We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre hotel

Save
Share
1-7 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3AS England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
PremierInn.com
Hurb
Destinia.com
StayForLong
Trip.com
Agoda.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (112)
Room & Suite (61)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 27/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre hotel
Updated 27/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 16 hotels in Canterbury
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Ideally located within walking distance of the historic sights of this stunning cathedral city and Canterbury East train station, our Canterbury hotel features our new generation bedrooms, each with a freshly-updated bathroom with large shower head, and a brand new, slumber-inducing, king-size Hypnos bed. After a great night's sleep, head out and discover the impressive Canterbury Cathedral, St Augustine's Abbey and St Martin's Church (an UNESCO World Heritage Site, no less) or enjoy a little punting on the River Stour. Nearby shopping areas include the King's Mile and Whitefriars Canterbury.
Read more
Room & Suite (61)61
Full view
Property amenities
Free internet
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Green
Languages Spoken
English
1462Reviews30Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 612
  • 516
  • 181
  • 79
  • 75
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
caryle w wrote a review Yesterday
Greater London, United Kingdom14 contributions7 helpful votes
Stayed here as had to check out some work on second home and combined with meeting family. Hotel adequate although possibly needs a bit of an upgrade (bath with shower, only one beside shelf). Well provided with sockets & chinamugs and proper glasses ( wasn’t the case at competitor)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
renraw70 wrote a review Sep 2020
Kettering, United Kingdom79 contributions25 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Stayed here for 1 night, was given room 410 for a family of 4. This was on the top floor in the corner, lots of windows including a good view of the cathedral. Good sized room. If you don't want to pay for parking, if you walk 5- 10 minutes who can park from 4pm to 12pm the next day for nothing on various side streets. Key cards are required to get into the corridors. Good shower. We didnt eat there. Room was very quiet.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Room 410 - room with a view.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
raf20212021 wrote a review 10 May
1 contribution
I think that is a convenient place to stay, fair quality for the price offered , the room and bathroom are good size, the bed is very comfortable, internet works well. check in and out very easy and speedy,
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Tash S wrote a review Apr 2021
4 contributions1 helpful vote
When we returned from work we found our room had been cleared and our backpack, clothing, house keys as well as a selection of food and drink had been taken. This was concerning and so went and spoke to the reception who gave us our backpack, clothing and house keys back all stuffed into the bag however we never received the food and drink back. The overall experience wasn’t great and we thought maybe someone had robbed our room while we were out.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
ltfs wrote a review Oct 2020
Waterlooville, United Kingdom49 contributions49 helpful votes
Premier Inns have been in decline for some time. The Canterbury hotel is probably leading the trend. Rude reception staff, faulty air conditioning, very public areas, appalling service in the restaurant. It’s such a shame. Premier Inns used to be good. Now they are fast becoming worse than Travel Lodges. And that’s saying something.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre hotel
Responded 20 Nov 2020
Hello, Thanks for your review. We're really sorry to hear you were disappointed with the service you received as well as the issues you had with the air conditioning and the restaurant. Please be assured we'll pick this up with the team and do our best to prevent this from happening going forward. Your comments often help us improve our service so we appreciate your feedback. Again, we're really sorry for your experience and do hope we can welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, Mo Guest Relations Advisor
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$37 - US$104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandKentCanterbury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
120
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre hotel?
Nearby attractions include Tokyo Tea Rooms (0.2 km), St. Augustine's Abbey (0.2 km), and St. Thomas of Canterbury RC Church (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Corner House Canterbury Restaurant, Il Posticino, and The Moat Tea Rooms.
Is Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Canterbury.
Are there any historical sites close to Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Greyfriars Chapel and Franciscan Gardens (0.7 km), St. Augustine's Abbey (0.2 km), and Eastbridge Hospital (0.8 km).
Is Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.