We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,010: English reviews
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very basic as it is a budget hotel. No tea making facilities or frills. Very clean with a comfortable bed. We stayed 5 nights. Breakfast and coffee available is extra but sufficent. good shower in a pod in the room. Staff very accommodating and friendly. We have stayed here before. Big Tesco Extra next door. 10 mins walk to Fratton... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ann R
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hotel was clean just a shame the reception area was full off what looked like drop outs with drink problems and my room was next to generator so no sleep (rm 105) rooms were clean and staff very nice .. got full refund in the end

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank jenniferlO8355XF
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, Reception Team Leader at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear jenniferlO8355XF, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. I am sorry that your night's sleep was disturbed by the noise you describe but pleased that you were happy with the full refund that our staff actioned directly following your check out. We appreciate your having brought the matter to our attention. Best... More 

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Rooms very bland. It was very clean and the staff were very polite and friendly. The room did exactly what it says on the tin. No frills. If you're on a course and just want somewhere to lay your head and are not worried about luxury then this is the one for you.

Helpful?
Thank albarney599
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, Reception Team Leader at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear albarney599, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about you recent stay. I am pleased to know that your requirements were met during you time with us and hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back again soon and that on that occasion, we are able to exceed your expectations. Kind regards, Agatha... More 

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just got back from nights stay here with family, rooms comfortable and despite what others have said the showers are fine. Food menu limited but reasonably priced with large portions, recommend the Nachos and the cheese burger. B/ fast is self service and plentiful. We had a minor issue after check in and the staff were very apologetic and helpful.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jim B
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good value very clean and tidy comfy bed, couldn't fault the hotel. Friendly staff convenient for Fratton Station. Will stay again The only grip I had was no Tea or Coffee facilities in the room I like to have a hot drink as soon as I wake.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Steve D
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, Reception Team Leader at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Steve D, Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will stay again soon. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Agatha Reception Team Leader More 

Leicestershire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have given a Very Good rating because you get what it says on the can - a budget hotel. Adequate bedrooms but few facilities. Take a travel kettle. Situated next to football stadium but has good sound insulation. Some distance from historic dockyard etc but good bus and rail links (regular trains from local station are a bargain). Car... More 

Helpful?
Thank J&JBLeics
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, Reception Team Leader at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear J&JBLeics, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. I am glad to know that you were satisfied with the service and facilities on offer at the Ibis Budget Portsmouth. We hope that you will stay again soon and look forward to the opportunity to exceed your expectations. Kind regards, Agatha Reception Team... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel itself is all you need it to be and what you expect for an ibis budget - small but perfectly formed rooms for the price you pay it's all you need - nice big double bed - desk, TV, surprisingly powerful shower and separate toilet. The real bonus to this place though are the staff! I checked in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kellyfer
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, Reception Team Leader at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear kellyfer, Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you (and your dog) will stay again soon. We look forward to making you feel welcome on that occasion. Kind regards, Agatha Reception Team Leader More 

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Where do I start I had to go to a funeral in Portsmouth I booked on line all I wanted was somewhere to sleep paid 2 weeks in advance I booked in at 2 O C went to my room change left my clothes in the room along with my toiletries went to my funeral when I came back tried... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank tsoesman
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, Reception Team Leader at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear tsoesman, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am disappointed to read that your experience wasn't a positive one. The incident you describe is neither ordinary nor something that could have been anticipated. Unfortunately, the computer system allocated a room that did not correspond to the number you have your keycard activated for on check... More 

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ideal to stay for one night but no longer. The first place that I have ever stayed at where there is no tea or coffee making facilities in your room. My room (313), was basic with a seperate toilet, the hand basin is in the same area as the shower and bed. No food available in the evening but Mc... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Paul W, Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay with us. All our rooms are en-suite. However shower and toilet are separate inside the bedroom. May I also take this opportunity to inform you that tea/coffee making facilities are not provided in the bedrooms of any Ibis Budget Hotels. Thank you once... More 

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.8 km away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,353 reviews
4.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
1.7 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,079 reviews
5.9 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel
2.3 km away
Travelodge Portsmouth
Travelodge Portsmouth
#24 of 38 in Portsmouth
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
WAQAS BIN TAHIR, the manager of the Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth hotel, would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth is a low-cost hotel situated in Fratton, 5 minutes walking distance of Fratton Train Station, close to Pompey FC, Portsmouth City Centre. Great proximity to the beach, shopping and nightlife of the town. All 120 guest rooms are 100% non-smoking and has en-suite shower, air cooling as well as flat screen TV with Freeview. As much as you can eat continental breakfast buffet is served every morning at £5.50. Free Wi-Fi available for all guests. Free offsite parking at B&Q opposite the hotel (permit is required from reception). Limited onsite parking on first come first serve basis. Ferry Terminals, Gunwharf, Guildhall, Spinnaker Tower, D-Day Museum and Historic Dockyards are 10 minutes away by car or taxi for those who would like to explore beautiful Portsmouth. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth

Address: 4 The Pompey Centre Fratton Way | Fratton Way, Portsmouth PO4 8SL, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Portsmouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: RM163 - RM387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Portsmouth
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are the same layout but some with family rooms, double and twin”
 of 5 bubbles AnnR310, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for quiet room on high floor, not facing stadium”
 of 5 bubbles J&JBLeics, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Quiet, accessible...”
 of 5 bubbles 661janetem, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“South side rooms overlook private apartments. Noise was a slight problem.”
 of 5 bubbles Kerosene_Bob, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in 221, seems quiet”
 of 5 bubbles JoK815, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay