We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

892 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Portsmouth
See the most recent reviews
Showing 862: English reviews
Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2015

The outside could do with a face lift as you could mistake it for a block of flats however much better inside;air con fantastic throughout building, very welcome. Free wifi for ihg rewards member,leisure complex good. Lounge/bar area spacious but bar prices expensive, although service good. Staff welcoming, rooms spotless if a little compact. Car park very handy but above...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikki J
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Nikki J Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thankyou for your positive comments about all the facilities within the hotel. The hotel was built in the 1970's, hence the look of the building but we have to do the best with...

watford
Reviewed 18 June 2015

this hotel is clean tidy rooms spotless staff all ways helpful .The food in the restaurant is spot on the breakfast you wont need to eat all day great food and service .There is a large car park on site the pool is great very clean and tidy .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mickwatford
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear mickwatford, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit. Thankyou for all your positive comments - customer service and experience is of utmost importance to us and without your feedback we wouldn't be able to continually improve our standards. Your review...

Reviewed 16 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed in quite a few holiday inn's but this seems worse than others, main meals were adequate but service slow although staff were friendly, room was clean and comfy but daily service wasn't up to scratch really, had to ask for tea and milk to be replaced. On checking in given the key cards and they didn't work on three...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie195888
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Annie195888, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed Southsea but I'm sorry the hotel wasn't as good as you expected. I will pass on your comments to the relevant managers to iron out the issues. That sounds very out of character for the reception staff...

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2015

Nothing particularly wrong with this hotel, but it is extremely poor value for money: We have spent less for equivalent rooms in London, Paris, Gothenberg, San Francisco, and in fact just about everywhere else we have stayed. We met friends who arrived by ferry and who did not have a car. If you have a car stay out of town...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank taugei61
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear taugei, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the hotel and felt that it was overpriced. With regards to the internet, free Wi-Fi is available to all our IHG Rewards Club members - signing up is a quick and easy process, membership takes effect...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2015

Stayed here for a wedding for two nights and whilst the location was very good there were lots of annoying things. Had to queue up at reception for check-in as there was only one member of staff available ... no apology for the delay. The room was quite tired and the fan in the shower didn't work. At breakfast the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank localfoodiea
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear localfoodiea, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I'm sorry to hear that the only positive aspect of your stay was the location of the hotel. I will be speaking to the front desk manager and ensuring he does more customer service training with his team - please accept my apologies on the...

Horley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2015

Nicely located close to the sea front and 10 mins walk to the gun wharf quays with its shops and restaurants and close to the ferry for the Isle of Wight. Walking distance to Southsea, which is why we chose to stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Agnieszka Z
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Agnieszka Z, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. Thankyou for your positive feedback with regards to our location, I hope you enjoyed all the local amenities and had a pleasant stay in the hotel. Thankyou again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Emily Archer-Perkins

Washington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2015 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on business for 1 night in June 2015. Staff were unfriendly on the reception desk, everything seemed to be too much trouble for them. For example, I asked if they had my ihg members number on the booking and I was met with the slamming of a stapler and grunting. I also asked for a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank swb84
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear swb84, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I'm very sorry to hear about your stay and how disappointing it was for you. It is most out of character for the reception staff to be unfriendly so please accept my apologies on their behalf. I will try and find out who it was...

St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2015

After reading previous reviews I did not have high expectations when I was told I'd be staying here while working in Portsmouth. I stayed on the sixth floor and stayed in an average sized room and the if people think the bathrooms were small here they should stay at the Ibis near the university to appreciate how much smaller a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 146tomm
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Tom M, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. We are delighted to her that we exceeded your expectations during your recent visit. Thankyou for your positive feedback about the food at breakfast and it's great that you had the opportunity to take advantage of the health club facilities. I'm sorry to hear...

Reviewed 9 June 2015 via mobile

Some friends were staying in the hotel so we arranged to meet them there . We Would not have thought to go there had we not been invited but we enjoyed our evening and the food and service was good .. We will be back and we will be telling friends to visit ......................

 Report
Helpful?
Thank myers1975
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear myers1975, Thankyou for taking the time to review your time at Holiday Inn Portsmouth. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal here with friends. Thankyou for your positive comments about the food and the service, it makes all the hard work worthwhile. Thankyou again and we hope to welcome you back in the future and for...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2015

There is no excuse for any hotel, let alone a Holiday Inn, to put guests in a room with a dirty bathroom. I wouldn't use the bath it was so stained and dirty, the toilet pan was cracked and the sink plug had a rim of grime around the inside. There was an air vent with 1/2 an inch of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hannahh2012
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear hannahh2012, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I'm so sorry to hear about your experience. I will be speaking to the Housekeeping manager and ensure she sees your review. You didn't mention which rooms you were in so I can't go and investigate for myself but I will most certainly be looking...

146 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (107)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
0:41
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
6.5 km away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,082 reviews
6.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,018 reviews
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
0.8 km away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located near the seafront in Portsmouth in the heart of Hampshire within easy access of the M27 MotorwayOnly a five minute walk from Old Portsmouth where you can spend a nautical day discovering the famous Historic Dockyard and ships HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and the Mary RoseThe leisure and shopping destination Gunwharf Quays near the Spinnaker Tower is set on the waterfront and minutes from the hotel with designer label stores, cinema, bowling alley, comedy club and numerous bars and restaurants. Port Solent is one of the south coast s most impressive marinas with shops, restaurants, bars and a cinemaThe hotel consists of 165 en-suite fully air conditioned bedrooms, Spirit Health Club, Academy Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and Lounge AreaThe excellent accommodation has all the comforts you would expect from a first class hotel including interactive TV's with movies and Play Station Games and high speed internet accessThe facilities include Restaurant, 24 hour Room Service, Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with gym, indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. The hotel has 9 conference and training rooms and can accommodate from 2-150 delegates in the fully air-conditioned Academy Conference Centre with wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Accessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply)The hotel has limited onsite parking but can supply permits for in house guest for the ample parking surrounding hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Address: Pembroke Road, Portsmouth PO1 2TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: RM436 - RM798 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Portsmouth staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Telford, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Portsmouth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All very standard, go cheap and eat elsewhere.”
 of 5 bubbles Plashfacker, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Park early to get a space, and avoid trees laden with seagulls.”
 of 5 bubbles BerkshireTravelHog, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room on the upper floors 429/529 amazing views!”
 of 5 bubbles S8063OQmariaa, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“upstairs,at the back away from the road. yes, very quiet there”
 of 5 bubbles 831howardb, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Park on side street less hassle ( get ticket from hotel)”
 of 5 bubbles GeorgyP421, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay