We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,142: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Failed to mention the £7 a day parking fee when booking which was a shock when turning up. Hotel is also very noisy. It's beside a large retail park and take away/restaurant area which made it loud very late into the night. Rooms were however quite nice for the amount paid!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review

Dear Alex B, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. I am sorry that you found the parking fee a shock. As far as I am aware, all the channels via which guests are able to book at our hotel explicitly mention that parking is not free. I will certainly check again and...

Exeter, United Kingdom
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Excellent value for an overnight city hotel. Handy for the theatre, eating places and a car park right opposite, with a discount for hotel guests. Clean bright room, love the bathroom 'pods'. Helpful staff, although rather difficult to understand sometimes.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thegizzies
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review

5 stars!!! Thank you Thegizzies! I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay in Southampton. All the best Raphaella Yver

Mandurah, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very quiet with a small but comfortable room. Tv and free wifi but no kettle in the room. Large car park at a fee. Close to the coach station and shopping centre. A good place to stay for a short period of time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Advisor_Jess
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review

Dear Advisor_Jess, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. I hope that you will stay again soon and look forward to hosting you for what, I am certain, will be an entirely flawless experience. Kind regards, Agatha General Manager

Zonhoven, Belgium
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is perfect if you don't want to spend a lot of money and only need the basics, I usually stay in these hotels for 1 or 2 nights because I only need the room to take a shower and sleep. The location is near the main road and there is plenty of space to park your car (extra...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JGADV
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review

Dear JGADV, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to know that your requirements were met on your recent stay. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Agatha General Manager

Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is not as good as it used to be . Bedrooms in need of some attention and attracting the wrong sort of person on a Saturday night when it was very noisy and the aftermath on Sunday morning was very unpleasant- detritus in the hallways and sick on the stairs!!!

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glynis G
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review

Dear Glynis G, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. I am disappointed to read that your stay was marred by the lack of consideration exhibited by some of the other guests. All aspects of your review are being investigated. I hope that you will stay with us again and I am certain...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very, very basic! It has a large car park - charged at £7 for the night which you have to pay on arrival. The rooms are certainly not that good, decoration and cleaning could be better. No tea or coffee making facilities although there is a machine downstairs which is free - not good when you first wake up in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Magsshutt
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review

Dear Magsshutt, Thank you for letting us know about your stay. Your comments have been noted and we will continue to use such constructive feedback to mold our offering to ensure guest satisfaction. I hope that you will stay again soon and look forward to welcoming you then. Kind regards, Agatha General Manager

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived off the plane late at night looking forward to some well earned rest. Had a shower and went to bed, only to be disturbed 10 minutes later by the most horrendous noise coming from the MacDonalds outlet directly below my window. This was midnight and I'm 4 floors up. I tried to get to sleep amid more shouting and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LillianBob
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review

Dear LillianBob, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am disappointed to read that yours was not a positive experience. Please rest assured that we are making the necessary changes to combat the areas you address over which we have direct influence. With regard to the noise from outside the hotel, we are...

Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed on a saturday night, the hotel was clean and staff were friendly and helpful. However if you only want a few hours sleep this is the place for you, as large groups of young people stay here and come back early hours very drunk shouting and screaming for hours on end. I will never stay here again after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snugglybear
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review

Dear snugglybear, Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I am sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay and doubly so to know that you find you've been charged erroneously for something. Please contact me directly at H6209-gm@accor.com so that we can get to the bottom of this. Kind regards, Agatha Kabayo General Manager

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dreadful place - avoid! Noisy guests up and down the corridor and banging doors til gone midnight. Went to complain to lobby who was playing music. It took 2 complaints to the hotel and then a complaint to Head Office before my complaint was acknowledged. It then took further emails and phone calls to finally get the promised refund. Customer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie N
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review

Dear Jackie N, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. As per my emails to you directly and our phone conversation, I can only apologise for the oversight and the inconvenience you suffered. I can assure you that the view you express is not the case; customer care is paramount. This is a unique...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stay was horrendous, will never, ever stay here again. We have two further stays booked which I intend to cancel. We were kept awake until 4.30am by crowds of people outside the Mcdonalds next to the hotel. This was a cold Tuesday night in February! Reported to management who were not interested. Could not offer us ear plus as they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deborah j
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review

Dear Deborah, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. I am not sure who you spoke to regarding the issue but this is certainly not something that we are taking lightly and nor could you describe the attitude of management at the hotel as 'disinterest' when it comes noise disturbances. I am sorry...

113 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.0 km away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#9 of 24 in Southampton
910 reviews
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.1 km away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
669 reviews
0.8 km away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,604 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Raphaella YVER, the Manager of the Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre is a low-cost hotel situated in central Southampton, close to the shopping and nightlife of Southampton city centre and easily accessible from the M27. The hotel has 124 contemporary guest rooms and is 100% non-smoking. Each room has en-suite shower, air cooling and flat-screen TV with freeview channels. Free WI-FI throughout. 24/7 reception, 24/7 snacks/drinks and as much as you can eat buffet breakfast at £5.50. On-site car-park from £6 for 24 hours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre

Address: 3 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Southampton Centre)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Price Range: RM190 - RM531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Southampton
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Southampton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
DjerbaSperwoman
Cardiff, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Use a different hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles JackieN45, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“impossible to get a good room here”
  • This was the view from my bedroom window. Noise was terrible all night.
 of 5 bubbles 226deborahj, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Just don't go there!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles jdryan2017, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Close to the city centre”
 of 5 bubbles 163jules, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“check ahead to see if a group of students has rented several rooms if so DO NOT STAY HERE”
 of 5 bubbles rlmptl, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5