We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Fleece at Cirencester

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Fleece at Cirencester
The Fleece at Cirencester
Panoramas (48)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

590 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 581: English reviews
Start your review of The Fleece at Cirencester
 Click to rate
CevCev
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Staff made us feel very welcome. Quirky rooms, not your average uniform Premier Inn affair. Decor getting slightly tired now, have stayed before. Evening meal was fine for us, specials were all good. Breakfast was good as well all freshly cooked with a good choice. So I'm not in line with the previous reviews. Good if you like character rooms,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CevCev
Fleece C, Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Fleece, we will look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed just one night. Bedroom was fine, bed comfy and bedding clean. Bathroom was tired. Hook had been pulled off the door leaving a big hole, shower old and a little mouldy. Toiletries minimal and 2-3 star standard. One shower gel and one shampoo. Nothing else. Bar area was reasonably busy. Bar staff were friendly, waiting staff unhelpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lara Y
Fleece C, Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. I'm sorry that the room didn't live up to your expectations. We take all feedback very seriously and I have spoken with housekeeping and maintenance in order to rectify the concerns you have raised. With regard to our staff, we run an ongoing training programme in order to raise standards both professionally and visibly. I...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited here for lunch with the family. The setting was lovely and the service was really good. My wife had been before and was really impressed with the lunchtime menu. I cannot eat wheat but I try to avoid gluten-free, preferring to eat food that just does not have wheat in it in the first place (and so does...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matt H
Fleece C, Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for the review. I'm sorry that you didn't have the experience that you were looking for during your visit to the fleece but I'm glad that you brought this to our attention. I can assure you that we do take all reviews very seriously and I hope that you can visit us again and give us...

Burnley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had dinner on Wednesday. Steak and chips was fantastic but the choice language from a party spoilt it. They were well oiled. I would go back for the good but I think I would check 1st to see if any parties were in again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
Fleece C, Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review

We're glad you enjoyed your food at the Fleece, I'm sorry about the language you experienced, it's something we definitely don't encourage. I do hope it hasn't put you off coming back and we will look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights the other weekend and enjoyed our weekend in Cirencester. The reception is a corner of the bar which is fine if it's quiet but not ideal otherwise. Our room was small and having seen other rooms I wish we'd kicked up a bit of a fuss. Breakfast was excellent on the Saturday with an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vonireland
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This review is long overdue. Occasionally coming to Cirencester for work, I've stayed at the Fleece many times over the last 2 years. The place is lovely, homely and welcoming and the rooms have recently had an update whilst keeping the traditional feel. Staff are excellent; It doesn't matter whether it's a long-serving member or a holiday part-timer, they have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maverick598
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I were sorely disappointed here. Will start by saying that in every respect all the staff we met were great; attentive, polite, friendly and efficient, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. There isn't anything else positive to say. Our "executive" room was tired with battered furnishings and flaking walls and ceilings. The carpet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

I'd say The Fleece would be lovely to visit for drinks or food but that's where it stops. Our overnight room was tired, the bathroom very dusty and unclean, plus the bedroom had signs of wear which made it look quite tired. I had read similar reviews before and emailed the hotel enquiring about a 'character room' however nobody got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chloe10821
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

My friend and I had a lovely lunch at The Fleece. We both chose haddock and chips which were very enjoyable. The Fleece isn't a cheap and cheerful place but it's great for a more 'special' meal. Obviously, many people agree as the pub was very busy. I would highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C O
London
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Stayed here for 1 night . Stayed in standered room which was very comfortable and clean friendly staff . The breakfast was very good dinning areas were comfortable. Good location lovely town with nice shops . Would recommend .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B

228 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (145)
Viewed
Character Double Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (21)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cirencester
0.0 km away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
683 reviews
0.5 km away
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
290 reviews
1.8 km away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Premier Inn Cirencester Town Centre
6.0 km away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
537 reviews
10.3 km away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Fleece at Cirencester
The Fleece at Cirencester
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in the busy market town of Cirencester, The Fleece is perfectly positioned to enjoy both town and country. However you spend your day, you'll be able to enjoy a relaxing night's sleep in our cosy and comfortable guest rooms. All 28 bedrooms are full of charm and character. Their decor and furnishings resemble a charming Cotswold style, yet the original, quirky features that you would expect a building from 1650 to have been maintained in our rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Fleece at Cirencester

Address: 41 Market Place | 41 Dyer Street, Cirencester GL7 2NZ, England (Formerly Jarvis Fleece Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester
Price Range: RM496 - RM716 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fleece at Cirencester 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Fleece at Cirencester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fleece At Cirencester Hotel Cirencester
Hotel Jarvis Fleece
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Fleece at Cirencester staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Leicester/Lagos
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Fleece at Cirencester staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for a room numbered 20 or above ideally as these tend to be cooler in the summer.”
Maverick598, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had a room at front of hotel a little noise from people passing late in evening but not a problem .”
997ElizabethB997, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All Standards are ok, if fussy go for superior!”
415vinceg, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 3 1st floor.”
992jacquelineh, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 10, it was over the kitchen fan which was a bit noisy...all my friends remarked on how quiet their rooms were though.”
Linda_Laleston, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5