We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kipps Backpackers Hostel

76 Grand Parade, Brighton BN2 9JA, England
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Royal Pavilion
    0.2 km
  • 3 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 5 August 2016
Great
The hostel is in a house and it is simple, but very clean. Staff... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kipps Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 144: English reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

The hostel is in a house and it is simple, but very clean. Staff is very nice. There are no lifts, so don't take a huge suitcase. There is a Continental breakfast that costs 3 pounds and it is good value. It is 10 minutes walking from the bus station. Good location

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
Gumbet, Turkey
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

Lovely staff, great location +brilliant facilities, plus clean +well organised. Also possible to buy a parking permit, which is far cheaper for 24hrs of parking than the carparks (as it's right near the coast/town centre the parking is all short pay+display or permits only).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tansy W
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We were 4 friends coming to Brighton for 1 night & we were very pleasantly surprised at how lovely the hostel was. It was more like a hotel. The staff were all very welcoming & carried our bags up to our rooms on arrival. We had the 2 twin rooms on the top floor. The rooms & bed linen were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 23caron
Reviewed 10 July 2016

I was stayed at this hostel twice when i was in Brighton. From the outside it's not much to impress me, but inside is awesome. i felt homely, staff were very friendly. You can get breakfast there but have to pay extra. They clean your room everyday even you are staying there multiple days which is not normal for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dara S
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

Me and my mate booked a double room here as a place to just crash when we went to Wildlife festival so we didn't expect much but we were both really impressed! I have paid a lot more for hotels and not had the same quality service and value for money. I would definitely recommend it, it's location is spot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we exceeded your expectations :) We are happy to read your nice comments, and rating Thanks for taking the time to rate us See you next year !

Clarksville, Tennessee
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

Extremely lovely place for the price, staff was friendly. Common areas were delightful and rooms were cleaned daily. I stayed in a mixed room, everyone was courteous. Three available bathrooms is a great convenience. Location is excellent, very close to the pier. If you can't climb stairs easily, then it may be difficult for you. Unfortunately staff mistook my personal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelr21
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your nice ratings and comments. Re. Towel. When cleaning the room, your towel was picked up by mistake, but when you came to reception to ask, the receptionist said the towel was in the wash, and if you came back later, it would be ready for you to collect, but you never returned. So we still...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

I have been there b4,it's a EXCELLENTLY valuable for money+ clinically clean+cosy+quanty!I adore this place!would highly recommend this place!however;I found myself in a quite delicate situation, this time!As the owner/director Mr Lee(a proper Gentlemen+Adorable+Diplomatic+kind+sweet!they do have almost always new staff;this time I encountered 2youngs male (I beleaves; 1from france+other from italy! BothVery kind+devoted+Diplomatic!Exceptional!Now I had encountered also a Mid age...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joeypim
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Was nice to have you back staying with us again We will take on board all of your comments and we are sorry to hear that you felt one of the staff was a little off with you, during your stay, I am sure this was not her intention, as we are all very focused on customer service at...

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 5 June 2016

I have stayed at Kipps previously and had no hesitation in staying there again. My room, a single, had everything I needed and a lovely view of Brighton. I had a hospitality tray, tv, hairdryer, the bathroom was right next door and the breakfast was delicious. Sadly, the internet would not work in my room despite the friendly staff trying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay A
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for the review and rating. Everyone elses internet was working fine, and we all tried connecting on our phones, and everything worked fast and reliable. Maybe the laptop just needs a little update, to improve the wifi connection. Was nice to have you staying with us for a few nights.

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

We arrived at Kipps on Friday afternoon, check in wasn't until 2 and we were early in but the reception allowed us to store our bags until we came back after lunch and a wander. Upon our return, we were greeted by a friendly lad who gave us a run through of the rules of the hostel and a wee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank demolitiongurl22
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. and your time in Brighton . A nice review, and we will take all your comments on board, even the negative ones :) Thanks

Salford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

Absolutely loved this hostel . We stayed here for a friend's hen do and all the staff have been so friendly and helpful . They always went out of their way to accommodate us and our needs . The communal facilities are fantastic with a lovely modern lounge and balcony : it really added a lovely dimension to our weekend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carly h
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Glad you and the girls had a great weekend at Kipps and in Brighton Glad the Hen Weekend went well. Thanks for taking the time to write up such a nice review :)

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,241 reviews
0.6 km away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
2,098 reviews
0.6 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,061 reviews
0.5 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Kipps Backpackers Brighton We are a small friendly central hostel/backpackers situated opposite the Royal Pavillion/ Gardens and are close to all of Brighton's Main Attractions, including the Brighton Pier, Brighton Wheel The Beach, The Lanes, The Theatres/ Concert Venues and the Gay District. The Train Station and Bus Station are just a few minutes walk away. We offer a very friendly atmosphere, comfortable, budget accommodation with excellent facilities including a licensed bar. We also offer free Wi-Fi Internet throughout and 2x free internet PCs in our games room. Guests can also relax on our terrace or in our lounge area with XBOX/ Wii and Digital TV. We also offer a self catering kitchen. Our Accommodation is available to individuals and group reservations. We have a variety of room types, including - Private Rooms - Single/ Twins to Double Rooms TV, Radio/ CD player, Tea & Coffee making facilities, Shower and Wash basin. We also offer family rooms 3/4 Bedded Rooms. We also offer Dormitory Rooms for larger groups or individuals with ensuite facilities and free security lockers. We have free nightly events at the hostel including pasta nights, pizza nights and XBox Nights. A great way to meet other guests and the staff We look forward to welcoming you to vibrant Brighton and to Kipps Brighton. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kipps Backpackers Hostel

Address: 76 Grand Parade, Brighton BN2 9JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: RM138 - RM463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kipps Backpackers Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Kipps Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kipps Backpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Belfast, United Kingdom
3 months ago
4 months ago
Newport, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Kipps Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“theres a lot of stairs”
 of 5 bubbles Astro916, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Look at the other reviews and short-list this hotel, immediately.”
 of 5 bubbles pjdstewartd40, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“During Fringe week the front rooms are very noisy - and my window did not close completely.”
 of 5 bubbles 77kaya, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Top floor room at back is very quiet. (But there are much more shared bathroom facilities on the floor below).”
 of 5 bubbles MichaelA364, 11 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Book ahead as it gets really busy!”
 of 5 bubbles roxanai565, 12 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5