We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sopwell House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sopwell House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,973 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sopwell House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,960: English reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2016

Stayed with my teenage daughter for one night. Thank you for upgrading us to one of the lovely mews suites. The gardens and hydro pool were delightful and a real highlight. Staff and service were excellent as was the food in the Brasserie. We enjoyed the main pool area and would definitely consider staying again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grace F
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your five star review of Sopwell House following your recent visit. I am delighted you were given the opportunity to experience one of our 16 exclusive Mews Suites and am pleased you enjoyed your stay. It is always nice for our hard working and passionate team to be mentioned, and so thank you for taking...

Letchworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2016

We booked a spa break as part of a birthday treat. We arrived early and to our suprise the room was ready. We were invited to make use of the facilities before our treatments. The gym though a little on the small side still had enough equipment for a good workout. I then haf a very relaxing body wrap. Then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruddz74
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your excellent review of Sopwell House, I am delighted you had such a lovely time and thank you for sharing your experience. I hope we can warmly welcome you back very soon. Kind regards, Derek Hiscoke General Manager

Sheringham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Stayed at the Sopwell House on Saturday night, before heading to London on Sunday. We were expecting great things after looking at the website etc, but not so good in the flesh. The grounds are lovely, the beds were comfortable (we were in executive rooms), and the building itself is in a nice quiet setting. We chose to eat in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Stuart H
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Stuart H, I was saddened to read your review of your recent visit to Sopwell House and am sincerely sorry that you did not have a memorable experience. We constantly review our product, service and offering and I would like to thank you for your constructive feedback which allows us to continue to do so. We strive for excellence...

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Disappointing day as not able to use the amenities due to having high blood pressure, relaxation area poor, we were only able to use the pool and then have lunch and leave. Staff mixing up surnames and not being able to find booking and no other amenities available to us. Also people using mobile phones in pool area when it...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank diane k
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Diane K, I am so sorry to read of your experience, I am assuming you could not have the treatments because of your health condition, for this I am so sorry, but this is for your safety, as the safety of all of our guests are our primary concern. I have certainly taken on board all of your constructive...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner for a 2 night spa break. We had a lovely time. Food was great. Having stayed at other spa hotels in the past, i was a little disappointed with the spa facilities. I expected a lot more for the price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bella1471
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review of Sopwell House following your recent visit. I am so pleased the team looked after you well and you enjoyed the food and your time spent with us. We do in fact have in place for 2016 extensive plans for refurbishment of the spa area which we are extremely excited about, and...

Radlett, England
Reviewed 13 June 2016

I took my 91 year old mother for afternoon tea for her birthday and we had a lovely afternoon. The food was very nice, sandwiches and cakes and added a glass of champagne to make it special. The restaurant was very bright and airy. The highlight of the afternoon was the Head Butler Tony Hellawell, who helped my mum to/from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mahjx001
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your five star review of Sopwell House following your recent visit to celebrate your Mother’s 91st Birthday. I am delighted you had such a memorable time and we delight in creating special memories for our guests and so I am thrilled that the whole team looked after you so well on this very special occasion....

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Recently stayed for one evening whilst visiting the area. This is an excellent hotel. Staff are most helpful, the rooms are excellent and the setting is lovely. The spa area is superb and excellent buffet breakfast. Overall a very enjoyable stay and highly recommended if your ever in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WickReviewer
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your fabulous review of Sopwell House following your recent visit. Your review was a pleasure to read and I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay and many thanks for taking the time and trouble to share your feedback. I hope we will be able to warmly welcome you back very soon. Warm regards, Derek Hiscoke General...

North Yorkshire
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Stayed in a Deluxe Twin Room which was beautifully appointed, quiet and very clean, but somewhat on the small side. The beds were very comfortable. We had the DBB option which was fine, but the fairly restricted fixed menu was the same on both evenings for dinner. The staff were cheerful and friendly, and the extensive grounds were wonderful. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TomNorthYorkshire
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor and thank you for your four star review of the hotel following your stay. Firstly thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our newly refurbished bedrooms and also our Spa. With regard to your comments concerning the fixed menu, I very much take these on board...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

Visited for our anniversary and had a suite in the news, which is a must. A great room with lovely touches. The communal area is fantastic Had lunch outside and waited over an hour for food, the food was great shame about the service For dinner we used the main restaurant the food was pretty good although one of our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alwaystravelling042
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your recent review of Sopwell House following your visit. Your feedback is very much appreciated; in the past couple of years Sopwell House has undertaken a substantial amount of investment and refurbishment and so I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in one of our beautiful Mews Suites. We strive for excellence each and every...

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2016

We stayed at Sopwell House for our wedding anniversary and were welcomed by very friendly staff and a lovely surprise of some macaroons and rose petals on the bed. We booked the Foxglove suite and it was definitely worth the upgrade, the private gardens only accessible by guests staying in the suites are exquisite and it was nice to be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank diamond_lover_85
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your recent review of Sopwell House following your visit. Your feedback is very much appreciated; in the past couple of years Sopwell House has undertaken a substantial amount of investment and refurbishment and so I am pleased you had the chance to stay in one of our beautiful Mews Suites. We strive for excellence each...

492 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (424)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (240)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
9.9 km away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,627 reviews
2.5 km away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in St Albans
532 reviews
1.8 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 km away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.1 km away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
10.7 km away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in 12 acres of tranquil gardens Sopwell House is a 4 star hotel in Hertfordshire and the former Georgian country residence of Lord Mountbatten. Once you enter this 'home away from home' our attentive staff, family friendly service and luxurious spa facilities will provide the perfect setting to your stay or event. Our Country House hotel enables you to escape from it all and is within easy reach of London, St Pancras National & International Train Station and Luton Airport. With 128 stylish bedrooms and suites including 16 soon to be completed Mews Apartments to choose from, exceptional service, delicious food and our opulent spa you'll find it hard to leave. As well as boasting 19 flexible function suites, Sopwell House has recently been awarded winner of the 2015 Conde Nast Johansens Awards for Excellence in the category 'Best for Meetings' recognising their outstanding contribution to the corporate and social world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sopwell House

Address: Cottonmill Lane | Sopwell, St Albans AL1 2HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Price Range: RM741 - RM1,305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sopwell House 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Sopwell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sopwell House Country Club And Spa
Sopwell House Country Club Hotel St. Albans
Sopwell Hotel Country
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sopwell House staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Sopwell House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The hotel walk is very short but just beside the hotel is a town walk which brings you along by the River Ver.”
 of 5 bubbles oconnell11, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try a get a room with a view of the fields and old house - beautiful!”
 of 5 bubbles 98susanne, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“never disappointed here this time room 134 only criticism is it would be nice if there was a kettle in the room otherwise a perfect break”
 of 5 bubbles JillGell, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The little Extra for a Executive room is well worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles danieleo120, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Executive rooms were huge and extremely comfy”
 of 5 bubbles ad58, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5