We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Abbey Court Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Abbey Court Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Abbey Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 91: English reviews
llanelli
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2015

the hotel was clean and the food was good.but i would say that the waitress needed more training as i didnot like my main course when i hadnt finished my first . there was 7 of us at the dining table but only 4 butters i know this might sound petty but we had to ask for more every day.... More 

Helpful?
Thank chrisgap
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry for your boring experience at the hotel. We do provide entertainment in the Bar; for a 4 night stay we usually offer 2 nights in-house live entertainment with an option to see a show on Tuesday evenings. The arrival day on Monday is a free night for the guests to settle in and relax in... More 

Nantyglo, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2015

stayed hear for 2 nights half bourd good food good service very clean hotel only misgiving was the tv was on the bedside cabinate just a little to close to the bed bit out of town but bus stops outside hotel plenty of taxis about £5.00 each way

Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for coming to us and for your observations. Unfortunately, the TV aerial controls the positioning of the monitor and my apologies for it. I look forward to your return visit and you might then like to try another room where the TV is not on the side of the bed. Once again thank you for your... More 

1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2015

This is our second coach trip visit to this hotel.Staff friendly. Food homecooked and very good. Nice location. Outdoor pool and garden very welcoming in the sunshine.No complaints whatsoever, but to the complainers - if you want 5 star accommodation then you have to pay for it! John and Lorna Aherne

Helpful?
Thank Lorna A
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Many thanks for your review; your kind words are encouraging. I will pass these on to our staff and we look forward to your return visit in the future. Once again thank you for your visit. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2015 via mobile

The Hotel is in a great location, near the train station, in front of the bus stop and 20 minutes away from the center. The bulding shows its years and lacks of proper maintenance. The room was outdated and the lamp bulb near my bed was out of order. The shower was the worst part, not enough water and the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank manupia
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I note your disappointment; but would mention that the Abbey Court Hotel is a Victorian building and has been operating now for nearly ninety years; it can't have survived all this time without having proper maintenance regime. However, I am aware that on some occasions shower pressure does fluctuate during the day making it difficult to control its... More 

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Cardiff
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2015

Worst place I have ever stayed by a mile. We stayed as part of a group coach break, the cost was very low, but the hotel spoiled the whole break. The hotel is like something from the 1970s, very dated and worn and not particularly clean. My room had grubby carpets, plus the skirting boards and Tv remote were dirty.... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank B R
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry for your disappointed stay at the Abbey Court; alas! we were also not aware of your concerns whilst you were with us. I would assure you that we always like to do our best to make the stay of our guests as enjoyable as we can. I regret that your stay was not to your... More 

Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2015

My parents stayed at Abbey Court Hotel as part of a Leisuretime coach break. They cannot speak highly enough of the fabulous service they received whilst staying there. The owners and staff went out of their way to make them feel welcome. They loved their room and thoroughly enjoyed all the meals provided. They will definitely be returning in the... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Lisaclaytonthomas
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to have had the opportunity of offering you our hospitality in Torquay. Thank you for coming to us and we look forward to your return visit soon. More 

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2015

This hotel is very dated, and in desperate need of updating and a good clean. We returned today from a 4 day break with leisure time which I can only say was a shambles from the start. The room we had was no 29, the shower didn't work we did complain and when we returned from our trip to Plymouth... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank allanlewi
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I regret to note your disappointment with your stay at the Abbey Court and would mention that I am aware that all your concerns were attended to by the staff. You were also given extra milks & tea bags free of charge over & above the normal practice of complimentary top ups of these items every day in... More 

Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2015

Hotel staff are very welcoming. The rooms are tidy but outdated. There was a good selection of meals on the menu and Chris the cook was always happy to please guests - nothing was too much for the staff. The location of the Hotel is good. Overall the Hotel is rated as a 2Star and it is a "GOOD" 2Star.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 21stpatricks
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind reflections on your stay at the hotel and look forward to another opportunity to welcome you here. More 

Maerdy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2015

We went on an organised short break, 2 nights, 3 days. We did not pay a great deal, so we did not expect too much. What a shock !! Our room was spotless. It was very warm. We had a sea view. Chris the chef works wonders on what must be a very limited budget. The food was plentiful and... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Carpy50
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I thank you for your kind words and look forward to your return visit to Abbey Court. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2015

Our five day break at Christmas was excellent value for money. Chris the chef produced an unbelievably high standard of food - extrea snacks available during the day, sherry and superb mince pies on arrival, Christmas Dinner exceptional. Chris is an outstandingly good chef. Good entertainment in the evenings, although the dance floor was a little small. The rooms were... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Julie-Anne H
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Many thanks for your encouraging review. We enjoyed having you at the Abbey Court and we are very pleased that you found us excellent value for money. I will pass on your compliments to our Chef Chris and we look forward to your return visit. Once again, thank you for coming to us. More 

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 km away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#82 of 89 in Torquay
339 reviews
0.5 km away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#53 of 89 in Torquay
175 reviews
0.2 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#58 of 89 in Torquay
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#24 of 89 in Torquay
971 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#88 of 89 in Torquay
318 reviews
0.2 km away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#22 of 89 in Torquay
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in a tree lined road, Abbey Court is a peaceful hotel. It offers high standards and professional service at affordable prices. From views across Torbay to our heated outdoor pool and comfortable bar lounge, you will find the Abbey Court Hotel is the ideal place to relax and enjoy your holiday on the English Riviera ... more   less 

Additional Information about Abbey Court Hotel

Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: RM380 - RM522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Abbey Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Abbey Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Hotel Torquay, English Riviera
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Abbey Court Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
s wales
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Abbey Court Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Very good view from room 29”
 of 5 bubbles Enki40, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room at back 2 floor”
  • View from room
 of 5 bubbles Lin13238, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Basement rooms open onto the garden and outdoor pool.”
 of 5 bubbles 154markc, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“Sea view rooms are lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles patking, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 ground floor is very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles 85cherylj, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay