We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cavendish Hotel

Save
Traveller (183)
Room & Suite (224)
Dining (51)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good32%
  • Average21%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
“games room”(64 reviews)
“star hotel”(35 reviews)
“land train”(11 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Family Rooms
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (961)
Filter reviews
956 results
Traveller rating
217
293
203
91
152
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
217
293
203
91
152
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomstar hotelland trainwaiting staffevening mealbit datedsea frontfriendly hotelcouldn't do enoughweekend breakentertainmentalisonsingertlcbingoseafront
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 956 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Hotel bit tired. Clean and comfortable room with sea view. 3rd floor room with tiny slow lift. Water pressure of shower very poor. Food hot and fresh. Would stay again. Was worried when I read reviews before I travelled but I think some visitors just...More

Thank bald148
Reviewed yesterday

This was a hectic 4 day trip which was very tiring but the hotel staff were very good, friendly and efficient; especially with my Diatery needs....a special thank you to waitress Maggie! The place was clean but very tired looking with 5 of our 6...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan M
Reviewed 3 days ago

The worst hotel in the country. I know this is a bit harsh when 90% off hotels in this country are dumps. I stay in about 80 hotels a year this is up there with the worst. Shower not working, lights in bedroom not working,...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bernard P
Response from James R, Manager at Cavendish HotelResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review . Without knowing what room you stayed in, we cannot help you with the issues you have raised. Any maintenance issues could have been resolved straight away, if reported to reception . Please call us if you would like to...More

Reviewed 3 days ago

The bed rooms are a bit tired and need a bit of a spruce up ie wardrobes and dressing tables need checking for state of repair , but overall the hotel standard was very good, and all the staff were polite and helpful. The food...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Topsyrn
Response from James R, Manager at Cavendish HotelResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review . We are constantly updating our rooms and public areas. We hope to see you again soon and glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Reviewed 3 days ago

Firstly, let me say that I realise that obtaining - and retaining - staff in holiday town must be a nightmare. This being said, the reception we received was very good and the staff on the front desk were friendly and efficient. The food in...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BarryJohn4
Response from James R, Manager at Cavendish HotelResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review . We pride ourselves on our staff .Our Chef has been with us for years ,as have many of our staff.Our Entertainment acts are some of the best in the bay . We are glad you enjoyed your stay with...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Torquay
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Meeting Rooms
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$51 - US$167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$51 - US$167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (183)
Room & Suite (224)
Dining (51)
Pool & Beach (20)
Amenities (46)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (4)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
elga_stroud
11 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Sharon D | Reviewed this property |
Some rooms are better than others,I think you should ask when booking 're the type of room you require.they did serve cider in the bar.breakfast is self service you eat as much as you wish to full English etc...Hope this... More
2
Votes
Anthony B
29 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from wideass48 | Reviewed this property |
Definitely and was lovely
3
Votes
roda_girl
10 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Paul j | Reviewed this property |
you can get in from the car park reception is right beside it. The front is not used for access
2
Votes
Room Tips
"My rooms floor sloped down from the door to the window......."
Read review
"Let’s not call them bedrooms, they are cupboards.."
Read review
"Room was tired, wardroom door was damaged as was the drawers on the dressing table, bathroom was fine."
Read review
"Don’t stay there"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing