We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JJ England
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$110
View deal
Free cancellation until 31/01/23
Hotels.com
US$110
View deal
Free cancellation until 31/01/23
Booking.com
US$103
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/01/23
PricelineUS$111
TravelocityUS$110
HurbUS$112
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (238)
360
Panoramas (38)
Room & Suite (148)

About

#34 of 81 hotels in Torquay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely 3 star hotel and Spa has an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities including luxury spa, swimming pool, gym, fitness studio, bistro and games arena with entertainment on site. Ideal for couples and families. The hotel offers spa, health and fitness breaks and dancing holidays. Close to the sea front and town centre, it is ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bowling
Game room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
863Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 353
  • 329
  • 107
  • 48
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Helen L wrote a review 16 Jan
3 contributions
Fabulous hotel, welcomimg staff, clean rooms, amazing Fire and Ice experience and two fantastic treatments. All the staff are just lovely and go out of their way to make your stay perfect. Special thanks to Andy (Spa supervisor), Izzy who did my treatments, Natasha who checked us in and Carla, Lucy, Philip and Tom who looked after us in the restaurant. Highly relaxing and you are missing out if you do not treat yourself to a Spa experience here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Just book it, lovely hotel and fabulous Spa
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Les C wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Went to hotel on the 27 December the room was ououtdated the food was rubbish in the restaurant for breakfast the plates was dirty eggs on them from not being washed properly went home the next day as we checked out thay ask us do we want a refund told them no put it towards a refunb to the hotel will not go back
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Relations TLH, Owner at TLH Carlton Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Les, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are disappointed that we fell short of expectation during your recent visit. Some of our bedrooms may be a little basic and in need of modernising, some of which already have been refurbished in 2022, however we would hope you found it to be clean, tidy and comfortable which we can assume it was as you have not mentioned otherwise. I have eaten in the TLH Carlton Restaurant several times and found it to be a well rounded offering, with friendly service, juice, tea, coffee, fruit, cereals, toast, a Full English breakfast plus more. We are sorry you felt it was lacking something. The overall offering at TLH Leisure Resort includes a bedroom, friendly service, breakfast, 3 pools, a sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, gym facilities, in-house entertainment, several bars on site, on-site spa and in close proximity to rail links as well as the beach! If you were after a stylish, fashionable bedroom to spend all your time in, you may want to consider elsewhere which will likely come with a considerably higher rate. Again we are sorry the TLH Carlton Hotel was not for you. Warm regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SkegnessBiggerry wrote a review Dec 2022
Skegness115 contributions97 helpful votes
Stayed here with my wife on a coach trip. We had a twin room which had a double and single bed.The room was large with a good wardrobe with plenty of hangers. The beds had good comfortable mattresses. There was a large tv with numerous channels. The en suite bathroom had a bath with shower over. Plenty of hot water. We were half board. Breakfast was buffet with plenty of tasty food. Dinner was table service again with plenty of well cooked tasty food. This hotel is part of a complex of I think four hotels in total. While we were there evening entertainment was provided at the adjacent hotel. There was always seating ,, bingo and run of the mill acts. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel and as said we were very impressed by the room. We would happily stay there again and would recommend it. Because the complex has an indoor and outdoor pool this hotel would suit families with children also. I would recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Relations TLH, Owner at TLH Carlton Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thanks for taking the time to leave us with a great review! We are truly happy to read that you had a good stay with us at the TLH Carlton Hotel. You are correct in saying that there are 4 hotels on the resort and that you are welcome to attend the bars/entertainment in the venues of the other hotels if you are staying as guests on theTLH Leisure Resort. We hope to welcome you back in the near future for another enjoyable time away - Torquay is in it's prime when the sun is shining! Warm regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GreWhick wrote a review Dec 2022
Torquay, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
Christmas event booked. Three course meal. I chose the soup as starter which was warm at best and had clearly been sat out for a while and then given a blast in microwave as I had to mix it to get the dried bit from the top. The main was beef bourguignon. Very bland and hardly any of it, accompanied by two small roast potatoes and then the veg came out which was carrots and sprouts (which is a risk as sprouts are very hit and miss!). The beef was quite tough not much of it, mine was mainly mushrooms and sauce! The people who had the roast had very dry turkey with one lonely pig in a blanket. Then it came to dessert, the artisan cheese board.....this consisted of three small bits of cheese which were red Leicester, cheddar and brie. All the cheese was dry and crusty on the edge which is evidence of it being left out of the fridge for a while before serving. One grape, a smidgen of pickle enough for one cracker and about 6 crackers!! On the whole the food was poor at best and a real shame as my team were really looking forward to having a nice Christmas celebration but sadly we will remember the night discussing the low level food. One positive was the staff which were very pleasant and helpful throughout the evening. This won't be a return for my team next year I'm afraid.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Avoid the cheese 🤦🏼‍♂️
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Relations TLH, Owner at TLH Carlton Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi GreWhick, We are truly sorry to read that you were disappointed with the food offering at your work Christmas party event. This feedback will be forwarded onto the Head Chef and our Events Planner to consider. Having worked at TLH Leisure Resort for over a decade, I know that the kitchen teams prepare all soups with fresh produce from local green grocer Frank Manns. All kitchens have a number of soup kettles which are used to keep large quantities of soup hot when serving to large masses of guests. To microwave 2 or 3 portions at a time would not be efficient at all. We apologise that there wasn't as much beef in the bourguignon as you'd like and that you felt Brussel sprouts were a risky choice of vegetable to be served at a Christmas dinner. Again, it may have been the case that the cheese was sliced/prepped an hour or two in advance so apologies if the quality had been effected by this. We are truly pleased that the team in the TLH Carlton Hotel provided a friendly and helpful service. Warm regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shane D wrote a review Nov 2022
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom47 contributions35 helpful votes
Spent 2 nights there for a social gathering with around 60 + members of our bike club. I thought I'd put up this review because, like most places, they get a mixed bag of comments and opinions. I can only comment on my experience . First off, we had a large sea view room, much larger than typical hotels in this price group. A huge superking bed which was rather comfortable. The room was very clean, the bedding was fresh and crisp and there was coffee/tea making facilities. Great Samsung TV with plenty of channels too. Next up, the food. I know this is subjective, but I have no complaints about the food over the weekend. Well cooked, nicely presented and nice sized portions. Finally, the staff. They were all very polite and professional. I never experienced any negative behaviour or attitude from any of the staff. They were all a credit to the hotel. My 3rd stay here, but not my last. Thank you Carlton hotel for making our stay pleasurable.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Relations TLH, Owner at TLH Carlton Hotel
Responded 30 Nov 2022
Hi Shane, Thanks for taking the time to leave us with a positive review. It's lovely to read that you had a great time socialising with your party at TLH Leisure Resort. It does appear we get a mixed bag of feedback as you said, but when you look at all reviews in total on this Trip Advisor page for the TLH Carlton Hotel it has has over 92% in total of Average - Excellent reviews which we are pretty proud of. So in reality only 8% are rated poor and lower. Whilst we try to please everyone staying with us, I think some do not want to be pleased. We are really glad that you were happy with your room. Whilst our bedrooms can be fairly basic, we strive to provide a clean and comfortable space. We hope you enjoyed the sea view in yours! In all 4 of our hotels on the resort, each is headed by a thoroughly experienced Head Chef, two of whom have been with us for over 30 years. To cater to such large groups of people can be a challenge in itself, so they really do a great job making sure service goes smoothly. It's great to read that you found the courses well cooked, presented and plentiful. Thank you for the kind comments regarding the team at the TLH Carlton Hotel who all work hard to provide guests with a friendly and relaxing experience whilst they are staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back for another pleasurable stay in the near future. Warm regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John R wrote a review Nov 2022
7 contributions2 helpful votes
Once again we returned to the TLH resort in Torquays Carlton Hotel. And once again had a superp time despite the bad weather. Staff were friendly and helpful..nothing was too much trouble, the food was amazing and I cannot praise them enough. If any problems arose, they were dealt with promptly and efficiently. Housekeeping also were none stop..and always gave a chearey response. Lovely pool..and amenities to keep everyone happy. Yes..dated..but clean..and for what you pay it is an absolute bargain. Brilliant location for seafront..town..bus routes or a walk..thank you all so much..see you soon
