Dorset Country Holidays Glamping

Blackmore Vale Caravan Park Sherborne Causeway, Shaftesbury SP7 9PX England
Traveller (77)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#3 of 4 campsites in Shaftesbury
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Dorset Country Holidays Glamping is the leading independent glampsite in the country; having offered glamping since '06 and with almost half a centuries worth of experience in providing camping holidays. We offer range of glamping accommodation. Nestled in the Dorset countryside DCHE's glamping site is an AA 4* park with washing amenities, a fishing lake, shop, gym, and massage treatment room. We offer a range of glamping accommodation including bell tents, yurts, glamping pods and vintage caravan. We offer a variety of activities available to book in advance of arrival from clay shooting to lazer warfare. Welcoming families, couples & pets, we're easy to reach, with direct rail connections from Waterloo / Exeter St David & straight off the A30 from Shaftesbury.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
163Reviews5Q+A23Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 120
  • 19
  • 13
  • 3
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
blueDmx wrote a review Aug 2017
London31 contributions40 helpful votes
We booked a weekend her a few weeks in advance. 2 adults and 3 kids all under 5. We decided to stay in the Dome as I was worried how cold it would get at night for my 6 month old baby and heard it was warmer than the bell tents. (a bit more like a yurt.. not stayed in one of these either!)

Firstly, the drive to find it was fine and they gave us clear instructions on how to find the site. However, it was a bit confusing when we got there as it is on a caravan site, we didn't know where their site office was. It's at the back of a garage, i'm not sure why they don't tell you that.

Anyway, we worked it out and we arrived at 6pm. Alice and Jim met us and showed us to our dome. There are only about 5 bell tents/yurt/dome I think, very small site. They gave us some information about eh area etc but to be honest, it had started to rain a little and the kids were excited to get into the dome we weren't able to take in everything they said. The wardens on site were really helpful, I had to text them to ask them how to turn off the light inside the dome and within minutes there were there.

The dome was really nice inside. Just like the pictures! And such a bonus to get the coffee machine, the tv/dvd player (they will lend you dvd's if you want to). The camping stove, kettle, bbq, fire pit, the electric coolbox etc - everything worked perfectly.

The toilets and showers were spotlessly clean and only a few steps from our Dome which was so handy.

The washing up station was in the car park are which I found rather odd and I believe it was shared with the caravan site? A bit confusing. But never had to wait too long to wash up.

There isn't anything to do on site. It is very small. We had a lovely bit of green outside out dome where the kids were able to play and run around. I think they must have had a shift around as the map I saw in the toilet block was different to how the tents were set up, we were located in a different area. A shame as it may have been nicer to be in the other field.

As other reviewers have said, you can hear the road, but to be honest it didn't really affect us. One day we drove into Shaftesbury which is a lovely little village.
The garage on site doesn't really sell anything, but drive 5 mins down the road and you have other choices... including fast food!

We all really enjoyed our first glamping experience, all that was included and provided was exactly what we wanted and I thought it was very reasonably priced for 2 nights.

My only negative is there wasn't anything for the kids to do. It wasn't totally clear where the lake was or how far etc, so we didn't venture over there. But the sun came out and we chilled by our dome cooking up a bbq with meat we bought in Shaftesbury that day.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
everybodywelcome1989 wrote a review Jul 2018
Leicester, United Kingdom5 contributions5 helpful votes
We have returned from our stay here in the dome tent which was excellent, all the luxuries of camping! We were so well looked after for our stay and nothing was too much trouble. Would really recommend for something different .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
juliepask wrote a review Jun 2018
Bracknell, United Kingdom1 contribution2 helpful votes
We were bought this break by our son and daughter and it totally lived up to expectations. We were greated on arrival with a welcome iced lemon tea by our hosts and shown to our bell tent. The tent was clean and very comfortable. The two pairs of site hosts were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. As DIY campers it was a real treat to turn up and have everything in place ready to use. The facilities were clean and we would certainly go back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rusty2708 wrote a review Apr 2014
Watford, United Kingdom1 contribution9 helpful votes
We were meant to stay here until Easter Sunday but left after one night (we would of left that night if we could). We arrived on the Friday afternoon to be shown a nice looking camp site, well kept lawns etc with a pretty nice view. We asked when the can would arrive which sold the food to be told it wouldn't be coming now as it wasn't worth his while (there were 16 of us) We stayed in Bell Tents they were awful one bed and a wooden slate for four people, it was the worst night sleep we had ever had and they were freezing (as in Robs previous responses to negative reviews 'we offer electric heating if asked' ) this doesn't happen. We had cocktail making booked at the cost of £22.50 each in the events pavilion (which is actually a shed) it was a complete rip off and the guy Ian was rude and not very good. We made three cocktails in plastic cups, it was advertised as a James Bond experience (no where near) we had a laugh and made the most of it but it truly was mid-sold. In the evening we ordered some pizzas and sat on the benches drinking and playing games at half 8 Rob came out and asked us to keep the noise down and our amplified music ( it wasn't amplified it was an iPhone) he said at 11pm he expects us to be in our tent making no noise he was rude, obnoxious and slightly creepy just watching us from his hut he would send the couple that also worked there to come and tell us off every so often (they were lovely) we told them we would be leaving first thing in the morning they didn't seem to care atal. Once we did go back to our tents he would come round shining a torch I guess to tell us to stop talking. We woke up the next day and left none of the staff came out to try and make up for the situation we will try to get out money back for the second night but we doubt very much this will happen. This really isn't a place for a young group to go on a hen party had we been told all these rules before we wouldn't of booked as for the owner he really need a to learn some customer services skills!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2014
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rob F, Owner at Dorset Country Holidays Glamping
Responded 23 Apr 2014
I am sorry that glamping was evidentially not for you. We welcome all constructive comments and will always look to see where we can improve our service. We have welcomed hundreds of discerning hen parties, birthday parties and various celebration groups even including stag and sten groups as well as families and couples all of which have been extremely satisfied. I apologise if you were under any misconceptions about our Glamping site. Normally our groups enjoy some jovial activities with us, such as life drawing with a Royal College trained tutor or Wine appreciation with a sommelier and spend a relaxing evening. Our guests do not usually turn up with crates of alcohol and some members already drunk, then proceeded to drink more till some of the party can no longer stand and finally one of the group vomits on the site. For this reason we will be looking at ways to ensure guests find the right location for their break. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your activity. Our cocktail activity is designed as a way for guests to learn how to make three classic cocktails as well as see a demonstration of and try their hand at some cocktail ‘flare. We can understand that if a party intended to use this activity as a binge drinking session they would be disappointed. Ian has been highly praised for his events in the past, as there were also two other staff in the pavilion during the activity I will certainly be speaking with all involved to get and accurate idea of the situation. We are not aware of any James bond reference, we do mention the Tom Cruise film cocktail as you learn to make cocktails and have a go at cocktail flare which makes up a large part of the film. As you have mentioned this, we will certainly review our website to see if this appears anywhere. It is regretful that we had to ask you to move your signs that you had put in lawn. Guests have previously asked us if it is acceptable to do so before doing this. This is generally a good idea due to the electrical, water and other utilities that run underground through the site. As such we can then advise guests as to a safe place to do this, as we did with your party once we saw you we erecting signs. We will be adding details to our booking process to clarify this for future guests. I sincerely regret that your party seem not to be aware of our terms and conditions, which you sign that you have read and agreed to on your booking form. Your party were indeed asked to be quiet several times as you were ignoring the simple rule we insist on of ‘respecting other guests’ which are set in our terms and conditions of booking. I am sorry that you feel that an iphone at full volume is not amplified as we do not class it as acoustic. It is a shame there was confusion about the visiting food vendor. We do supply these contact details for pre-ordering food to all guests when booking and try to make it clear that he is not permanently on site by stating that he only visits during the high season. However, I am pleased that we were able to supply you with some take-away menus which can deliver and moved your activity to accommodate this. We will be looking at ways to make this clear and remind guests to pre-order if they wish to have on site food service. Thank you for your praise of our wardens. They work very hard to try and meet all guests’ demands and I will certainly ensure your comments are relayed. I do apologise for any confusion. At eight thirty your party was asked to stop shouting obscenities and using the F word. We want all guests to enjoy themselves but as we had other guests and small children on site we were forced to draw a line. I am sorry that we do not class obscenities as respecting other guests, but we are simply not that type of Holiday Park. As such behaviour was not conducive to our policy of respecting other guests at this point you were also offered complimentary use of our pavilion with its tables chairs, lights and heaters where the noise and language would have been less of an issue, instead of sitting outside. You chose not to accept our offer and as such or nightly report shows that we had to ask you several times to respect other guests, sadly having reviewed this log we can find no record of a request for a heater. From your comments about our bell tents it seems that you had not seen the pages of our website dedicated to bell tents which clearly described their contents along with images. Previous guests have praised our bell tents for having real beds, sofa beds, electric light, sockets, cooler/fridge and gas stove, hamper with cutlery and crockery and fire pit or chimenea. As such we will make more efforts to check guests have actually seen all the information we supply. It was very unfortunate that the behaviour demonstrated was inappropriate for our site and some which we have never witnessed before on our glamping site. I can only conclude that you were not fully aware of the type of site we are and that your party may have been better suited to a city location. Please rest assured that we are taking steps to make sure guests are aware that it would be better for all concerned that if they wish to drink and act badly they may prefer to go elsewhere. I do apologise that, if in the parties drunken state, our polite request to respect others were misconstrued as demanding or not appropriate. I fear this may have added to your misconception about the staff working late in the office on the accounts for end of our VAT quarter and the resident site service team making their usual rounds of the site throughout the evening. I am sorry to hear that you did not stay with us for the full weekend, however I am pleased that this allowed you to go to a more suitable location and meant we did not have to make your group the first we have had to ask to leave.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martin Williams wrote a review Aug 2014
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom3 contributions9 helpful votes
I can't comment on the facilities as we never got to go, this was due to the poor organisation of the staff and extremely outdated booking procedure. All our card details were taken several times and we made multiple calls to try to ensure that the booking was completed until eventually we found out 1 day before we we were due to go that the site was fully booked. I don't know how we could have been more pro active in trying to ensure we could obtain the booking but the staff seemed unable to give a straight yes or no. I'm sure the facilities are great but due to these issues unfortunately we never got to find out.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicola B wrote a review Sept 2015
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom46 contributions25 helpful votes
Booked a long weekend in the family bell tent as was tempted by the "exotic"and" luxurious" description on the website. After a long drive with three children we were shocked to discover the 20 acre campsite in glorious countryside is in fact a few damp and mouldy tents places on a strip of grass behind a petrol station and some industrial buildings ! The breakfast basket consists of a few packets of variety packet cereal and little blister packs of long life milk and the bedding i ordered i wouldn't let my dog sleep on let alone my children. The tent was Damp and mouldy and when we explained this to the manager his response was "well it has been up all season" ..... there is nothing glamorous or exotic or luxurious about this acommodation or this "site" and we stayed all of ten minutes which was long enough for us to find a lovely little bed and breakfast an hour away. I have asked for a full refund and no doubt i will get a sarcastic response to this review from Rob the owner but if it saves others from experiencing the disappointment and disgust we have experienced then it's all good ....... should be prosecuted under the trades descriptions act ..... glamping indeed ! More like slumming it !
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wotsitwestsussex wrote a review Aug 2015
West Sussex15 contributions18 helpful votes
This place is not as advertised, go at your peril! We have just returned from a 3 night family holiday at the cost of over £600 for 7 adults & 2 children. No complaints at the price had the facilities matched up to the sales hype. The tents were ok, the venue is not so! Approached off the busy main road, into a petrol station (which is the shop) an MOT centre & caravan sales area, into what can only be described as a paltry piece of land shared with approx 10 static homes/ caravans. There is 20 acres of lovely land the other side of the fence, where I believe the website pictures were taken. There is a small outside washing up area comprising a sink and draining board that takes very little crockery. A dog had fouled by the entrance to the showers and we had to ask 3 times for it to be cleared up. There were dead spiders and cobwebs in the showers which looked as though they had been there for months!! Finally don't rent the camping pod on the "camping" area as it was full of huge spiders and webs. It does not look like the "cosy" pictures shown on the website at £40 per night. We have sent a letter of complaint to the manager but alas have had no reply.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sasv wrote a review Aug 2014
London, United Kingdom9 contributions8 helpful votes
To quote the website, ‘we understand that Glamping comprises of two words Glamorous and Camping’ and ‘the glamour of the exotic or luxurious mixed with the fun of sleeping under canvas’. We arrived with expectations. ‘Nestled in the beautiful Dorset countryside’ and ‘we are located at the foot of a forestry commission wooded hill in the heart of Thomas Hardy's rural Dorset’ suggested to us a quiet spot in lovely countryside. The gallery aerial photo showed the campsite, but missed the fact that it is in fact behind the Blackmore Services Murco garage on the A30 (where the closest toilets are situated). ‘We also have a small shop on site for essential grocery items that guests may need.’ translated to the garage shop, where there were only a few items to buy, if one could afford the inflated prices.
We were a group of 5, so the only accommodation available to us was the group glamping bell tent. We understood that there would be 6 single futon-style beds, which there were (complete with mattresses with interesting water marks). We arrived prepared with airbeds, as futon-style beds are notoriously uncomfortable. However, we were consoled by the website comment ‘Our accommodation is designed to be lovely and snug’. On the first night of three, as bedtime approached, we were freezing. The site team arrived with an electric heater. Unfortunately, this quickly tripped the power to the tent, which meant no heating, and also knocked out the small light and cool box for the night. (We were warmer on the second night, but the third was a repeat of the first.)
By the morning, we were all frozen and had barely slept, due to the cold and traffic noise from the A30, which made one of our group comment that it felt as though the tent had been pitched in a lay by.
On our arrival, we had inspected the hamper that was provided. ‘All of our sited accommodation comes complete with a hamper. Each hamper includes enough items for the standard number of guests the accommodation can welcome. This applies to cutlery, crockery, (mugs, plates, bowls and glasses) and whistle kettle.’ Inside the broken hamper was a complete mismatch of plastic plates, cutlery and mugs. We asked where the promised glasses were, to be told that this was something that was not normally provided, as ‘this is camping’. However, the team did react to this and purchase some wine glasses the next day and gave us a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine, from the MD.
During our stay, we saw the interior of one of the yurts, which appeared to be cosy, perhaps the walls providing more insulation to the cold, traffic noise and conversations from neighbouring tents.
We won’t be returning; the location and noise can’t be changed, even if the facilities could live up to those promised on the website.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cabbage1967 wrote a review Jun 2014
UK48 contributions33 helpful votes
No problem with the yurt itself. The luxury toilet block is a very long way away, not great especially in the middle of the night with no lights. There is no outside covering so if it was raining you would be unable to use the gas stove. Not great if you have kids as we could hear everything and i mean everything that was being said and happening in the yurt next door! The yurt itself was fine, as described on the website but the site itself is at the back of a Merco station, and not very exciting. we wouldn't go again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2014
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
STEVEUK1 wrote a review Aug 2014
London, United Kingdom388 contributions181 helpful votes
I've just returned from 3 nights in a yurt with my family. The Yurt itself was fine and cosy and the toilets and showers were fine so no complaints there.

What takes the shine off this venue is the location. The yurts are no more than about 15 feet apart so you do hear everything from your neighbours and privacy when outside on your small sitting area is in sight of them. The corner yurt we were in seemed to have had a caravan with an awning squeezed into the space that should have been ours. All the other yurts had their own little grassy bit.

There is road noise too as the Yurts and stargazer pods etc are behind a petrol station on a main road and it seemed a shame everything was kind of crammed in together. Shame really. I maybe naively expected some quiet and some space. In saying that my kids loved the yurt.

The "lake" is a pond really and I caught nothing but didn't fish for long due to weather.

I'd "Glamp" again as it's a good experience but maybe somewhere quiet next time..
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Rob F
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Dear Ashley, thank you for your message. Apologies that you have been unable to reach us. We have been inundated with enquiries and even with additional phone lines experienced difficulties. I am aware that your booking lead has now spoken to two members of staff and your questions has been resolved. We have also replied to your emails and the questions we have received by email today. I hope this helps. Please feel free to contact us directly if you have any other questions. kind regards rob
KLA321 asked a question Jun 2015
2 contributions
Do you have hot tubs?
Answer from Rob F
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
We do offer hot tub hire please feel free to visit us on dche.tel or call the office on 01225290924 and we can provide further information. Kind regard Quentin
Rda1187 asked a question Jul 2014
Poole, United Kingdom
anybody there??
Answer from Rob F
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Dear Andrew, Thank you for your message. We have limited availability on the dates you have requested. If you have a direct email we can send you full details, prices and help you choose the most appropriate accommodation for you need. Alternatively please feel free to visit our website or call us on 07917298634 or drop us a line directly at enquiries at dche. co. uk We look forward to hearing from you Kind regards Neyah
Show all answers
macmillankatriona wrote a tip Jun 2017
Glasgow, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
"go for the yurt it looked fabulous."
Read full review
Rebecca L wrote a tip Sept 2016
London, United Kingdom13 contributions
"Go for the yurt!"
Read full review
James_Biff_Dale wrote a tip Sept 2016
Bristol, United Kingdom20 contributions12 helpful votes
"Eden Project Style Pod was ace"
Read full review
Jaflorey wrote a tip Jul 2016
Surrey, United Kingdom21 contributions18 helpful votes
"All the accommodation seemed lovely. We stayed in a yurt, which we loved."
Read full review
Tracey B wrote a tip May 2016
South Petherton, United Kingdom10 contributions6 helpful votes
"Any of the camping facilities are great"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Shaftesbury area.
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDorsetShaftesbury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DORSET COUNTRY HOLIDAYS GLAMPING: See 163 Reviews and 90 Photos (Shaftesbury, England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Dorset Country Holidays Glamping
Which popular attractions are close to Dorset Country Holidays Glamping?
Nearby attractions include Gold Hill Museum (2.9 km), Shaftesbury Abbey Museum & Garden (2.8 km), and Gold Hill (2.9 km).
Is parking available at Dorset Country Holidays Glamping?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dorset Country Holidays Glamping?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Fleur de Lys, The Salt Cellar, and The Ship Inn Restaurant.
Are pets allowed at Dorset Country Holidays Glamping?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Dorset Country Holidays Glamping?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Gold Hill (2.9 km).