We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Ship Hotel

Agoda.comUS$86*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$164*
US$86*
Great Deal
US$87*
US$87*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,047 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Old Ship Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,004: English reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

The old ship hotel location is great The hotel is located right on the beach , you can go for a swim or walk to the pier or to walk to Brighton tower, both less than 5minutes walk On the other side of the hotel you'll find variety of pubs and restaurants The hotel itself seems to have quite a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moshe k
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Moshe k, Thank you ever so much for your great review. Glad you had a lovely stay and we hope to welcome you back for your next visit to Brighton. Kind regards, Enrica, Guest Relations

Staffordshire
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Booked this hotel through living social deal offer and it was excellent value for money from beginning to end. Check in was fine. Room lovely . King-sized bed and partial sea view. Room very clean. Three course meal with bottle of wine included on first night. Excellent menu. Breakfast each morning very good and afternoon tea on second day really...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelStaffordshire
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MelStaffordshire, Thank you so much for your fabulous review. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Enrica, Guest Relations

bristol
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Stayed 3 days at this hotel & all the staff were so helpful polite & cheerful. Nothing was to much trouble in particular in the dinning room & breakfast especially as I am partly disabled. They kept offering help all the time could not of been more friendly or attentive so grateful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flipBristol
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear flipBristol, Thank you so much for your amazing review. We are delighted you had a good time. I will pass your great feedbacks onto the team who will be pleased and proud to read their hard work is appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Enrica, Guest relations

Vancouver, Bc
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We stayed here for 4 nights and only chose the hotel for seafront location - Metropole was sold out unfortunately. The room was filthy. The 2 glasses provided had crud and scum in the bottom so I asked to have them replaced. The blanket folded at the foot of the bed had nasty stains on them so when the housekeeper...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BunnyII
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BunnyII, Thank you for your review. We are really sorry we didn't meet your expectations in this occasion. Your feedback will be shared with the team and immediate improvements will be made. Kind regards, Enrica, Guest relations

Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We stayed here for 1 night on a last minute visit to Brighton. It was a beautiful summer's evening and all the front folding doors were open. After a long drive we were happy to eat in the hotel and watch tv - Andy Murray was playing in the Olympics and we are big tennis fans. The food was good,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SueWithaView
OSHGuestRelations, Front Office Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SueWithaView, thank you for your review. All comments will be shared and appropriate action will be taken. Thank you and my regards, Katarina Dobociova Front of the House Manager

Brighton
Reviewed 20 September 2016

This hotel was lovely. Room was super clean and modern, lovely bath and shower. The staff were super friendly and helpful. Also enjoyed the bar there, with the chairs outside and the live singer was a lovely touch.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank snash_199771
OSHGuestRelations, Front Office Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear snash_199771, thank you very much for your lovely review and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will welcome you back soon. Best regards, Katarina Dobociova Front of the House Manager

Wembley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Stayed for 3 nights in mid-September 2016 in a 2nd floor deluxe sea-view room. The view and the location were amazing - overlooking Brighton beach and situated between the 2 piers. The station is walking distance and the Lanes are just round the corner, providing quaint and quirky shops and numerous bars and restaurants. Other than the view, the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven1961
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steven1961, Thank you so much for your amazing review. We are glad you had such an enjoyable stay and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Enrica, Guest relations

London, UK
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

I only booked this hotel because it was available through a booking engine I wanted to use to get a bunch of air miles. It was their chance to impress me for return custom: they didn't . Although the hotel was lightly booked, I discovered from the delightfully mumsy lady in charge of breakfasts - the staff throughout were well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheOldTiger
OSHGuestRelations, Front Office Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TheOldTiger, thank you for your review. All your comments will be shared and appropriate action will be taken. Best regards, Katarina Dobociova Front of the House Manager

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

The room was very clean and the room its self nice. Bathroom had a painted metal bath and awful shower pressure. The communal corridors feel like they've not had a refit for years. It was Saturday night and the noise from people partying was so loud we couldn't open the windows. That said it's in the heart of party land...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L B
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear L B, Thank you for your review. We hope you'll change your mind and decide to stay with us on your next visit to Brighton. Kind regards, Enrica, Guest Relations

Faversham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Visited here to have a well deserved refreshment on a very hot day, the service was very good, though a little over priced, but that said it had a good view, decent beer and comfortable chairs overlooking the beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
OSHGuestRelations, Front Office Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bob C, thank you very much for your great review and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Best regards, Katarina Dobociova Front of the House Manager

917 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (627)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Room/Suite (156)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (68)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (262)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (226)
Viewed
Accessible Guest Room (32)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Double Deluxe Room (Sea View) (32)
Viewed
Double Guest Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Superior King Guest Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
Twin Guest Room (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,033 reviews
0.1 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
1.3 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.9 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,133 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: RM418 - RM1,183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Ship Hotel staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Ship Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go to Premier Inn or other similar brand. If not ask for high room in the east wing”
RhysB515, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Stunning views to the front of the hotel but very noisy”
AllyeB, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra and get a sea view room if you are staying for any length of time”
marjthomas, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on seafront can be very noisy, rooms at side are quieter and lovely decor (mine had a seaview as the window protruded!)”
frexibubble, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“Sea-view rooms are rather warm”
kevinl807, 12 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$86* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$87
TravelocityUS$87
TripAdvisorUS$87
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates