We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HL England
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$103
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/02/23
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$97
View deal
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
TravelocityUS$103
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (173)
360
Panoramas (50)
Room & Suite (133)

About

#33 of 81 hotels in Torquay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this charming hotel, with period features, has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bowling
Game room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Classic
781Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 274
  • 322
  • 122
  • 47
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Darren N wrote a review Jan 2023
21 contributions6 helpful votes
Food outstanding room very clean and bar open from 4.30 to 10.30 entertainment and bars are in the other hotel joined to the other hotel very expensive for alcohol drinks £5 a pint for cider lager plus swimming pool in next door be able to use for free
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Lift and stairs to all floors bar available from 4.30pm pool in next door free
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Marie Aston wrote a review Jan 2023
Gloucester, United Kingdom47 contributions3 helpful votes
I've lost count how many times we've stayed at the THL resort in Torquay. Most of the time we stay at the Derwent, but this time we had a really good black Friday deal so we stayed at the Victoria. We had a lovely weekend. Nice rooms, we could see the sea. Really clean and warm. Food was lovely and every member of staff in the restaurant were friendly and helpful. Only one veggie option but I enjoyed every meal. The salad bar was wonderful, plenty of choices at breakfast too. Loved our stay here, thank you 😊
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Dave-Jen1996 wrote a review Jan 2023
Wells, United Kingdom12 contributions5 helpful votes
Just got back from this hotel , good food ,good ,service , friendly staff .the wife was down for playing bowls so spent 4, nights here . didn't enjoy the fire alarms going off at 6 in the morning (false alarm) the fire escape was very dodgy ,no idea what was under foot in the dark ,needs looking at . I have one niggle the mattress in room 215 was full of lumps very uncomfortable , needs someone to lie on it and feel all the springs not just run there hand over it . The room was basic what you you expect for a 3star . Could do with some updating . Would I go again ? Yes I would . Ten bin bowling was great fun , recommend this if you stay .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
David W wrote a review Jan 2023
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Room needed updating, the carpets all over the hotel needs replacing , and most carpets got black tape on them, the lift had black tape over the controls , also food stuck and left on the carpets, we booked the spa which was dirty and we had to wait to use it , after they cleaned the spa still wasn't that clean, the food hall was always dirty food wasn't very hot
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Allan G wrote a review Nov 2022
Neath, United Kingdom8 contributions6 helpful votes
Really enjoyed a tinsel and Turkey break here lovely big room lovely sea view, food was lovely, entertainment was really good especially the entertainer on new years eve he was fantastic we sang along to all the songs. Food was fantastic evening meals and breakfast there was always plenty of choice and everything was really fresh. Swimming pool was lovely and the highlight was meeting Santa 🎅and getting a present. Thank you to all the staff at the Victoria who looked after us so well
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Relations TLH, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel
Responded 12 Nov 2022
Hi Allan, Thanks for leaving us with lovely words and a 5* rating, we really appreciate it. It's great to be reading yet another review from a guest who had such an enjoyable time away with us on a Tinsel & Turkey break. It sounds like you were more than satisfied with the overall offering, from our outstanding facilities to the hard working teams, Santa included! We are so pleased you felt looked after with us at the TLH Victoria Hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon. Warmest regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Byron J wrote a review Nov 2022
2 contributions
I have been taken electronic organ enthusiasts to the Victoria hotel for the last 18 years. We have had no major issues there. We have just finished a break Monday to Friday. I can honestly say not one of my people complained. I know all my guests by first name. A long time and they would tell me if there was anything wrong . Sheila you arrive the first people you meet are the receptionists. Very helpful and polite the Restaurant staff very enthusiastic and helpful. The Food is excellent (You can’t please everyone) But no complaints The bedroom is always clean and tidy. I would like to say some of the carpets on the landing have had sell by date expired. The Bar staff are very polite as well. A new manager is very pleasant and helpful. I know some will read this and disagree. My personal experience. Thanks for reading Byron Jone B E M . The Welsh Wizard Group.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Parking is really first come first served
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Relations TLH, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel
Responded 12 Nov 2022
We do like to be beside the sea too! Thanks for taking the time to leave us with some kind feedback and a great rating Byron. We are really grateful for such a long standing relationship and that the whole of your party appeared to of had a pleasant time with us! It's great to read you found the bedroom clean, food excellent and hopefully felt well looked after by Gary and his team at the TLH Victoria Hotel. Hoping to welcome you all back through our doors for an enjoyable 19th stay with us! Warm regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sue H wrote a review Sep 2022
Telford, United Kingdom229 contributions128 helpful votes
We were greeted at the hotel by Reception staff who were very friendly and helpful, lovely start to four-night stay. Our room was ready on arrival, the housekeeping staff were excellent and kept our room tidy and clean during our stay. We loved the swimming pool, one of the cleanest and largest pool we have used. Loved the low lever lighting and the changing rooms were warm and tidy. The restaurant staff were fabulous, great choice of food, good vegetarian choices and served really quickly. The chefs were so accommodating, cooking an alternative meal for me as requested, can't praise them enough they were stars. Only drawback the mattress was too hard, but Reception arranged for a mattress topper to be put onto our bed. Nothing was too much trouble
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Sea view rooms are quieter
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Relations TLH, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel
Responded 3 Oct 2022
Hi Sue, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review with us. By all means, it sounds like you had a great time with us, from interactions with the team at the TLH Victoria Hotel to the facilities on the resort. It's great to read we were able to accommodate any additional needs in the restaurant and from the housekeeping team. They will really appreciate such rewarding feedback - we typically have a solution for any problem, so for anybody reading this review, just ask if you are staying with us and we will see what we can do! We truly hope to welcome you back in the near future Sue. Warm regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
95maria62 wrote a review Sep 2022
St Helens, United Kingdom5 contributions3 helpful votes
Stayed at the Victoria from the 5th to 9th September. Excellent choice for breakfast buffet. Disappointing evening buffet, only ever one veg choice. Sprouts one night I personally like them but they are one veg a lot of people dislike. Plates were extremely hot one evening so hot we had too pick them up with serviettes, when commenting a member off staff was extremely rude. Very good bar staff . Excellent room service no trouble changing towels, maids in every day . Overall a enjoyable stay , just you always get one bad egg.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Relations TLH, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel
Responded 12 Sep 2022
Hi Maria, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review with us. We are truly pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay overall. It's great to read you found the breakfast buffet to have excellent choice and we will pass on your feedback regarding the selection of vegetables to the Head Chef and his team to consider. We are really sorry that you had a negative interaction with one of the team members in the restaurant. Please do not let this overshadow what we hope was otherwise great customer service from the teams on the bars and in housekeeping who I am sure try their hardest to provide a friendly and helpful service. We really hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for another enjoyable break away! Warm regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
laurahew2002 wrote a review Sep 2022
London, United Kingdom25 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
We arrived last Monday afternoon for a 4 night stay but we checked out early as we couldn't stay in our room any longer. We tried several times to speak to members of staff, we were constantly told they did not cover the Victoria Apartments or that they were new and would arrange for someone to come speak to us. No-one ever did. I was assured that the hotel manager would call us after checking out and we've heard nothing, I've called and sent continous emails. I've still heard nothing. From photos I had seen online, I expected the hotel to be a bit dated however, I did expect it to be clean. Years of dust and grime covered the apartment, from the kitchen tiles to the filthy walls. The curtain rail and curtains fell onto my husband when he tried to pull the curtains. The sofa bed should have been discarded years ago, it's broken and no one should be expected to sleep on it or even sit on it with it's stained cushions. We resorted to putting the mattress on the floor to try and get some sleep but the carpet reeks and obviously hasn't been cleaned in quite some time so we still couldn't sleep (it was also covered in dog hair) With each entrance to the apartments, you are greeted to a bucket of discarded cigarette butts which stink, I'm talking hundreds. No idea when last emptied. We hoped to have a nice holiday before our children returned to school but went home exhausted from lack of sleep. Because the kitchen was so dirty, we didn't want to use this so had the extra expense of eating out which we hadn't budgeted for. Zero customer service just ignored, hence posting on here to warn others of this place. I don't ever post bad reviews, I very rarely complain but this place and the total lack of care from any staff was just horrible.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Relations TLH, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel
Responded 9 Sep 2022
Hi Laura, We are truly sorry to read that your stay wasn’t what you had expected and that you have not been contacted sooner. I have spoken with the TLH Victoria Hotel Manager who I have asked to get in touch with you. We have provided the Hotel Manager with your contact details we found on our system, so he will be in touch soon. We have been in to assess the apartment you stayed in. Whilst we agree that the bedroom is dated with a couple of maintenance issues, we found the linen, carpets and surfaces in general to be clean. The sofa bed appeared to be in fair condition and we do not allow dogs on the resort, so it seems unlikely that this was the case. At present, we are talking to maintenance to act on the furniture that has some aesthetic damage and any old sticker residue we can remove before we get around to refurbishing. This year, we have already refurbished a number of the TLH Victoria Hotel apartment, as you may have seen in earlier reviews. We are working towards getting the apartments to a uniform standard, however this is a large task for an independent business and we are continually making progress. Again, we are truly sorry for the negative experience and we will be in touch soon. Warm regards. Louie (Marketing Team)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
warrdy3 wrote a review Sep 2022
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom57 contributions63 helpful votes
We have been returning to TLH Victoria as a three generational family for 30 years and this year returned with the new fourth generation in tow! Another lovely stay - the quality of the food is better than ever! Every meal was delicious and the breakfasts are as fab as always. Great afternoon had in the pool and games room and a super massage in the spa. The last few years I’ve stayed in the more recently decorated rooms so to be back in one which hasn’t been updated yet was noticeable especially in the bathroom round the skirting (307) so it would be good if all the rooms could be the same standard as each other but I’m sure that’s all in the pipeline for future plans. See you next year!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Relations TLH, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel
Responded 7 Sep 2022
Hi Warrdy3, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We love that you are passing down holiday traditions down through the generations. We are so pleased to read that you had a lovely stay with us, enjoyed the food and the massage in the Aztec Spa too. It's good to read that you've experienced both new and older style rooms and we of course intend on making more progress! Thanks again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back next year. Warm regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$99 - US$144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonEnglish RivieraTorquay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
99
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TLH VICTORIA HOTEL: UPDATED 2023 Reviews, Price Comparison and 648 Photos (Torquay, English Riviera) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about TLH Victoria Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to TLH Victoria Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Torre Abbey (0.3 km), Jungle Journey Adventure Golf (0.2 km), and South West Coast Path Walk- Meadfoot & London Bridge (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at TLH Victoria Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at TLH Victoria Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at TLH Victoria Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to TLH Victoria Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Visto Lounge, Bull & Bush, and Belgrave Beefeater.
Are there opportunities to exercise at TLH Victoria Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is TLH Victoria Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Torquay.
Does TLH Victoria Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to TLH Victoria Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Torre Abbey (0.3 km) and Friends Of Oldway (3.3 km).
Is TLH Victoria Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.