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Relations TLH, Owner at TLH Carlton Hotel
Responded 30 Nov 2022
Hi John, Thanks for taking the time to leave us with a kind and fair review, we really appreciate it. We are so pleased to read you felt the stay was a bargain for the price paid. It's great to read that had a superb time too with your party and found the team at the TLH Carlton Hotel to be friendly and helpful. We're also so happy to read that the team dealt with any issues efficiently and quickly. We always encourage our guests to reach out to the teams if any problems arise, as most can be dealt with a little communication and whilst they are still staying with us. We know some of our bedrooms are a little dated, but we are gradually updating bedrooms and investing in communal areas as time and money permits. Thanks again for the kind words and we look forward to welcoming you and your club back in the future! Warm regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cazza H wrote a review Nov 2022
Plymouth, United Kingdom11 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel is basic and outdated. Visited for a spa break with friends but not an enjoyable stay. Pool was cold with way too much chlorine as my eyes were not happy! Room was like a sauna and bed was very uncomfortable so didn’t get much sleep. The Christmas evening meal was just about edible and cold. Staff are lovely but that is the only positive.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Relations TLH, Owner at TLH Carlton Hotel
Responded 30 Nov 2022
Hi Cazza, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review with us. We are sorry to read you were disappointed with your recent stay. Yes, the bedrooms are basic but we work towards a high standard of cleanliness and hope to provide our guests with a comfortable space to relax in. The TLH Carlton Hotel has already had a number of bedrooms redecorated this year, with plans to tackle the oldest style bedrooms as time and money permit. Our swimming pool temperatures are regulated at between 28-29ºC, so far from cold. For anybody who wishes to learn more about the swimming pools (temp, capacity etc.) at TLH Leisure Resort, please check out our website in the following link: https://www.tlh.co.uk/aztec-leisure/aztec-pools/. The water in our pools is tested on-site every 2 hours, as well as by an external water hygiene business on a monthly basis. We of course monitor water quality stringently to provide a safe environment to swim in. Perhaps you eyes are a little more sensitive than most. We are sorry to read the bedroom was too hot for you. I'm sure it would be costing a fortune for us to heat too. If other guests mention it being too hot, I'll be sure to discuss with management about turning the heating down. Perhaps open a window for some fresh November air to cool the room to a more comfortable temperature for you? We apologise that the pool was too cold, the room was too hot and the food also colder than you would have liked. The vast majority of our guests are very complimentary about our facilities, food and overall offering of what staying with us includes. It's great to read felt the staff were lovely during your stay at the TLH Carlton Hotel. Warm regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Toby P wrote a review Nov 2022
Bideford, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
We arrived early and managed to get parking space. Couldn't book in as too early but reception quickly reserved the parking space for our stay as we had pre booked due to mobility. Hotel clean and well presented with helpful happy staff. We had a family room 106 which was large and clean. Both bedroom and bathroom were a little dated but more than exceptable for the price. Sadly let down at breakfast an no vegan breakfast available, server said they may have vegetarian sausages but nothing vegan. We did call a week before to confirm. We were able to have toast, tomatoes & beans also hash browns. On second day we brought our own soya milk so we could have cereal and tea/coffee. We were later told by aztec bistro that hotel do a vegan breakfast but it has to be booked. I am sure if we had insisted we would have been catered for but didn't want to make a fuss. I would advise any vegans to mention at every opportunity not just rely on one call. Aztec bistro were amazing. Al in all a good stay only spoilt by breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Relations TLH, Owner at TLH Carlton Hotel
Responded 26 Nov 2022
Hi Toby, Thanks for taking the time to leave us with some kind words and a good rating. Firstly, we are so pleased to read that you had a good stay with us overall. It's great to hear that you found all to be clean and that the team at the TLH Carlton Hotel were helpful and friendly. We are sorry to read that you were a little disappointed on the breakfast front. I will be sure to raise this feedback with the Management Team as I am certain we would have been able to source a more wholesome vegan alternative for you to eat with a little communication between the Bistro kitchen and Hotel kitchen perhaps. The TLH Carlton Hotel restaurant has had some great feedback regarding catering to any dietary requirements, so apologies that this was not entirely your experience. It's great to read you enjoyed the Aztec Bistro and I hope that the breakfast did not deduct too much from what sounds to be largely positive experience, which we hope you felt was good value for money. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm regards, Louie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zoe M wrote a review Nov 2022
Chesterfield, United Kingdom1 contribution
Very warm, clean and comfortable room with a Seaview. All the staff were the best we have had in a hotel very polite friendly and extremely helpful. Cleaner on our floor (2nd) was very friendly and polite also was smiling (nice to be greater by a smile). Reception staff also friendly smiling and helpful, if they didn't no an answer they found out. Nothing too much trouble. In the restaurant good choice of food for breakfast and for evening meal, staff all welcoming friendly and helpful. Lovely to meet Carla in there. All staff ade are stay a great experience keep up the good work. Pool and spa facilities were really good. Only downside is the parking. Very hard to park. If travelling by car have a few car parking options in mind if you can't find space here.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Relations TLH, Owner at TLH Carlton Hotel
Responded 24 Nov 2022
Hi Zoe, Thank you for leaving us with a 5* rating and some lovely feedback. We are pleased to read that you found the bedroom clean and comfy, as well as our on-site facilities great. The team at the TLH Carlton Hotel are so friendly and helpful - we are so pleased you felt the same. It's hard not to swoon when writing about Carla. We love her. We do apologise if parking was a bit of a struggle. It definitely can get busy during peak times. We have several car parks on site with 274 spaces in total - sometimes it is the case of either finding on street parking nearby or waiting for someone to leave their space (we appreciate this can be a little annoying). For anybody reading that might be interested in staying with us, we are situated close to Torquay and Torre train stations which are both less than a 15 minute walk or a 5 minute taxi ride. We are also located fairly close to the coach station too. We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future for another lovely break. Thanks again for the feedback Zoe. Warm regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
michael wrote a review Nov 2022
Exmouth, United Kingdom1 contribution
The rooms were at best very basic and definitely not sound proof as we were able to hear doors being slammed (some times by staff) and music being played. The beds were uncomfortable to say the least probably would of been better off sleeping on the floor, surely a hotel cahrging 100 a night should have comftable beds at least? We booked a spa break with afternoon cream tea and a bottle of prosecco to share with spa access and this is where the real problems started. By spa access they mean you can use the indoor pools, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room(the pools def arent heated) the amount of chlorine in the jacuzzi is so high your eyes will sting, but the biggest problem is the number of kids who were there if you want a relaxing break do not come here as the children out numeber the adults, and if you want to actually access the spa and treatments you have yo pay extra. The cream tea was basic the sandwhices were stale and not that nice the cake was ok but at least the scones were nice but only recieved 2 glasses of prosecco rather then the bottle to share as stated Breakfast was average at best with it being luke warm at best and no vegetarian option. The staff at reception were nice enough but everyone else seemed they would rather be elsewhere. So in conclusion if you want a nice relaxing spa break probably best looking else where
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Relations TLH, Owner at TLH Carlton Hotel
Responded 14 Nov 2022
Hi Mikeybude44, This review is just a rehash of the same feedback posted on this page by 'Kimberley' in September 2022? So, what made you decide to post about the same experience 3 months later? Strange.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$107 - US$162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonEnglish RivieraTorquay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
65
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TLH CARLTON HOTEL: UPDATED 2023 Reviews, Price Comparison and 619 Photos (Torquay, English Riviera) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about TLH Carlton Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to TLH Carlton Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Torre Abbey (0.3 km), Jungle Journey Adventure Golf (0.3 km), and South West Coast Path Walk- Meadfoot & London Bridge (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at TLH Carlton Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at TLH Carlton Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at TLH Carlton Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to TLH Carlton Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fredericks, Bull & Bush, and The Noble Tree.
Are there opportunities to exercise at TLH Carlton Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is TLH Carlton Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Torquay.
Does TLH Carlton Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to TLH Carlton Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Torre Abbey (0.3 km) and Friends Of Oldway (3.3 km).
Is TLH Carlton Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.