We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Meadfoot Bay

Visit hotel website
Traveller (223)
Room & Suite (65)
Video (1)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Cosy. Comfy. And now boasting our own brasserie! At Meadfoot Bay we've taken the best bits of a luxury , boutique, Bed & Breakfast, combined them with the service level you’d look for from a leading hotel, and now added a brasserie dining in the evenings to create a unique offering on the English Riviera. A brasserie, bed and breakfast (or B,B&B if you prefer) with a team that has one single aim. To make your stay memorable for all the right reasons! Set in a wonderfully tranquil location, just a three minute walk from the blue flag, Meadfoot Beach and less than 15 from Torquay Harbour, the newly refurbished Meadfoot Bay offers guests a truly stylish alternative (please note some guest photos, which can't be edited, show the old cream, gold and red decor!). Friendly. Relaxed. And now great food too. Lots of reasons for making Meadfoot Bay your first choice for a stay on the English Riviera. We hope we’ll have the chance to welcome you soon to our haven by the bay.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Refrigerator in room
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Quiet
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Dinner's on us
611Reviews
280Photos
2Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 551
  • 47
  • 11
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Do not bother looking any further for a place to stay in Torquay, you have already found the best place to stay. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave you are made to feel special. Food is great, decor is great and service is second to non. Our room and all public
Read more
Response from Reception M, Owner at The Meadfoot Bay
Responded today
Yikes. That really sets the bar high but how can we be anything but pleased with your incredibly generous comments. Thanks especially for highlighting the amazing job our housekeeping team do too. If cleanliness is next to godliness they are most definitely our very own choir of angels. Don't leave it too long before you return and thanks once again for such a generous review. Best wishes from all the team at TMB
Read more
Hotel's Favourite
Grateful thanks to Jody and the team at The Meadfoot Bay. Don’t miss out on this luxury boutique hotel. We stayed two nights with my elderly parents and nothing was too much trouble. My parents were accommodated in a ground floor room for easy accessibility and soya milk
Read more
Response from Reception M, Owner at The Meadfoot Bay
Responded today
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of a stay at the Bay. We're obviously thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and that you and your friends enjoyed our new brasserie too. We're very excited by the very positive feedback we've been getting and are looking forward to enticing more guest and local residents to enjoy this new addition to the restaurant scene here in Torquay. We hope you might be tempted to return in the not too distant future, but in the meantime send you best wishes from all the team at TMB.
Read more
Cosy great find, with great personal service, we will definitely return. Nice comfy bed and large double shower, and the room was spotless and spacious. Complementary Sherry was a nice touch. Good breakfast with plenty of option choices, and the Bistro menu looks tempting which
Read more
Response from Reception M, Owner at The Meadfoot Bay
Responded today
Hi Peter We do indeed hope we can entice you back for a return visit soon to try our new Brasserie menu! Our chef Caroline is hard at work on a creating a series of 'specials' which we hope will make it even more tempting still. So we hope we will be able to welcome you back soon but in the meantime thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at Meadfoot Bay. Very best wishes Phil, Vicki, Jody and all the team at TMB
Read more
My wife and I have just returned from the Meadfoot Bay Hotel after a 2 night stay. The friendly staff who welcomed us upon arrival were very helpful and polite. The hotel itself Is very nice with newly refurbished rooms, a nice relaxing bar area and an excellent brasserie for
Read more
Response from Reception M, Owner at The Meadfoot Bay
Responded 1 week ago
Dear walkaboutagains If we had written this review ourselves we probably would have toned it down as it sounds to good to be true! But we'll take every word you've written, bask a little in the glory, then get on with job of making sure the next guest feels the same. And then the next. And the next. Thank you once again for your kindness. It really does mean the world to each and every member of the team and puts an extra spring in your step on a Monday morning! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes from us all at Meadfoot Bay
Read more
This is a nice clean hotel away from the scruffy town .The toilet seat had come off in our first room so was quickly moved to another room which suited the price we paid much better. Good breakfast in a neat restaurant. Only negatives are no draught beer and the central heating
Read more
Response from Reception M, Owner at The Meadfoot Bay
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Andrew Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Bay. Obviously sorry to hear of your toilet issue, but I think the team rose to the challenge by offering you an upgrade to a junior suite which I believe alleviated the problem. Regarding your 'negatives', I'm afraid whilst we do not have sufficient volume in low season to make draught beer a viable option. That said, come high season we do have a special guest ale by the barrel, which changes weekly, from our local Teignmouth Brewery. However we do try to compensate by having a choice eight bottled local beers. We also have an eclectic selection of 10 gins, many of which hail from West Country, plus a great cocktail list too. So no one should go thirsty when staying at the Bay. On the matter of the noisy central heating, this is the first we've heard of this issue (no pun intended) but we are looking into it as we do with all our customer comments. Lastly regarding the general appearance of the town, I think the council in general do a very good job of keeping our streets clean and tidy. As one who has only relatively recently moved down rom North London, the streets are certainly a world apart from what we experienced there. And up here in Meadfoot I think the only word I can use to describe the cleanliness of the streets is immaculate which is no doubt one of the reasons we count ourselves very lucky indeed to be located in such a lovely part of the world. With best wishes from all the team at TMB
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementThe Meadfoot Bay
Mill Bay Cove - one of our fabulous suites with a lounge area and private terrace,
Photo provided by managementThe Meadfoot Bay
Mill Bay Cove - one of our suites with a terrace
The Terrace
1st Room, bed
small vanity area
PreviousNext
12345613
Do you allow pets?
Dear Marilyn, Thank you so much for your interest in The Meadfoot Bay. Our hotel unfortunately does not take pets, however there are hotels in the bay that do. Our best advise would be for you to contact the tourist board as they normally have up to date lists of hotels that allow pets. Once again thank you for your interest and we wish you a wonderful holiday. If we can be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us. With kindest regards Caroline
0 votes
Show all answers
Dear Irene, Thank you so much for your enquiry and interest in staying with us here at The Meadfoot Bay. I am sorry to hear that you have been so poorly and hope you have a speedy recovery. I have sent you an email with regards to your booking request. We unfortunately do not have a lift here at The Meadfoot Bay but do have a couple of ground floor rooms available. We have a Deluxe Double or Twin Room available and also a Classic Single Room on our ground floor. We have all the pictures, room sizes, bed sizes and room amenities all on our website which also has our access statement, a page dedicated to all things about us and also a really helpful videos page that shows the individual rooms in more detail. For any questions on our rooms, access or anything you need to know please feel free to contact us on 01803294722 as we are just a small family run place and will always be completely honest with anyone looking to stay as we understand that time off for everyone is limited and we want you to be comfortable if you choose to stay with us. Have a great day. Gary
1 vote
Show all answers
"I hear the rooms with a terrace are the ones!Ours didn't but was still a great room with walk in shower, en suite + massive bed! "
"great breakfast, nice rooms, close to the town"
"From what I saw all were amazing, just depends on your budget"
"They have quiet room available at back for very light sleeper."
"Would imagine all rooms are "good" if our suite was anything to go by !!"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$104 - US$179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the meadfoot bay hotel torquaymeadfoot bay torquaymeadfoot bay hotel torquay
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEnglish RivieraTorquay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing