We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,466 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,395: English reviews
Birmingham
Reviewed 27 October 2015

We stayed here in October 2015 for two nights prior to going on a cruise. We were allocated the Aurora room, which is in what looks to be a row of Georgian townhouses attached to the old coaching inn style part of the hotel. The room itself was well appointed with a comfortable bed, Nespresso machine and complimentary soft drinks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T11254
ECDolphinHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear T11254 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I really appreciate your feedback, it is important to us as it helps to improve the standard of facilities we are able to offer our guests. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay in our Aurora room. Please know I will pass on your feedback...

Reviewed 27 October 2015

Stayed here night before and night after our cruise. Hotel was in a great location, and the staff were really friendly and helpful as we arranged for a ground floor room with no problems. Hotel is round the corner from a variety of bars and restaurants and a short walk from local shops. The breakfast was more than adequate and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pamela S
ECDolphinHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Pamela S We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback especially about the staff. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously...

Reviewed 24 October 2015

Friendly staff, the hotel is right in the middle of town near the shops, monuments and a short taxi ride to the port. At least our room could do with an update, though some people might like it as it is.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yossi S
ECDolphinHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Yossi S Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we really appreciate your feedback as it is important to us. I hope to welcome you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future. Kind regards Charlotte Oake Duty Manager

Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2015 via mobile

This hotel is central. The pictures on the web reflect the view when you enter the room. The bathroom has a contemporary sink that is sloping as if it's about to fall off the wall. The rest of the bathroom would suit a scene on cell block h. It's stark, plain and tatty. The cushion in the bed had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donna p
ECDolphinHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear donna p Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am disappointed to read there were elements of you stay that were not up to our usual high standards in your room for which I apologise. As with all feedback your points will be addressed to help us to evaluate and improve the standards...

Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2015

I can't believe I haven't reviewed this hotel before. We have stayed several times now and have enjoyed each stay very much. The hotel is conveniently located on the High St, and on leaving the hotel a very short stroll takes you through the Bargate and into the main shopping centre. This is an historic hotel, reputedly the oldest in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Netb0y
ECDolphinHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Netb0y Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was really happy to read all of your positive comments about your time with us and your kind words will be passed to the team. With regards to our breakfast, we do have a separate menu from which other items can be ordered and we...

Reviewed 19 October 2015

I was rather stunned to read about the slightly less than positive reviews and thought I should add that though my hubby-to-be and I have yet to stay at their suite, we have been impressed with their service and help. I have had quite a few changes to my seating arrangements and numbers and Nisa, their wedding sales coordinator has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maeria98
ECDolphinHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Maeria98 Firstly Congratulations and many thanks for your review and your nice words about the hotel and the team. Nisa will be really pleased to know how helpful she has been in helping you to arrange your Wedding with us, and knowing how important this day is for you and your hubby-to-be, please know the team will be on...

Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

Fantastic stay once again at the dolphin. As frequent visitors we've never had a problem. Staff are always friendly and willing to help always make an effort with my children down to bringing out plastic children's cutlery to simplify meal times and making sure there's a travel cot in our rooms. Rooms are lovely and cosy and the beds well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emmasmith91
ECDolphinHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Emmasmith91 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It was a pleasure to read and your kind words will be passed to the team. I was really happy to hear that your children were well looked after and hope to welcome you again to the Mercure Dolphin Hotel again soon. Kind Regards Charlotte Oake...

An Accor traveller
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2015

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank An Accor traveller
ECDolphinHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Morecambe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

Check took forever. The room was shabby with curtains hanging from the rail, lamp not working, broken skirting in the bathroom. The shower was fine if you're less than 4 foot. Well they're the good points and now for the bad!! The noise at night is unbelievable - they know about it because they provide ear plugs. They're cheap and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank coleds1
ECDolphinHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear coleds1 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am disappointed to read there were elements of your accommodation that were not up to our usual high standards for which I apologise. These points you have mentioned about your room will be raised with the team so we are able to improve the standard...

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2015

We stayed here for one night prior to a cruise but never again! The initial impression was a tatty way in from a rough car park. The room was small, with pillows on the bed that collapsed when laid upon certainly not a good standard. The shower doors did not close properly and had mould around the edges but even...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Parsnips24
ECDolphinHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Parsnips24 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I would like to apologise for the elements of you stay that were not up to our usual high standard. As with all feedback the points you have raised about the pillows and the bathroom will be addressed with our Maintenance and Housekeeping Team so that...

365 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (335)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (77)
Viewed
Bathroom (37)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (167)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.3 km away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,651 reviews
1.1 km away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
1,615 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
726 reviews
0.4 km away
No photo provided
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
1,078 reviews
0.9 km away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#10 of 24 in Southampton
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel is a stunning Grade II listed 4 star hotel located in the heart of Southampton - offering a modern and contemporary feel, while maintaining its traditional appeal. Perfectly located to explore the historic old town and walls, extensive shopping centre within walking distance and the perfect place to stay before and after your cruise with park and cruise packages available.Free Wifi available throughout the hotel.Privilege rooms now available. On site car parking available however there is a charge for this service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Address: 34 - 35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Price Range: RM344 - RM828 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“DO NOT select ground floor room 7”
philk219, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“This is a quirky hotel, maybe part of the 'fun' is seeing what type of room you get. Of course you can specify weh you get there”
Gwlader, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms that overlook the lane can be noisy due to people walking through the lane.”
nxdriver, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you are a blue badge disability holder - refuse to pay the £5 car park charge”
161janel, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the courtyard facing rooms, don't know about the others”
Daftlad1962, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5