We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Herston Caravan & Camp Site

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swanage
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

410 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Herston Caravan & Camp Site
See the most recent reviews
Showing 409: English reviews
Yatton Keynell, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2015

We have recently returned from a 4 day camping trip here, we were confused on first arrival that the camping reception was unmanned - appreciate on quieter days this is not always possible but a sign to this effect at the main gate asking for book in there would have been helpful, however having been before we thankfully knew where...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hayley S
Reviewed 5 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed for one night, the facilities are poor and need upgrading. Could be a nice site if it was tidied up and a bit of TLC. A bit expensive to be charged 30quid for one night. Have stayed at much nicer campsites for less. Not to mention was kept up till gone midnight with a disco on in the bar....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Riwild1976
Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2015

Horrible place, horrible people, horrible principles. Honestly I wouldn't waste a penny going to this place. Such a horrendous company! Way too expensive for the tacky, cheap and bug infested place that it is. I highly DON'T recommend

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Alexandra H
Reviewed 1 July 2015

We spent two nights camping at Herston and have to say it didn't match up to the reviews we had read. The site is brilliant in terms of proximity to Swanage however the service we received didn't compare to what others have written on here. When we eventually found the entrance (bit of a maze of single track roads to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Crawley77
Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

We'd been visitors to Hurstons since 2010, I hosted my hen soo there in 2011 hiring a cabin, We had a lovely time and always recommended and said we would return. So we did in June a 3 day surprise yurt for my husbands birthday after a traumatic few months just what we needed with our small baby and 2...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Erin1emily
herston, Manager at Herston Caravan & Camp Site, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are disappointed that you recent experience was unsatisfactory, however, you state that you have been a regular visitor to our site since 2010, and indeed hired one of our Log Cabins. It seems you had ample opportunity to visit the yurts located on the site and were fully aware of the facilities available. Our...

Reviewed 6 June 2015 via mobile

I bought my daughter & grandson here on a break following a recent traumatic event and so I was hoping for a relaxing break here on the South Coast. On our arrival our boiler in our cabin had broken. In the morning we were exhausted after a long drive from the Midlands and so were not the happiest customers after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maryoloughlin
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2015

We stayed at this site last summer and promised ourselves we would return. We arrived at the start of the half term week with our young grandchildren. We were welcomed by the friendly staff and beautiful weather. We stayed in the family field and soon settled in for the long weekend. The showers had been completely revamped since last year...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrs S
Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2015

Myself, partner and two young children camped at Herston for four nights over the school holidays. It is a busy little site but the staff were really friendly and accommodating. We had a great pitch with beautiful views and a short walk to the shower and toilet block which was immaculate, looked like it might have been newly installed. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David J
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2015

Overall, we really liked it here. Friendly, clean, good showers, pretty scenery and easily walkable into Swanage town. This was our first 'proper' experience of camping in our motor home that we bought at the end of last summer. The pitch we were given was in 'Laurels', which is literally right in front of the bar/cafe area. The first night...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank freeman68
Reviewed 31 May 2015 via mobile

We camped hear for 5 nights in May,. The camping pitches were large & plenty of room in the middle to play games etc.Beautiful spot to explore from, only 5 mins walk to steam train. The toilets/showers were not good, but were cleaned daily. The bar was pretty basic & seemed to have a lot of locals! The food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shazzoo22

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
1.5 km away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
881 reviews
1.5 km away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
1.7 km away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Robertsbrook Guest House
Robertsbrook Guest House
#11 of 55 in Swanage
227 reviews
1.8 km away
YHA Swanage
YHA Swanage
#4 of 14 in Swanage
101 reviews
1.5 km away
Town Hall Lodge
Town Hall Lodge
#16 of 55 in Swanage
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)

Additional Information about Herston Caravan & Camp Site

Address: Washpond Lane, Swanage, Dorset BH19 3DJ, Swanage BH19 3DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Herston Caravan & Camp Site Hotel Swanage
Herston Caravan And Camp Site
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Herston Caravan & Camp Site staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Herston Caravan & Camp Site staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great camping site if you like being stared at every half hour”
 of 5 bubbles collette124, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The field with EHU has got brand new toilets”
 of 5 bubbles KrisFlynn12, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Linen and towels are provided but you need to bring your own soap & shampoo & laundry detergent”
  • bedroom
  • kitchen
  • sunroom
 of 5 bubbles bonggamom, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“ask if its a lodge or caravan”
 of 5 bubbles Kayakinglureman, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Catch the train in season”
 of 5 bubbles Gruffergreen, 7 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5