We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Arran Lodge

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Arran Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 70: English reviews
Start your review of Arran Lodge
 Click to rate
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked the whole Hotel for the Young Farmers weekend in April. I could not prise Jo enough for her hospitality throughout the weekend... from when we first walked through the door to when we left, I could not fault a thing. I will most certainly be looking to book again!

Thank MegHadley
JoanneWoolman, Owner at Arran Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Meg. I am pleased you were happy with your stay and everyone enjoyed their weekend away. Hope you give me a call ready for the next convention in 2020! Torquay will be ready and waiting.

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Just spent two nights here whilst visiting family in the area. A lovely warm welcome from jo the owner. A really lovely room with everything you need, clean and comfortable. Especially like the dressing gowns. The room is very nicely decorated and the building is very homely and parking not a problem.

Thank Claire L
JoanneWoolman, Owner at Arran Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Claire. It was lovely to meet yourself and Darren and I am happy to know that you were both happy with your stay. Hopefully you will come back and stay in the future.

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016

The place is very clean and host friendly but wasn't too impressed with the internet dropping out on a regular basis, the TV remote batteries didn't work and the TV stuttered. I mentioned this but the only thing which was remedied was the remote. Not being allowed food in the room was a massive inconvenience to me as I was...

Thank Karlew1969
JoanneWoolman, Owner at Arran Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, sorry to hear you were not completely happy with your stay. Unfortunately batteries do not last forever so when you brought it to my attention that they were not working I instantly changed the batteries, as simple as that. The TV and WIFI however, you did not bring to my attention. I have checked the...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

This b&b is the best b&b I have ever stayed in. If I were coming back to the area I would so come back. But more to the point. The breakfast there is incredible. They have yogurts, cake, cereals, and toast as the cold area. But on the menu they have kippers and salmon with any egg. Now I had...

Thank 16mccartneyo
JoanneWoolman, Owner at Arran Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I hope you all come back and stay again in the future. I am pleased you especially enjoyed your breakfast

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2016

I have just returned from a short break at Arran Lodge. I travelled by train and Jo the owner was kind enough to pick me up from the station. I was delighted with the room - everything I could possibly want was provided, from a TV and dvd player, through to a bathrobe, tea and coffee facilities and a fridge....

Thank scfpmf
JoanneWoolman, Owner at Arran Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review. I am so pleased you were happy with your stay at Arran Lodge and really I hope you come back and stay in the future.

Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We had two nights at Arran Lodge.Excellent accommodation with a well furnished room with a good shower,dressing gowns and also soft drinks in the fridge.Probably the best breakfast selection we have ever had in a B&B with 8 different types of fruit plus the usual breakfast cereals and a cooked english breakfast along with kippers or salmon.

Thank alannewton45
JoanneWoolman, Owner at Arran Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review Alan. It was a pleasure meeting you both and I am pleased you were happy with your stay. Hope you both come back in the future.

Reviewed 30 August 2016

Jo the owner fantastic and helpfull,met us with tea/coffee and cake on arrival.arron lodge is spotless ,room was fully equipt with mini fridge ,iron and ironing board ,hair dryer,tv and out side space just for us.Breakfast was 10 out of 10.To be honest we can not fault Jo or the hotel,thank you for a great stay

Thank Amanda S
JoanneWoolman, Owner at Arran Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review Amanda. It was a pleasure meeting you both and I am very pleased you were happy with your stay. Hope you both come back again in the future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016

I found the owner quite confrontational sadly There is no breakfast though she advertises as such The room I stayed in had a weird design .....sort of sank down into where the bed space was and then there were steps up to the bathroom in the room .....bit rough if u needed the loo during the night ! The worst...

1Thank dave m
JoanneWoolman, Owner at Arran Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry that you felt the need to leave this review, but I do feel it is very unreasonable. You stayed with me during the winter months and it is very clearly stated on my website and booking sites that I do not offer breakfast during this time, and prices are considerably cheaper to compensate for this. This was...

Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Arran Lodge and Jo are just wonderful! Jo was so helpful and obliging when we were needing accommodation unexpectedly! She let us view the room before deciding and then made us a tray of tea and coffee with home made cake! The décor and colour schemes are wonderful, as are all the extras in the rooms! We had a really...

Thank Marian R
JoanneWoolman, Owner at Arran Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review Marian. Since you stayed the balcony room has been completely renovated to a higher standard, so would love you to come back in the future,

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Just come back from a 2 night break at the Arran Lodge. A fantastic stay complimented by a spotless room, tasty breakfast with lots of choices, a very helpful and informative host in Jo, and a great location. We will definitely return to stay here again. Well done for making our break so enjoyable especially the little extras you left...

Thank msean2510
JoanneWoolman, Owner at Arran Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for booking my 2 superior doubles for the weekend, and I am so pleased to hear that you were happy with them. I enjoyed having the 4 of you come to stay at my guesthouse and would love for you all to return again in the future.

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (4)
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (14)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Room/Suite (7)
Dining (1)
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.3 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
2,664 reviews
0.7 km away
#103 of 148 in Torquay
82 reviews
1.3 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Bahamas
The Bahamas
#99 of 148 in Torquay
92 reviews
0.6 km away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#32 of 88 in Torquay
111 reviews
2.2 km away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#8 of 88 in Torquay
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Michael and Joanne assure you of a warm welcome at the Arran Lodge Guest House in Torquay. We are the resident owners of the Arran Lodge and have been working hard over the last 5 years refurbishing the guest house to make your stay a more pleasant and comfortable one, whether you are coming to Torquay through work or pleasure. We are looking forward to welcoming previous guests as well as new ones. The Arran Lodge Guest House is situated only a short level walk from the seafront, English Riviera Conference and Leisure Centre, Princess Theatre, Harbour and Torquay town centre. You can visit the Torquay seafront via Torre Abbey and its beautiful gardens. The Arran Lodge Guest House is open all year. It is centrally heated throughout and offers 6 lovely en-suite bedrooms accommodating up to 13 adults. At Arran Lodge, we take great care in the quality of our guests’ stay with us. After a short check-in, we’ll welcome you to sit back and relax whilst Jo makes a complimentary fresh pot of tea or coffee or if you prefer a cold soft drink with a sweet treat to help refresh you. Summertime breakfast at the Arran Lodge is a special treat. From 29th March-31st October guests are provided with a breakfast each morning of their stay. We offer fresh, high quality ingredients and have plenty for you to choose from our hot food menu. Arran Lodge boasts a modern but comfortable finish. Several rooms even have their own outside areas for relaxation. If you’d like to arrange something special before your arrival i.e. Flowers, Chocolates, Champagne, or book tickets to see a show etc, just give us a call and we will be more than happy to do this for you. WI-FI and car parking is available free of charge. We can also arrange a courtesy pick-up from Torquay train or coach station. WE WELCOME GROUP BOOKINGS BUT ONLY FOR SOLE USE OF THE HOUSE. PLEASE ONLY CALL/EMAIL TO BOOK IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO STAY IN A GROUP OF 5 OR MORE. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Arran Lodge

Address: 97 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: RM323 - RM546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arran Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Arran Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arran Lodge Torquay, English Riviera
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Arran Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Arran Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If possible choose a double room with balcony or patio facing the rear”
alannewton45, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We where on ground floor with outside patio space”
S2478JWamandas, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are comfortable. Front room can be little noisey its ok in the night though”
jaswanth2015, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room 6 was lovely.”
popmoll, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“Only one room downstairs (No 6) as a tip for elderly or infirm visitors. It has a nice patio outside.”
EnglandTanky, 26 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
* /night
View Deal
View all 5 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates