We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sheep on Sheep Street

Booking.comUS$93*
View Deal
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 139: English reviews
Start your review of Sheep on Sheep Street
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Having stayed for 2 nights August 2016 for our Anniversary loved the place, having the nibbles in the garden, breakfast and pizza one night. Couldn't fault the food and staff. We were staying in Kingham with my 86 year old Mum for a few days, having received an email offer regarding a Mother's Day special menu thought we would take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phojespa
gmU1543WH, General Manager at Sheep on Sheep Street, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments and I am sorry to see that you did not have a nice experience on Sunday. I would like to have the opportunity to discuss your experience further and I would much appreciate if you could contact me directly at the Sheep please. Warm Regards Anna General Manager

United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here Cheltenham Races Week, so expected it to be busy especially breakfast time as everyone leaving together. Could have done with extra staff in the mornings as service slow and noticed some people had to leave before their breakfast came, as running late we were fine though as allowed enough time. (Breakfast good) Rooms where very good as all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colinhC9185UG
gmU1543WH, General Manager at Sheep on Sheep Street, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments. The Sheep has been recently refurbished in high standards and we do receive many compliments for our unique design. Some of our guests prefer the continental breakfast than the cooked breakfast for various reasons and please keep in mind that our cooked breakfast is a la minute and not pre cooked and then...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Had a really good time the hotel was really nice and the food was really good.. always love it when there is a nespresso machine in the room 👍. Only down point was the service at breakfast was a little slow as there was only 1 person dealing with everyone.. The staff were aware of this and were very apologetic.....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
gmU1543WH, General Manager at Sheep on Sheep Street, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments and I am glad to see that you will be retuning at the Sheep. Warm Regards Anna General Manager

Stow-on-the-Wold, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having once had a poor experience when booking a table to eat in the restaurant of sheep on sheep I decided to book in person with the manager explaining that it was a special occasion where three birthdays were occurring and therefore we needed to have a table to seat six people in the main restaurant .we were duly allocated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank davieyy65
gmU1543WH, General Manager at Sheep on Sheep Street, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments and I am sorry to see that you were not happy with the table you have been allocated. We never guarantee specific tables however we do allocate tables big enough for our diners to enjoy their meal. My sincere apologies to see that we let you down in front of your guests and...

Letchworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Poor Front Desk service; confused restaurant service; poor bar stock; dirty rooms ...... like many people, we have friends that quite a distance, so we meet up half way. This time we chose the Sheep on Sheep Street, bad move!!!! We was greeted to a front of desk member of staff that appeared to be somewhat confused and unable to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tony S
gmU1543WH, General Manager at Sheep on Sheep Street, responded to this review

Dear Tony S Thank you for your comments and I am sorry to see that you did not enjoy your time with us. Your wife did send already an email to me which I already replied however should you wish to discuss your experience further please contact me directly. Warm Regards Anna General Manager

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner & I have stayed here twice now (Nov 2016 & Jan 2017) and so feel it is time to review the said Venue. The first time we stayed, we were just visiting Stow on the Wold and decided that we would quite like to stay the night. We walked into reception and the staff could not have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ceilidh2016
gmU1543WH, General Manager at Sheep on Sheep Street, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. At the Sheep all guest feedback is taken immensely seriously so we can review and continuously improve the guest experience at the hotel. I am glad to see that you saw that improvements took place since your last visit and I am delighted that we...

Cambridge
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped here for lunch on our way home from Cheltenham. Nice feel to the place modern with an eclectic mix of decor. Nice bright dining area and open view pizza oven. Ordered two pizzas with different toppings. Both worked well and enjoyed. Nice to have something different than the same old pizza toppings! Although did ask for the pizzas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
gmU1543WH, General Manager at Sheep on Sheep Street, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments. I am happy to see that overall you had a lovely time. Warm Regards Anna General Manager

Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Impromptu visit to Stow-on-the-Wold and found a place that had an indoor pizza oven. Kooolio. Why would you try and make a change to why people love pizza. The taste carrdombination works. Don't send a pizza out undercooked and stick to tomato and cheese base with lots of add ons. Chilli jam !!!!!!!! Really tasty and a great idea. But...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doc B
gmU1543WH, General Manager at Sheep on Sheep Street, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments. I am surprised to see that you found the pizza undercooked, we are well known for our great pizzas and fabulous flavours. Perhaps next time you visit the Sheep you can request your own toppings and the Chef on duty will be happy to put together. Warn Regards Anna General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed our visit this evening to Sheep on Sheep Street. For a Tuesday evening, it was surprisingly busy, but the staff were very good and food delicious. The property has been renovated and provides a warm, relaxed and well designed space. Although there was a separate gluten free main course menu, the gluten free offering for dessert was extremely limited...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smarty932
gmU1543WH, General Manager at Sheep on Sheep Street, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments and I am happy to see that you enjoyed our ambience and food. I have shared your comments with my Head Chef who will look into adding more gluten free desserts in the menu. I am looking forward to welcoming back very soon. Warm Regards Anna General Manager

Cheshire, England
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a great find. We booked in for one night at VERY shorty notice and arrived tired and hungry at 8pm on Saturday night. We were greeted by a very friendly lady called Lindsey, who booked us in, organised us a table for dinner ( even though the restaurant was packed), showed us to our room and was then found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank perrylees
gmU1543WH, General Manager at Sheep on Sheep Street, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your great comments!! I am delighted to see that you had a fabulous time with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warm Regards Anna General Manager

196 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (152)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Cosy Double Room (18)
Viewed
Premium Honeymoon Suite (26)
Viewed
Premiun Room (31)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Superior Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
1.4 km away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
935 reviews
3.4 km away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,357 reviews
0.2 km away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,070 reviews
0.3 km away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
300 reviews
6.7 km away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sheep on Sheet Street revealed its new look, along with its new name in July 2016. The Sheep brings a new dimension to eating and drinking in the Cotswolds, as well as a little Soho style too. Located in the heart of Stow on the Wold, stay in one of our wonderfully comfortable twenty-two en suite rooms. All the rooms are decorated to a high standard, offering a comfy place to stay. Their sophisticated simplicity gives them a luxurious feel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sheep on Sheep Street

Address: Stow-on-the-Wold GL45 1AG, England (Formerly Grapevine Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: RM475 - RM977 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheep on Sheep Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sheep on Sheep Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sheep on Sheep Street staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Sheep on Sheep Street staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 6 was perfect”
 of 5 bubbles 410clarem, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“One with a large bed”
 of 5 bubbles BindiB, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back will be quieter, but you won't see the lovely buildings on the main street”
 of 5 bubbles ITslave, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Probably over the back but I did not see any view other than from my room”
 of 5 bubbles Candy2214, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 12 at the front had a good view. Although overlooking the street, it was not noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles OverLH, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$93* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$93
Expedia.comUS$93
Hotels.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates