We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Panoramas (40)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,037 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 991: English reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

An excellent two night say in lovely Canterbury. A proper hotel, wonderful staff and really close to the city centre. Very good buffet breakfast, nothing too much trouble. Highly recommended and worth the extra you pay compared to Premier Inn or Travel Lodge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
Mark C, Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Delighted to read that you had an excellent stay with us. Thank you for mentioning my team and breakfast offerings. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards.

Uckfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Abbots Barton hotel Canterbury is set off a major road. It has good parking facilities and an attentive desk staff who made our booking in procedure very easy. The room was clean and tidy and a good size for two people. A small useable bathroom. The location was excellent for the Kent County Cricket Ground which was no more than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather G
Mark C, Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to read that our location was to your liking, and the you were allocated was clean tidy and a good size. Thank you for mentioning our breakfast offering and glad you enjoyed what we offer. We hope to welcome you back again very soon. Kind Regards

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

How fantastic our stay was at this beautiful hotel the people who run this hotel should give themselves a pat on the back. Breakfast was good and plentiful nothing was to much trouble even having coffee on the terrace. We had the honeymoon suit again a great room a couple of points I think you should lose the dated net...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brinks3602
Mark C, Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read you had a fantastic stay with us. I note your points regarding some of the dated items in the rooms, this is due to be addressed under the next phase of our refurbishment programme, the same goes with the disabled friendly rooms. In the meantime we do have ground floor...

Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2016

First impressions, a bit old fashioned. The staff are attentive and cheerful The standard bedroon much bigger than expected. Plus points, are lack of traffic noise, allowing the window to be wide open at night. There is A/C, but it was not needed. Breakfast was very good, lovely bacon and sausages. Would I stay again, yes if I can get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank worthingkiwi
Mark C, Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Delighted to read you had a good stay with us recently. Thank you for mentioning my team and our food offering and pleased everything was to your liking. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards

Norwich, Connecticut
Reviewed 22 September 2016

My wife and I stayed for a night before heading to Sandwich. I had stayed before and this is a really nice old hotel. Nice big rooms and plenty of parking. Its about a 10 minute walk to Canterbury city center so it is close to everything. We were hoping for a more comfortable bed and pillows but they were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank silvaja01
Mark C, Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to read that our location was close to everything you needed. We are currently in the process of replacing all of our pillows, we also always have extra available should guests require them. Kind Regards

Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Chose because best price for overnight visit to grandson.Friendly greeting and appeared to be freshly decorated room with en-suite.Excellent bar and restaurant service and will definitely use again.Seems underated at 3 stars.Also free parking and only 10 minute walk to City Centre

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ian m
Mark C, Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that everything was to your liking. I am also pleased to read that you enjoyed our bar and restaurant facilities. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards.

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel is in quiet grounds and walking distance from the city. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The room was spacious and comfortable. We did not eat in as there is so much choice in the city. The parking and wifi are free.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David R
Mark C, Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Pleased to read you had a good stay with us and that everything was to your liking. Thank you for mentioning my team and glad you found them friendly and attentive. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards

Devon England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Unfortunately stay at this hotel was unpleasant arrived after a long journey kep waiting a t reception then given a late dinner at 9.45 then kept waiting again for a hour before unplesant food was given sent back then given other food more unpleasant made to feel embarrased at sending back. In our room air conditoning not working plumbing extremely...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
Mark C, Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies regarding the maintenance issues you encountered with your room. If we had been notified, we would have been able to deal with them for you. I have investigated your comments regarding your dinner reservation at 8:45, please accept our apologies that the first option you ordered was not cooked to your...

Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights as a walking group. Staff were most helpful, welcoming and polite. Hotel had homely feel. Rooms were comfortable with air conditioning and adequate furnishing. Showers were very efficient and the water hot. Although rooms had adequate room lighting appliances, the wattage in my room could have been brighter, although this is a problem in most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MWC-UK
Mark C, Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that everything was to your liking. Thank you for mentioning my team and our food offerings and pleased the couple of issues you had were rectified immediately. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, with the staff to back it up. Made to feel very welcome and special. Air conditioning in the room was a big help on hot days. The only down side was the menu was quite limited, however they did have gluten free bread for sandwiches and gluten free biscuits for the room which was a nice touch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
Mark C, Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read you had a good stay with us recently. Thank you for mentioning my team and pleased to read you were made to feel very welcome. We have 3 different menus available, a la carte, daily fixed price and bar menu. My chefs will always be happy to cater for any...

463 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (121)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (39)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (262)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (37)
Viewed
Dining (64)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (29)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (28)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (80)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.1 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
1,753 reviews
1.0 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
397 reviews
0.9 km away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
261 reviews
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
4.0 km away
Howfield Manor Hotel
Howfield Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chartham
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel

Address: 36 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Price Range: RM283 - RM828 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Canterbury
Canterbury Best Western
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel Canterbury, Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
4 days ago
Woodstock, Virginia
1 month ago
Oranjestad, Aruba

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we had a room overlooking the car park on the second floor which was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 491annieg, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors will have better views.”
 of 5 bubbles tonycharles2017, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We always ask for a twin room as the standard double would be a small bed.”
 of 5 bubbles leddy, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the original old building have the most character.”
 of 5 bubbles georgewashere2017, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go for the upgrade.”
 of 5 bubbles ronjj2014, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5