We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Casterbridge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Casterbridge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 133: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a lovely room but the let down was the bathroom. The shower was really just a handheld spray on a wall fitting (which wouldn't angle) so very weak flow; the space between the wall and bath for the toilet might challenge a larger person and the towels, though fluffy, smelt of cooking oil. The bedroom got very warm but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mallika N
Melvin C, General Manager at The Casterbridge, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location great and the staff helpful. Sorry you found this about our towels, our towels go out to a laundry sevice and come back to us. The windows are easy to open and close, if you had asked a...

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A two night stay at such a charming Georgian residence. We were greeted warmly and made to feel very welcome on our arrival. The room was impeccable ,and comfortable with great attention to detail shown with furniture and decor. Our bathroom was absolutely spotless with hairdryer and plentiful towels if needed. We ate dinner in the cosy dining room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shaunstc
Melvin C, General Manager at The Casterbridge, responded to this review

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for your lovely comments! Thank you for taking great notice in our decor, it is much appriceiated! We are pleased you enjoyed your eveing dinner service with us in our cosy and warm atmosphere. We hope to see you agian in the near future! Kind regards Kate

Gosport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Really lovely little place in the heart of Dorchester; on the main road within handy reach of the town centre and all local shops, pubs and restaurants. Lovely, well decorated and warm bedroom with clean soft linen and towels; plenty of Tea and Coffee too. Breakfast was good and plentiful and the staff most pleasant and attentive. Would definitely recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScranVanMan
Melvin C, Owner at The Casterbridge, responded to this review

Thank you so much Scran VanMan. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Reviewed 13 September 2016

A very nice Georgian family run hotel, we found the hotel to be spotless and comfortable, we had twin beds which were very good. We had dinner the first night that also was very good, only problem was that it was closed Saturday and Sunday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
Watford
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed at The Casterbridge last weekend for one night single occupancy . Found my room to be very clean and tidy had shower and toilet which were immaculate . From the start I found the staff to be very helpful and very friendly . The breakfast was exceptionally good . I would highly recommend this Hotel to anybody looking for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ollie O
Melvin C, General Manager at The Casterbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and found the staff, breakfast and the room helpful and immaculate! Hope to see you return again in the near future! King regards

London
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We stayed just one night and thought this was a delightful hotel. Right on the main street of Dorchester we were able to walk easily around the town to see the sights. Our room and bathroom were immaculate and had clearly been recently refurbished. The lounge areas were very comfortable - just like an elegant private home. The staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jinty27
London
Reviewed 21 July 2016

A pleasant hotel, very centrally located (though Dorchester is hardly the metropolis); nice room, comfortable bed - but the price for a night, at £102, was very high. We could have had breakfast for an extra £9 each (with no choice between continental and full breakfasts), but there are lots of cafes nearby in the town so we didn't try...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richard_carter
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Friendly , lovely room. Excellent hosts. Best breakfast ever. Really enjoyable stay the hosts were friendly efficient and helpful. Only one concern the shower in our room needs updating. However overall excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrk50rg
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Opening night of the casterbridge restaurant ,under a new chef.specialising in French style cuisine with his own twist to the menu.setting very pleasant we had pre drinks in the lounge which had a extensive wine list and a variety of liqueurs and beers. The menu had a good variety of choice. The food was wonderful very tasty. Best meal we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christophersalkeld
Melvin C, General Manager at The Casterbridge, responded to this review

Hello! On behalf of The Casterbridge we would like to say a big thank you for your lovely review! We are pleased you was able to make it to our opening night and able to bring good company along with you for dinner, we can see you all had a wonderful time by the photos you shared with us, in...

Cheltenham
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

Very small comfortable hotel, very nicely appointed room with a comfortable bed and bath which is becoming rarer these days No restaurant for dinner, but breakfast was excellent, really good cereal/fruit/yogurt choice, excellent coffee and tasty kippers All staff really helpful This will be my bolt hole when staying in Dorchester

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
Melvin C, General Manager at The Casterbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us and found our facilities comfortable. We will be starting eveing meals here on a friday and saturday eveing from september onwards, so if you would like to re visit us on a weekend we would be happy to book you in for dinner...

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (75)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel
10.9 km away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
98 reviews
18.2 km away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
795 reviews
10.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wsteria clad Georgian town house guest accommodation. Period public rooms and individually decorated rooms. Close to all town attractions and shops as well as restuarants. "Master Chef" winner offers dinner an Friday and Saturday evenings. Prices include Breakfast. We are now open for Afternoon Tea in our beautiful lounge! Perfect for a family or friends catch up! Buisness buffet lunches Select a platter buffet option from 4 up to 24 persons. available Monday to Friday lunch times Non-residents breakfast Try our fabulous Full English Breakfast. Fruit juice, cereals, fruit selection, Eggs bacon, sausage, mushrooms, tomato, toast tea or coffee. Price per person. Bookings advised. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Casterbridge

Address: 49 High East Street, Dorchester DT1 1HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Price Range: RM407 - RM515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Casterbridge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, SpeedyBooker.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Casterbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Casterbridge Hotel Dorchester
Casterbridge Hotel Dorchester
The Casterbridge Dorchester, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Casterbridge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Oxford, United Kingdom
5 months ago
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Casterbridge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Imagine all the rooms are to the same high standard. Our double was perfect for us.”
 of 5 bubbles Scouselil9, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“rooms recently refurbished --We like room 4,first floor rear and very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles S9470URmikeh, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“some rooms are larger than others but all good”
 of 5 bubbles PeterfromAustralia3, 2 Apr 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent - one has an elegant four-poster.”
 of 5 bubbles estaroma, 26 Mar 2016 | Read review
“We slept in a room looking out over the back of the building”
 of 5 bubbles GillianA956, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay