We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coward's Guest House

Save
Traveller (9)
Room & Suite (21)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent81%
  • Very good15%
  • Average1%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“guest house”(18 reviews)
“full english”(10 reviews)
“great location”(14 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
97
19
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
97
19
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housefull englishgreat locationgreat hostsbreakfast roombars and restaurantsmy partnervisit brightonironing boardset you up for the daytop floora lovely stayparking permitroom was spotlessly cleanshort strolltown centreexcellent breakfast
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having read all the 5-star reviews, I was a bit disappointed by my stay at Coward’s. Positives: it’s very clean and the hosts are very nice and welcoming. Didn’t stay for breakfast so can’t comment on that. Downsides: the room wasn’t en suite (hadn’t clocked...More

Thank Veronica R
Response from Melina D, Owner at Coward's Guest HouseResponded 2 weeks ago

We are sorry that you were a bit disappointed following your visit, but feel that your review was unfair. We make it very clear on our website, and the site you booked on, that this room is not fully ensuite, and there are photos showing...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This has to be the best B&B I have ever stayed at. I was in Brighton for a friends wedding. The owners were relaxed, friendly, and the best hosts. Its situated within skipping distance from the beach, and two minutes walk from the shops and...More

Thank Mahoo75
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

I stayed here in order to attend the Labour conference at the Brighton Centre. Location wise it was great for this as I could walk in and it was also easy to get buses or taxis, in fact on the return journey the bus actually...More

Thank Helen I
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

I was running the marathon and needed a room that was comfortable and clean for a good nights sleep the night before and this bnb didn't disappoint. Such lovely hosts who are good at what they do, and clearly love what they do. It was...More

1  Thank Sam B
Reviewed 19 February 2018

What a lucky find Cowards Guest House was. Ideally situated 5 minutes from the seafront. Our room was spacious , spotlessly clean and comfortable with everything you could possibly need to hand ( Iron ,Ironing Board , Hairdryer etc ). The hosts Melina and Julie...More

1  Thank Jainye J
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Brighton
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Details
Price range
US$92 - US$167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$92 - US$167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (9)
Room & Suite (21)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jacqui H
28 October 2016|
Answer
Response from Blaise E | Reviewed this property |
You can definitely stay for one night only, as that's what we did. Don't know current price.
0
Votes
RobinS57
4 February 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from chunkie | Reviewed this property |
Purchase permits from the hotel and you can then park on the street outside (or surrounding roads, check which ones with hotel), spaces can be limited at times. Permits are a cheaper option, rather then feeding the meters... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"probably the front room as it has views"
Read review
"There is no lift. If you are less mobile you may need to ask for a first floor room?"
Read review
"check the location of your room as there is no lift (though there are only 6 rooms in total (3 levels))"
Read review
"You can see the sea from the window table in the breakfast room"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing