We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kipps Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Kipps Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kipps Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 138: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

I have been there b4,it's a EXCELLENTLY valuable for money+ clinically clean+cosy+quanty!I adore this place!would highly recommend this place!however;I found myself in a quite delicate situation, this time!As the owner/director Mr Lee(a proper Gentlemen+Adorable+Diplomatic+kind+sweet!they do have almost always new staff;this time I encountered 2youngs male (I beleaves; 1from france+other from italy! BothVery kind+devoted+Diplomatic!Exceptional!Now I had encountered also a Mid age...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joeypim
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Was nice to have you back staying with us again We will take on board all of your comments and we are sorry to hear that you felt one of the staff was a little off with you, during your stay, I am sure this was not her intention, as we are all very focused on customer service at...

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 5 June 2016

I have stayed at Kipps previously and had no hesitation in staying there again. My room, a single, had everything I needed and a lovely view of Brighton. I had a hospitality tray, tv, hairdryer, the bathroom was right next door and the breakfast was delicious. Sadly, the internet would not work in my room despite the friendly staff trying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay A
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for the review and rating. Everyone elses internet was working fine, and we all tried connecting on our phones, and everything worked fast and reliable. Maybe the laptop just needs a little update, to improve the wifi connection. Was nice to have you staying with us for a few nights.

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

We arrived at Kipps on Friday afternoon, check in wasn't until 2 and we were early in but the reception allowed us to store our bags until we came back after lunch and a wander. Upon our return, we were greeted by a friendly lad who gave us a run through of the rules of the hostel and a wee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank demolitiongurl22
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. and your time in Brighton . A nice review, and we will take all your comments on board, even the negative ones :) Thanks

Salford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

Absolutely loved this hostel . We stayed here for a friend's hen do and all the staff have been so friendly and helpful . They always went out of their way to accommodate us and our needs . The communal facilities are fantastic with a lovely modern lounge and balcony : it really added a lovely dimension to our weekend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carly h
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Glad you and the girls had a great weekend at Kipps and in Brighton Glad the Hen Weekend went well. Thanks for taking the time to write up such a nice review :)

Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

Located 5 minutes from Brighton Pier and just across Royal Pavilion this very small hotel is a great and cost-efficient option for meeting participants. To Brighton Conference Center is a slow 10-12 minutes walk. Room 1 at second floor has an optimal location because it faces the inner cortyard not the busy street.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Calulag6
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Glad you enjoyed the Kipps Experience. Thanks for the lovely rating and comments....

Reviewed 30 April 2016

We stayed here for our anniversary and thought it was a brilliant little hostel. Our room was small, but then we only needed it for sleeping and it was beautifully decorated. The night we stayed happened to be pancake night! Free pancakes all round! They also had lots of other theme nights throughout the week which seemed brilliant! The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your nice comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and the nightly events Remember book direct with us next time, and you will get a 10% discount, and we can also upgrade you to our ensuite double room !!! Hopefully see you soon Kipps

Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

Very clean bright and airy rooms with friendly helpful staff. Central location close to everything - shops, pier and restaurants. Breakfast was basic but will definitely stay again. Am already planning my next trip!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerri O
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Glad you loved the place :) Plan your next trip, we are waiting to welcome you back !! Kipps

Reviewed 31 March 2016

The hostel was very clean and well maintained. The lounge area, whilst a little small, is well decorated and feels very homey. The breakfast (not free but cheap) was very nice with a good range of cereals, bread and baked goods, juices, coffee and tea. The room was clean and warm (we visited in winter). There were storage lockers but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katsucurry
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your nice comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us over the winter period Come back in the summer :) Kipps

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

Excellent staff, outstanding service and very clean rooms and facilities. Free Wifi is working great, two desktops at proposal, lots of games to play. Every night from 6-8 pm a special treat. Loved the pancakes yesterday. Will definitely return and also check out other Kipps.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cheminsousvoie
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

An Outstanding review and rating :) Thanks We hope you will return soon too Enjoy your travels Kipps

Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

I was booked in here the staff are not friendly they follow you around the place. is clean apart from the toilets breakfast is poor with out of date scones and the bedroom to hot and offer free food on a night if you can get any. Last resort stay go Elise where where they make you welcome

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulYoung80
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi its a shame when guests leave a poor review as a way of getting back at the hostel, when the hostel is not at fault, and the customer is actually at fault. You were asked to leave the hostel, and fully refunded, after you become abusive to a staff member and other guests complained about your behaviour. You never...

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,184 reviews
0.6 km away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
2,073 reviews
0.6 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,039 reviews
0.5 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Kipps Backpackers Brighton We are a small friendly central hostel/backpackers situated opposite the Royal Pavillion/ Gardens and are close to all of Brighton's Main Attractions, including the Brighton Pier, Brighton Wheel The Beach, The Lanes, The Theatres/ Concert Venues and the Gay District. The Train Station and Bus Station are just a few minutes walk away. We offer a very friendly atmosphere, comfortable, budget accommodation with excellent facilities including a licensed bar. We also offer free Wi-Fi Internet throughout and 2x free internet PCs in our games room. Guests can also relax on our terrace or in our lounge area with XBOX/ Wii and Digital TV. We also offer a self catering kitchen. Our Accommodation is available to individuals and group reservations. We have a variety of room types, including - Private Rooms - Single/ Twins to Double Rooms TV, Radio/ CD player, Tea & Coffee making facilities, Shower and Wash basin. We also offer family rooms 3/4 Bedded Rooms. We also offer Dormitory Rooms for larger groups or individuals with ensuite facilities and free security lockers. We have free nightly events at the hostel including pasta nights, pizza nights and XBox Nights. A great way to meet other guests and the staff We look forward to welcoming you to vibrant Brighton and to Kipps Brighton. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kipps Backpackers Hostel

Address: 76 Grand Parade, Brighton BN2 9JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: RM124 - RM421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kipps Backpackers Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Kipps Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kipps Backpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 months ago
2 months ago
Newport, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Kipps Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Look at the other reviews and short-list this hotel, immediately.”
 of 5 bubbles pjdstewartd40, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“During Fringe week the front rooms are very noisy - and my window did not close completely.”
 of 5 bubbles 77kaya, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Top floor room at back is very quiet. (But there are much more shared bathroom facilities on the floor below).”
 of 5 bubbles MichaelA364, 11 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Book ahead as it gets really busy!”
 of 5 bubbles roxanai565, 12 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Room at the front of the building suffer from traffic noise deep in to the night.”
 of 5 bubbles T8941QTkateb, 18 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay