We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Imperial Torquay

Overview
Visit hotel website
E-mail hotel
Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG England See on map
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
4 Star accommodation
Additional information
Visit hotel website
Offers from The Imperial Torquay
Special Offer:Winter Escape
About
Description
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous More promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. Less
Hotel class
Contact Information
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Room Service
Restaurant
Free Internet
Beachfront
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair Access
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Style
Spa
,
Business
,
On the Beach
,
Family
,
Luxury
,
Romantic
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Contact Information
Hotel Style
Spa
,
Business
,
On the Beach
,
Family
,
Luxury
,
Romantic
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
152
Price range
US$68 - US$176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Imperial Hotel Torquay
,
Barcelo Torquay
,
Imperial Torquay
,
Torquay Imperial Hotel
,
Hotel Imperial Torquay
,
The Imperial Torquay English Riviera
Location
United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 88 nearby hotels
Devonshire Hotel
1,118 reviews
.27 km away
The Regina Hotel
271 reviews
.32 km away
Trinity Mews
209 reviews
.38 km away
Haytor Hotel
1,106 reviews
.39 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 372 nearby restaurants
The Orange Tree Restaurant
1,144 reviews
.39 km away
Number 7 Fish Bistro
1,546 reviews
.28 km away
The Elephant
1,150 reviews
.30 km away
Lulu's Coffee Shop and Wine Bar
365 reviews
.41 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 117 nearby attractions
Inner Harbour
576 reviews
.53 km away
Cary (Torquay) Gardens
187 reviews
.46 km away
English Riviera Wheel
584 reviews
.60 km away
Torquays Dinosaur World
458 reviews
.44 km away
Reviews & more
3,778Reviews
1,339Photos
64Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,447
  • 1,242
  • 599
  • 280
  • 212
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights from 12th December 18. This hotel should be avoided at all costs. Had the misfortune of eating in the Riveria Restaurant. Whilst the food was good the service was appalling.
The staff are poorly trained, indeed I think they take them off the stre
Read more
We all had an absolutely wonderful time and are already planning our return visit next year. The food was delicious and the sea views from our rooms were stunning. Thank you to all the staff that helped make our visit one to remember.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from AnetaE37, Hotel Manager at The Imperial Torquay
Responded yesterday
Dear julia o Thank you for your valued feedback. It's really lovely to hear that you so enjoyed your recent stay at the Imperial, Torquay and are already planning to return. We shall look forward to your next visit.
Read more
Food was unimpressive to say the least and the bar extortionate. 2 drinks and 2 shots €28. Dinner wasn't served until 8pm. Long waits between courses and much of it was inedible. I expected much better for the price. Would NOT recommend.
Read more
Response from AnetaE37, Hotel Manager at The Imperial Torquay
Responded yesterday
Dear Helen F Thank you for your valued feedback. I am sorry to hear that you did not receive our usual high standard of service at your recent Christmas Party night. As we always aim to provide the highest level of service it is very disappointing when we fail to do so. I will investigate the issues you have raised and prevent any re-occurrence. I do appreciate your custom and hope that you will return to the Imperial, Torquay again.
Read more
Having paid £35 a head for our teams Xmas party of 30 staff and only £25 somewhere else last year we thought it would be a lot more special.. Couldn't have been more wrong!
The fact that you had to wait between 20 and 30 mins at bar to get served for a drink with only 2 bar staff
Read more
Response from AnetaE37, Hotel Manager at The Imperial Torquay
Responded yesterday
Dear DebbieColes_12 Thank you for your valued feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your recent Christmas party night was disappointing. At the Imperial, Torquay we do work really hard to achieve the highest standards so it is regrettable when we do not reach that level. I will investigate the issues with service and food that you have raised with the Head chef to prevent any re-occurrence. I will pass on your thanks to the DJ who I am very pleased to hear was excellent.
Read more
Whilst undoubtedly a nice setting the Christmas party was not entirely hitch free. First of all the queue at the bar was horrendous. There were 2 members of staff serving and people were waiting for 15 to 20 minutes to be served. Drinks prices were also very high, perhaps to be e
Read more
Response from AnetaE37, Hotel Manager at The Imperial Torquay
Responded yesterday
Dear R5970MQRichard_H Thank you for your valued feedback. I really appreciate your comments regarding your recent party night at the Imperial, Torquay as it is only through this method that we are able to refine and improve the product we offer you, our guests. I will fully investigate all the issues you have raised with a view to preventing any re-occurrence. I am glad that in general you did enjoy the evening but I am very disappointed that elements of the food and service spoilt it for you. I do appreciate your custom and hope that you will return to the Imperial, Torquay again
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementThe Imperial Torquay
Photo provided by managementThe Imperial Torquay
Photo provided by managementThe Imperial Torquay
Cosy double room
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Imperial Torquay
The Standard Double Room at The Imperial Hotel
Previous
Have you got evening entertainment?
On the Saturday night we stayed there was a guy playing piano in the bar
2 votes
Show all answers
I would like to stay at the hotel (8th Sept)and play some tennis. Can anyone tell what the court is like and if there is a hitting coach available.
Very sorry I have no idea but if you contact the hotel they are very helpful. The hotel is wonderful, if you go have a lovely time.
0 votes
Show all answers
We are staying at the Imperial in July, on a Monday to Friday break. I have just flicked through the website (leisure facilities) and it seems to suggest that the outdoor pool is only open at weekends. Surely this cannot be correct. On each of our previous summer stays the pool has been open (weather dependent). It would seem a nonsense to have an outdoor pool that is out of bounds for the majority of time?
Good morning .we stayed in march so outdoor pool was closed .best thing to do would be phone the hotel direct and ask ..but to be honest the indoor facilities are amazing with jacuzzi steam room and relaxing beds around a free drinks machine ..enjoy your stay the view are breathtaking.
1 vote
Show all answers
Do all rooms have en suite bathroom? If not are there any photos of the communal bathrooms and how many are there?
I’m pretty sure all ensuite, bathroom is as you enter room . Great hotel. Only thing is extra charges, I.e. sea view extra £15: parking £7 or £15 per night. Relaxing spot.
1 vote
Show all answers
Are the spa facilities free to use if you've booked into the hotel? Also, are you allowed to use the facilties after the checkout time of 11am?
Yes you can use facilities .dont think any one minds .there are free towels and changing rooms and free hot drinks machine and water .enjoy .great place brill staff
0 votes
Show all answers
Previous
"3rd or 4th Floor for the best views and face South/West and are nice and quiet."
"second floor overlooking sea are to beg for"
"Sea view rooms best"
"King size deluxe"
"The basic, that is non sea view rooms overlook a car park or some abandoned buildings ...Avoid"
Previous
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing