We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

YHA Swanage

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA Swanage
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 97: English reviews
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a very happy and pleasant 3 nights in Swanage this Novemeber 2016. Warm, comfortable and clean. I look forward to returning there to stay again in the future. An especial thanks to the Manager, Lewis, Toni and the staff for all their time, effort and kindness.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KevMac207
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write us a review, we are all pleased to read that you have a great stay at the hostel and your thanks have been passed onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Don't forget to keep an eye out for our special offers on the website, especially...

Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

I travelled with my mum who is in her 70s, sister in her 40s and my two children aged under 10. The communal games room, was ideal for the children, whilst my mum and sister retreated to the tranquility of the lounge in the evenings. Overall the hostel was a good base for the October half term break but I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela F
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write us a review. Unfortunately due to the hostel being an old building and only having single glazed windows condensation can be an issue this time of year. The windows have been cleaned already and we also have a long list of jobs as part of our winter planning / redecoration. I have also...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We have been here a couple of times and the staff and facilities are great. Food, a bar and entertainment! Live music during the Swanage Blues festival supplied by The Baroness and The ear and John Mclean and The Clan... One of Swanages little gems..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobbitybobbob
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Once again the Swanage Blues festival was a great success and the band playing live at the hostel were fantastic. We very much look forward to being part of the next Blues Festival on the 3-5th March 2017.

Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016

In short, everything on the ground floor (and the building itself) is excellent. Beautiful building, interesting interior, lovely - albeit dimly lit - lounge perfect for relaxation and reflection. And great views if you can get them. For me what let Swanage YHA down were the washroom and shower facilities. It goes without saying that the more comfortable, clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SilentPartner777
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thanks you for your review & comments about the shower water temperature and shelving. We will get someone to look into why it is a bit too hot as they are thermostat controlled. As a team we are working hard to improve the standards at the hostel and will be carrying out lots of work as part of our winter...

Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We stayed as a family of 6 last weekend. On arrival we found out that we'd been allocated a 4-bedded room instead of a 6. It was immediately assumed by staff that I'd made a mistake but I knew I hadn't and had the email to prove it! Anyway, fortunately another 6-bedded room was found for us and the situation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sooslewoosle
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. All reviews are read and any comments discussed at team meetings to see how we can improve the customer experience. Apologies for the mistake in terms of room allocation, but pleased to know that this was sorted. You will also be pleased to know that we are planning a lot of improvements over...

Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Lovely, peaceful hostel ideally situated overlooking Swanage bay. Service by staff couldn't be more helpful and rooms clean and tidy. An additional service provided this year was having bed-linen fitted and ready for use! - a real bonus considering my previous struggles with duvet covers. Thanks for this. Fantastic Breakfast as always and really appreciated the recently installed new modern...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tennplay123
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for your really nice review, it is very much appreciated by all the staff. We are so pleased that you had another great stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

We had a one night here and were pleased with our stay. The staff were helpful and kindly let us check in early. The rooms are a little tired but are clean. Very impressed with the cleanliness of the bathroom facilities. Breakfast was good value so would definitely recommend. The hostel is just a short walk into the town but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hjk121
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write us a review. We are pleased to read you had an enjoyable time and very much look forward to seeing you again in the future. Unfortunately there is not much we can do in terms of the hill but at least due to our elevation we have great views over Swanage Bay.

manchester
Reviewed 13 September 2016

A cheap overnight stopover whilst travelling. Instantly recognisable as a YHA by branded bedding and decor. The room was a little more tired than other YHA's we have recently been in though it was clean and serviceable. Only one roof window opened (not the main window) so it was a little stuffy in the heat. The ladies loos were being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aj1965
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. For H&S reasons our window are restricted on how much they open, however I hope it did not effect your stay to much. YHA Swanage is an old building and as you mentioned we are doing our best to keep on top of things by redecorating as and when we get the opportunity. Breakfast at...

South East England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016

I stayed here with a young family and we had a wonderful time. The house and grounds are set up on a hill overlooking the sea - one down side is that the walk back from the beach is very uphill! There is ample free parking and the hostel is in a quiet area. The staff were so welcoming and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosie401
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write us a review. It is fantastic to read that you had a great time, it's just a shame it was only for 1 night. You make a very important point in that it is best to book through our own website. You will always get family rooms cheaper via the YHA website than...

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We visited the south of England within two weeks with a family of four and stayed mainly in hostels by the YHA. This hostel was the hostel with the most spectacular views (not so often, that you can enjoy your breakfast looking at the sea!) in a Victorian villa, situated in a nice and very British seaside town. The clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank erichter129
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thanks you for your review and it is very pleasing to see that you all had an enjoyable stay at YHA Swanage. I hope you are able to come and stay with us again soon.

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (52)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
1.5 km away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
825 reviews
0.3 km away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
1.7 km away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#2 of 5 in Swanage
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
844 reviews
0.7 km away
Millbrook Guest House
Millbrook Guest House
#4 of 55 in Swanage
295 reviews
0.2 km away
Clare House
Clare House
#5 of 55 in Swanage
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This large, sea facing, Victorian villa is situated 5 minutes walking distance from the blue flag awarded beach of Swanage. Our hilltop location gives the front facing room's spectacular panoramic views of Swanage town and bay. Swanage town often holds music festivals, Art weeks and the Swanage Carnival every year. The town is a classic British sea side resort, and the gateway to the Jurassic coast, a world heritage site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Swanage

Address: 20 Cluny Crescent, Swanage BH19 2BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Price Range: RM98 - RM325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Swanage 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your YHA Swanage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Swanage staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
Dover, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Swanage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea views at the front!”
 of 5 bubbles bobbitybobbob, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A little difficult to choose a room with a view - but I travelled at a busy period. Views are at the front.”
 of 5 bubbles SilentPartner777, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There are sea view rooms but you need to ask for one.”
 of 5 bubbles Rosie401, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at front have sea views.”
 of 5 bubbles debzo2015, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Sea views at front”
 of 5 bubbles picturethisqueen, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay