. We were five a room with two single beds and later had this rectified with absolute professionalism and care. We were very happy with the way the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sol S
Fiona D, Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sol S, It is always encouraging to read such a positive review - thank you! I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Mercure Exeter in the future and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Amy Gleadow Operations Manager

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2015

My favourite and much loved Exeter City a Hotel, it is always a fantastic pleasure to stay here. The reservations team are first class and always provide a great bit of banter when booking our rooms, the rate is consistently good and so are the rooms. I have not stayed in a bad one yet but have to confess to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bigbird1334
Fiona D, Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bigbird1334, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our...

Bristol
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Not a bad hotel, The check in was smooth and efficient and the room was very good. It was clean well presented and a very good sized en suite with a very good shower. I found the bed very comfortable and their was plenty of tea and coffee provided. The gym and pool was good but their was no spin...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nick G
Fiona D, Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nick G, Thank you for sharing your recent feedback following your stay at the Mercure Exeter. Thank you for your positive comments in relation to the room, the food and leisure facilities. We do try to be transparent about our parking charge of £12 for our secure on-site parking within the city centre and do feel that this still...

Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

We had no problems finding this hotel using Satnav, travelling from the North via motorway. It's position was very convenient for the Cathedral, (next door), the shopping centre, & in the opposite direction the Quay with its lovely array of shops & eateries. There's a large car park which you are allowed to stay in even after check-out, probably because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JandMDavies
Fiona D, Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JandMDavies, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a comprehensive review of your recent stay. I am delighted that you had such a positive experience and would consider returning when you are next in the area. We very much look forward to seeing you again! Kind regards, Amy Gleadow Operations Manager

delhi
Reviewed 24 September 2015 via mobile

The property is excellent located with a nice lobby and great staff. Nice bar, wi fi works well and thats where the nice part ends In 22 years of travelling these are the worst beds Room 275 and finally had my wife and me sleeping on the floor. The house keeping was the worst I have seen and inconsistent on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank trackeritrack
MercureExeterGM, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear trackeritrack, Thank you for your review and please accept my apologies that your stay was not up to your expectation. I appreciate the positive comments in relation to the staff, bar and wifi. I will certainly have the bed in 275 checked to ensure the bed which is less than 2 years old has no damage to it. We...

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2015 via mobile

Quite a good hotel close to the Cathedral in Exeter. The rooms are comfortable, the food in the restaurant is nice, hot, freshly cooked and well presented. The Tonga rugby team is also staying at the moment too. The only thing I would moan about is the £12 per day parking when the hotel is not in London.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keiran F
MercureExeterGM, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Keiran F, Thank you for your recent review and feedback. Thank you for your positive comments in relation to the room, the food and restaurant team. We do try to be transparent about our parking charge of £12 for our secure on-site parking within the city centre and do feel that this still represents value for money for our...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2015 via mobile

I've stayed here on business twice now and feel that it is a good hotel with polite staff, well equipped gym (although small) and spa and a tasty breakfast with lots of variety. However the rooms are quite dated and there is a bit of noise from the road which seems to have cars going past all night long. You...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leila249
MercureExeterGM, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leila249, Thank you for your recent review and feedback we look forward to welcoming you back in February when you return. I would appreciate if you could email me directly at david.hayden@accor.com and advise of your room number so I can have the maintenance team visit this room and make good any changes or works required. Kind Regards, David...

247 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (178)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Other (21)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.7 km away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.1 km away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
1,196 reviews
0.7 km away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
827 reviews
0.9 km away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
590 reviews
3.3 km away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#6 of 31 in Exeter
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4 star city centre hotel which is a great base for exploring the devon coast & dartmoor. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Address: Southernhay East, Exeter EX1 1QF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Price Range: RM493 - RM824 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Southgate Exeter
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel Devon
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book a Superior (or Privilege) room for king size bed, instead of the Classic, which only has a classic double bed.”
990juditv, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“View of the Cathedral and rural Devon a nice touch”
andreacV5144NH, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All clean and comfortable”
ChesterLeStreet, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Cathedral view side are quieter”
michelle2306, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the rear are quieter”
113maureend, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$104* /night
View Deal
MercureUS$104
Expedia.comUS$104
HotelQuicklyUS$127
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates