We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anchorage Hotel

2.0 km from Torquay centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Babbacombe Aveland Road, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

344 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Anchorage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 342: English reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2016

I booked a room and had to cancel at short notice on the day because my partner had been taken into hospital and I had to return home that night. I was charged for the room despite being told I would receive a phone call to discuss my situation. I'm not a spiteful person, but this is bad customer service....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Matt P
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2016

We have just returned home from 4 enjoyable nights at this hotel great food staff very good and patient (especially with the elderly) our room was excellent clean and comfortable we were in room 3 our friends were in room 28 we have no complaints with this hotel and will return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016

We thought we were in a Fawlty Towers theme week-end Hotel. The service was absolutely rubbish, as was the food served. Bar prices were high and confusing, choices of beers poor and limited. Entertainment went from average to torture over the three night stay. The person who claimed he was a General Manager, also played the parts of the Waiter,...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Baza9
anchorageBabbacombe, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Baza9 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you noticed the General Manager working and supporting the staff where needed during your stay. The Anchorage is a small family run business where the family are actively involved in the day to day running of the hotel so you...

Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

Visited with a coach full of people for a 'turkey and tinsel ' weekend.The meals served were awful..with the exception of breakfast which was good...the beer was awful and overpriced..no lager glasses...tasteless...the rooms definitely need a lick of paint...the money the hotel paid to the charm school to train the staff was a waste...the ' entertainment' was extremely average at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bill M
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2016

The place was smelly and evening meal was avoided and we could not face their breakfast bar and the waiter with a real attitude problem. WiFi signal was non-existence so if you need it you have to checking in desk.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dadyar D
Frome, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016

We were to stay in this hotel last night, but after we paid for the room (at check in) and finally went to the room we could not believe they actually offer this sort of rooms to their guests. The smell of fried chips hit us the moment we opened the door. The bath was filthy and there was no...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sebastian S
anchorageBabbacombe, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Sebastian S Thank you for your feedback about your recent experience with us. We have a selection of rooms at the Anchorage hotel. You booked a Small Double at the discounted rate of £50.00. The receptionist on duty was correct in saying that the Small Double rooms currently only have a bath and not a shower, hence the discounted...

Reviewed 1 November 2016

the room excellent and comfortable food good staff very well trained and organised I stay here a lot 10 times a year including Christmas and new yeari keep going backthe hotel deserves a lot of credit the staff are always willing to help very clean and tidy

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard B
anchorageBabbacombe, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Richard B Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again at Christmas!

Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Came here for a skittles weekend and had a fantastic time. Rooms nice, food fantastic all the staff great especially the fantastic bar staff. Highly recommended place to stay for groups big and small.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank matthew g
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Honestly don't know where to start .. so we arrive no clear view of the car park from the street, checked in walked into the room & wow one of the worst hotel rooms I've ever stayed in! Clearly see old mould in the corner of one room which had been treated but in clear sight, old furniture and stained...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SophieHannah12
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Have stayed at this hotel approx 3 months ago and it gets better every visit. The staff are first class and go out of their way to make your stay most enjoyable. Richard who has been in the hotel for a number of years is one of the manager's is always keen to make your stay special and deals with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Derek C

243 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (168)
Viewed
Double Room (26)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)
Viewed
Triple Family Room (29)
Viewed
Twin Room (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.3 km away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#55 of 89 in Torquay
177 reviews
1.7 km away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 89 in Torquay
345 reviews
0.5 km away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#45 of 89 in Torquay
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
2,458 reviews
0.2 km away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#89 of 89 in Torquay
1,105 reviews
1.9 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Anchorage Hotel

Address: Babbacombe Aveland Road, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: RM211 - RM645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Torquay
Torquay Minotel
Anchorage Hotel Torquay, English Riviera
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Anchorage Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Poole, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Gloucester, United Kingdom
somerset
over a year ago
Cardiff, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Anchorage Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“you get what you pay for”
 of 5 bubbles xSineadx1, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Poor customer service”
 of 5 bubbles I5107TBmattp, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Dont Bother”
 of 5 bubbles Baza9, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Look for alternative place”
 of 5 bubbles dadyard, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Trust the staffs choice.”
 of 5 bubbles 42patchw, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5