We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

White Hart Hotel

Booking.comUS$75*
View Deal
#10 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
White Hart Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

845 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for White Hart Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 826: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Situated just 5 minutes from the cathedral and the same from the waterfront of the Quays, this is a very well located hotel. If arriving by train you will need a taxi as it is a 30 minute walk. The hotel is part of a pub which was an old coaching inn. The pub and hotel is a warren of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GrahameHull
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Quaint lovely Hotel right in the center of Exeter, great location, staff very helpful and excellent breakfast. the room I stopped in was small but clean and modern,also nice and quiet would stop again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Darren B
Reviewed 4 July 2016

I spent a one night break at this hotel and every member of staff I met were extremely friendly, over and above what you find even in the most expensive hotels. The cost was great value for money. The rooms were great and there was an excellent breakfast that was made to order. I will definitely book there again if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tracey S
Whitehartexeter, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Tracey, Thankyou for taking the time to give us valuable feedback. We are glad you noticed our warm and friendly team. We purposely try to operate a less formal, but genuinely friendly service. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Our room was a room with a four poster bed room was nice if a little tired in areas had a couple of issues which the staff rectified. The location is excellent 5 minute walk from town and bars and restaurants. The quay is literally 5 mins away with some lovely restaurants. Breakfast was lovely and the staff were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emmamcdy
Whitehartexeter, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Emma, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are happy you gave us the opportunity to rectify your issues. We are sorry you felt the room was tired as we had a full refurbishment last November and our maintenance team are always on hand to sort any issues. We are happy you noticed our...

Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Mid week business stop over. Good price for bed and breakfast. Offered discount off hotel menu and located near to a Wetherspoons pub if budget is a priority. Free carpark once registration logged. Room small single but clean and comfortable. Would certainly stay again 😊

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DaveyGriff
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Quaint hotel in need of some tlc. Single room was ok, clean and nicely decorated, but soundproofing very poor. Keith and his lady next door woke soon after 6 and I heard much of their conversation and the tv. Communal areas tatty, shame as this used to be a classy hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth J
Whitehartexeter, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Elizabeth, Thankyou for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very sorry to see you did not enjoy our recent refurbishment and newer look to the communial areas. For some years now the hotel has operated in the budget market as compared to the history prior the 1990s. However we do offer a good value all round...

wiltshire
Reviewed 1 July 2016

Just back from 3 nights here. Good basic hotel, lots of couples, business people etc. Our room was a good size with a spacious bathroom, bright and modern. Tea/coffee in room, tv. Hotel has a lift and the breakfast room is lovely excellent choice for breakfast.. Smart and clean throughout. Big bonus free car park. Staff really friendly and genuinely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank librarianWiltshire
Whitehartexeter, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Librarian, Thankyou for taking the time to give us valuable feedback. We are happy you noticed our warm & friendly team. And our great all round value. And we are very happy you enjoyed Exeter, the Cathedral & Quay which we are perfectly nestled between the two. Exeter has a lot to offer any visitor and we are right...

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2016

Enjoyed stay here, staff friendly & helpful. Room clean. Hotel centrally placed with parking. Just one gripe not too keen on having to go to bar in the evening to order food, pity there isn't table service in dining room. Otherwise enjoyed stay

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Phlebos47
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Visited in May for four night break to see the sights of Exeter. Very comfortable stay. Helpful and friendly staff. Good breakfast and lovely meals in the adjoining pub. (the 2 for £10 meals were very good value for money). Good spacious room, with comfortable bed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nermal12
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

Food reasonable as we had 2 for £10. The food was very nice. Nice feel about the place. Would recommend. Parking around the back of the hotel, could do with not limiting the time, you have to spend £20 to get the money back for 2 hours & you might not spend that much.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine Y

240 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (116)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (124)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (91)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.2 km away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.9 km away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,562 reviews
0.6 km away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#16 of 31 in Exeter
1,214 reviews
0.9 km away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
591 reviews
0.4 km away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#27 of 31 in Exeter
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
White Hart
White Hart
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The White Hart Hotel is a Public House which boasts 55 newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms (October 2015). All are non-smoking and inclusive of full English breakfast and FREE PARKING. The hotel is an old 'Coaching Inn' built in 1356! And is situated in the City Centre within the old city walls. There was an extension built on the back for 32 of the rooms in 1971 (These rooms have lift access). However the remainder rooms including the suite are located in the 'Old Part' above the Inn (These involve stairs and no lifts.) This part is a 'listed'property as the building is an 'historical place of interest' due to its part in Medievil history. The Pub boasts a large 'Chargrill Menu' concentrating on Steaks, Burgers & traditional pub classics to suit all tastes. There are 2 bars. The 'Tap Bar' is open 7 days a week and is traditional 'Olde Worlde' pub still with all the Medieval fixtures & fittings that has lots of fine Real Ales to choose from. And a 'Cider Bar' that opens at weekends and was newly refurbished in October 2015 & is where breakfast is served every morning. The pub also boasts an exclusive 'Secret Garden' very popular with couples. It's ideally situated to enjoy all the city has to offer, from its famous Gothic Cathedral, The Quay & the Princesshay shopping centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Address: 66 South Street, Exeter EX1 1EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Price Range: RM375 - RM476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Exeter
Hotel White Hart
White Hart Hotel Exeter, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from White Hart Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from White Hart Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask not to be up the spiral staircase”
781kima, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Parking to the rear, don't miss out on the garden.”
MargaritaDevon, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the newer side..”
908stephm, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Just send them an email with your personal requirements and they will do their best to oblige,”
Ang54, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There are some rooms in the old inn itself, so if you had a preference for an old room with character you could ask.”
jennyo927, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$75* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$75
TripAdvisorUS$75
Agoda.comUS$75
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates