We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Grand Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,142: English reviews
Start your review of The Grand Hotel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Once grand, now a little tired. Rooms are small and dated, had a wonderful view of a rusty fire escape. Bathrooms are old and worn out, hit or miss shower and chipped enamelled bath. Table service main bar that doesn't work too well, with wrongly delivered food and harassed staff. Breakfast was included but the queue to get in was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken W
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Nice setting- food reasonable and good value for money You were not hurried which is an issue sometimes in that you hardly finish one course before they bring the next - but as we were due to go to the theatre we did have to ask them to 'speed up' a bit! Did think the additional 1% credit card payment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Netty1313
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The Grand offered a warm and friendly welcome upon arrival with car parking in the rugby ground opposite. Walkling to my room was like taking a trip back into the 1970's, although everything was clean and tidy there is a distinctly dated feel to the place, a feeling that no maintenance or upgrades had happened for a long time. Again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clives868
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear clives868, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your recent stay with us at The Grand. I am disappointed to read your comments that you found our hotel to be dated, and we are proud of our 'old world charm', as other reviewers have mentioned. We do continually invest in our hotel, in all areas,...

Torquay
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed in the hotel for 2 nights on a B&B basis. Enjoyed the hotel in as much as the staff were very friendly and all looked nice and clean, including our bedroom (room 125). The one thing that let it down for us was the condition of our bathroom. It really did need some work doing to it. It would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikeBDevon
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MikeBDevon, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your recent stay at The Grand. I do regret that you were not satisfied with the bathroom, and have passed this to our Maintenance Manager & Head Housekeeper for review. I am pleased to note that you found the team to be friendly throughout and our hotel...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Staff friendly and helpful. Hotel general areas were very clean and wonderful sea views, good parking in the hotels own car park. Our room had great sea views and a really comfy bed. We had a dog as the hotel says it is dog friendly. Unfortunately what they don't tell you is you can not sit in either the restaurant,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SMS148
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SMS148, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your stay with us. I had not realised when reading this you were staying with us when you posted your review, and should note that you were offered the opportunity to speak with Matthew, Operations Manager on check out this morning which was declined. We are a...

Paignton
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

... my mum wanted to experience The Grand Hotel, so thought I would treat her to lunch. The lounge was very quiet, ordered sandwiches and soft drinks. Sadly the glasses were filthy - quickly replaced by the helpful staff. When lunch came I have to say it was nice, but nothing special. The curtains were hanging off the track, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jordan53
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jordan53, Thank you for your review following your recent visit to us. I am disappointed to read your comments and do regret you found our hotel to be tired. It is noteworthy to mention that the ladies toilets were decorated in October 2016, however I have shared your comments with our team, and do apologise about the dirty glasses...

Plymouth
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great location on the seafront with stunning views. We had the Pengelly Suite which was very spacious but the room lacked a little on character. Doors only had undercoat on them. Room kept very clean. Great bus service passes the hotel. The breakfast was a great disappointment. We had paid £822 for a 3 night stay DBB and it was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Juda
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Juda, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your recent stay with us. I do believe we have corresponded separately to your review regarding your comments about breakfast, and again, I assure you these have been suitably addressed with the relevant departmental managers. Kind regards

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Fantastic Hotel with superb service, delightful and friendly staff, delicious food, no problems with accommodating our young Boxer Dog....excellent out of season deal with a room with sea view and balcony......absolutely recommend this hotel. ( Still has its old world charm too!)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhilMiddleham
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PhilMiddleham, Thank you for such a lovely review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you found your time with us enjoyable, with superb service and friendly staff, which is something we do pride ourselves on. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards

Wiltshire
Reviewed 1 week ago

Growing up in Torquay this hotel was always 1 of the best in the Bay. The venue you chose for your wedding breakfast, special birthday party etc. So when there was an opportunity to stay here as we were at a conference we took it - What a mistake. The hotel is shabby to say the least - carpets worn,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireWhisperer
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear WiltshireWhisperer, I am disappointed to read your comments, and do feel a one star review is slightly unfair, bearing in mind we served over 300 people for the buffet dinner you attended, and over 260 people for breakfast, without complaint at the time, and feedback received from the organisers was extremely positive. All bedrooms were allocated by the organiser,...

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited for afternoon coffee with a friend always a lovely welcome Quickly served by a most charming lady called Elo most friendly and extremely polite We were sad to here that mark no longer works for the hotel I'm sure marks presence will be greatly missed again he was most welcoming and professional in his job We do wish mark...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary J
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gary J, Thank you for your review following your recent visit to The Grand. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your coffee and Elo delivered the excellent service for which we are known. I am unsure who Mark is, as the only Mark we have is our Head Chef who has recently returned to The Grand. We...

482 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (464)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (106)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (107)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Other (182)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.5 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
2,526 reviews
0.7 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 89 in Torquay
1,030 reviews
2.3 km away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
2.9 km away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#52 of 89 in Torquay
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Gainsborough
The Gainsborough
Cuisines: European
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Torquay's Historic Jewel For old world grandeur and traditional British charm, the Grand has been Torquay's landmark hotel for over 130 years. Overlooking one of the finest bays, this elegant Victorian hotel offers 132 individually styled bedrooms, The Grand spa, AA rosette restaurant 1881 and is surrounded by 22 miles of spectacular Devon coastline. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: RM414 - RM944 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Torquay, English Riviera
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
#16 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Grand Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea views are good”
 of 5 bubbles MikeBDevon, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a higher floor sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles SMS148, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles WiltshireWhisperer, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Phone first and request a sea view as not all rooms have it.”
  • Balcony with Sea View.
  • Shower cubicle separate from bath but it is quite constrictive.
  • Room 215 Double bed.
 of 5 bubbles ballya2014, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Seaview is beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles davidbrace, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5