We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Steine Hotel

Save
Traveller (126)
Room & Suite (51)
Dining (6)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good31%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“my partner”(40 reviews)
“sea view”(41 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Parking
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (681)
Filter reviews
641 results
Traveller rating
253
202
89
46
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
253
202
89
46
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotel next doormy partnersea viewtop floorsea frontfull englishfriendly hotelroom was clean and comfortablehen partybrighton pierbreakfast was includedfew minutes walkdouble bedtown centrecooked breakfasttea and coffeegullivers
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 641 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Check in was not a good start, there were 3 members of staff - not polite or friendly. They put my payment through and then cancelled it on the card machine and then put it through again (no one explained to me what the issue...More

Thank j0diea0
Response from NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine HotelResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review and I am sorry for any disappointment you encountered. I have asked maintenance to address the issues you had highlighted to ensure they are corrected for future stays and I am sorry that they affected your visit and I will...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for a long weekend with my husband. Ordered deluxe rroom in this little, cozy hotel. It was on 2nd floor, narrow staircase, old carpets. The room had good bed, no coffee or tea maker, good cabinet. Window blinds with one broken rim. Bathroom ok...More

Thank Hrafnhildur S
Response from NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine HotelResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review and I am sorry if you felt your experience was not of a higher standard. All our rooms come with tea/coffee making facilities and I am sorry if the person checking you in did not point that out for you,...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arriving early we were advised that we couldn't check in till 2pm. Signed relevant paperwork then went off to explore. When we returned at 3pm, we were advised that all rooms had been allocated and all they could offer was a small double, I...More

Thank Lisa W
Response from NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and I am sorry if you were not happy with the room. Being an older Georgian Building all our rooms are of slightly differing sizes and arrangements, and I am sorry if you were allocated one of the smaller rooms...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from a weekend break here. Room ok, bathroom very nice, shower ok, TV turned black and had sound only after first day. On first night realised a lot of noise in room from upstairs , although bearable. Breakfast first morning was fine, although...More

Thank MGelder
Response from NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and I am sorry for any issues you had at breakfast. We do have managers on who are supposed to monitor and maintain service, so we will be speaking with them to ensure they are present and assisting and I...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the room I was given was a basement room with my knees touching the radiator when I sat on the toilet the bed was comfortable it had a over the bed light that was very low so every time I sat up i banged my...More

Thank lorraecc
Response from NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and I am sorry if you felt disappointed with any element of your stay with us. With regards the breakfast, we can provide a breakfast earlier than 8am if you pre-book with Reception, and we are happy to offer this...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$75 - US$187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$75 - US$187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (126)
Room & Suite (51)
Dining (6)
Pool & Beach (5)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
fiona m
6 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Geraldine O | Reviewed this property |
I'm sure one would be available on request.
1
Vote
Calli L
14 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Mercman2014 | Reviewed this property |
Breakfast was excellent... and seemed constantly good across all tables. Although we didn't eat dinner here the restaurant was busy.
1
Vote
Emily F
19 March 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jane B | Reviewed this property |
We had no problem parking we only drove around the block once and got a space and whilst we were parking other cars were going, so I would say drive.
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Stay at a different hotel."
Read review
"do not except a basement room as passerby's can look into your room"
Read review
"I think it is possible to get a slight sea view if you get a room at the front of the hotel. Rooms at the..."
Read review
"we had a room facing back but I expect front facing is nicer"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing