We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel

TripAdvisorUS$80*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$127*
US$80*
Great Deal
US$89*
US$127*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

937 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 922: English reviews
Start your review of Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
 Click to rate
Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Good place to stay for the Pavilions if you are not local. Limited parking, but we got there early and managed to park easily. Nice bar area, with decent snack style food. Good breakfast in the morning. Staff were friendly and I would be happy to recommend the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndrewKen
Leila N, Director of Marketing at Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate it. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes, The Duke Team

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My stay was business related and proved an enjoyable experience. My room was very spacious with grand four poster and views to the harbor.The overall appearance is good for a hotel of its age, with good decoration etc. I ate with a colleague in the restaurant on the first night both choosing the pre theatre menu which was excellent in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annehA4231CL
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I recently was booked into this lovely old hotel by the wonderful folks at Adeo Travel who organized my 14 day rail trip through England. The Duke of Cornwall has a majestic exterior and the inside is well appointed. I was grateful to be able to book a single room - and this one was relatively spacious, although the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4664lady
Leila N, Director of Marketing at Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate it. We hope that your 14 day trip through England was a success, we believe Plymouth is a true gem. Salumi is fantastic as is the beautiful St Ives. Thank you for such lovely comments, we hope to welcome you back in the future...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on a work trip. Colleague had a newly decorated large room with modern furniture and large bathroom with seperate shower and bath all new and upgraded......my room was tiny with very old dark wooden furniture and a very well slept in bed where the mattress sunk and swallowed you up, bathroom was tiny and dated. Breakfast was lovely,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank siobhanandDan
Leila N, Director of Marketing at Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your feedback. As an independently run hotel, the owners invest a huge amount each year on refurbishment, we have an annual programme investing in the public spaces as well as the bedrooms. We aim to refurbish six bedrooms each year and use quality furnishings. With...

Rhode Island
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our experience at this hotel was disgraceful. If we hadn't been a) exhausted, and b) just staying for a quick single overnight on our way elsewhere, I'd have simply left and gone elsewhere. We arrived at about 2:30pm, so not ridiculously early -- I expect there had to be at least a few vacant double rooms at this time. First,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kerri9494
Leila N, Director of Marketing at Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Apologies for the delay, but with your feedback I wanted to investigate this with various Department Heads before responding in full. Our check in time is from 2pm, we are sorry your room was not ready, our Housekeeping team work very hard to prepare all rooms, this was unfortunate....

London
Reviewed 1 week ago

This could be a great hotel, staff are really good ,breakfast is actually cooked to order ( a rare find these days) and it is a great location with fair pricing BUT on my second visit within 2 months Wifi was again barely working which is no longer acceptable and too many silly mistakes like serving a salad on a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LondonRoberth
Leila N, Director of Marketing at Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a 4 star review, we appreciate your feedback and this will be shared with the relevant Head of Departments. We always want to achieve the best for every guest and the mistakes you have listed will be addressed. We pride ourselves on our home cooked breakfast and we are...

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for an awards ceremony in the town. Good staff, great location. Had a nice room on the 5th floor that looked well kept and fairly recently refitted. Poor water pressure both in the evening and in the morning meant terrible shower with just a dribble of water. Slept well and breakfast good. Would have been 5 out of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meaty1977
Leila N, Director of Marketing at Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a 4 star review, we appreciate your feedback and will share this with the Management Team. A good shower is key to the start of the day and we will explore the issue that you experienced. We are pleased you enjoyed the rest of your time with us and...

devon
Reviewed 1 week ago

what a fantastic hotel , lovely and original . great staff, clean rooms,comfy beds , yummy breakfast and evening meal . we stayed here as it's near the pavilions where we went to a concert . so glad we stayed here as it's a truly lovely hotel . many thanks to all the staff

 Report
Helpful?
Thank devonscrumpy
Leila N, Director of Marketing at Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a 5 star review. We really appreciate your kind words about the hotel and our team. We aim to give every guest the first class service that we have been providing for the last 154 years as Plymouth's first luxury hotel We hope you enjoyed the show at Plymouth...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

From the outside all appears lovely,but once out of the foyer area and upstairs not good.My first contact was with a man at the desk who was rude and not at all interested in interacting with guests.Once in the room there was a window where the wind came in the gap.A continuous humming from the bathroom even when you turned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terri B
Leila N, Director of Marketing at Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, it is very much appreciated and all comments are given to the relevant department. I have been to speak with our House Keeping Team regarding the issues you have raised. We are in fact one of the few hotels who still have our own laundry on site....

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This once glorious hotel is now showing its age and signs of decline. Check-in was welcoming and easy - but reception mixed up rooms/names, so from then on extras were charged to our friends' bill and vice versa. Sorted out between us both later on and they are still our friends! A special early dinner sitting for concert-goers turned out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lancerlot
Leila N, Director of Marketing at Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, it is very much appreciated and all comments are feedback to the relevant department. Our Operations Manager and Head Chef will discuss your thoughts. We apologise for the mix up at Reception, Sandra (Reception Manager) will look into this with her team. As an independently run hotel,...

447 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (206)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (96)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (203)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Second Standard Double Room (20)
Viewed
Shackleton Superior Double Room (17)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (25)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (30)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (Blue Bed) (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)
Viewed
The Reynolds Tower Suite with Panoramic Viewing Tower (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.3 km away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
746 reviews
0.5 km away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
594 reviews
1.1 km away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
1,862 reviews
0.2 km away
New Continental Hotel
New Continental Hotel
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
499 reviews
7.6 km away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Duke of Cornwall, Plymouth's original character hotel, a treasure in the heart of Devon's city-by-the sea. Tower and turret, ballroom, oak panels, elaborate ceiling roses, sea views and cityscape. We have 72 rooms and suites, each with a unique view.Built during the Golden Age of steam, the Duke of Cornwall was Plymouth's first luxury hotel and provides first class accommodation today. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel

Address: Millbay Road, Plymouth PL1 3LG, England (Formerly The Duke of Cornwall Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Price Range: RM405 - RM721 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plymouth
Duke Of Cornwall Plymouth
Plymouth Best Western
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Plymouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Brighton, United Kingdom
8 months ago
Brighton, United Kingdom
8 months ago
Mandurah, Australia

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“superior rooms are worth the extra”
LondonRoberth, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the rear are likely to be quieter.”
Lancerlot, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“Avoid top floors if you have trouble going up stairs. It's a long way up.”
637ChrisA, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“quieter rooms on top floor”
mah18632016, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere if you prefer modern.”
Y4142BVbarrym, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$80* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$89
PricelineUS$127
Booking.comUS$80
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates