We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

741 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin & Bistro
See the most recent reviews
Showing 723: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed in hotel du vin as was getting married nearby ..we had the most beautiful room and cannot fault the staff for their attentiveness and politeness .. Nothing was too much trouble and any requests were acted on straight away. If I were to find a negative it would be the parking, otherwise I would have rated it excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank christine w
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Christine W, Thank you for your lovely review, and congratulations once more on your Wedding! I'm sop glad the team were able to help take away some of the stress from your Big Day - and hope we have the opportunity of seeing you for an Anniversary perhaps? Best regards,

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Bistro restaurant! Came for a lunch beautiful dining room, wonderful ambiance. Shown to a table by a charming 'Manager' and proceeded to order food and drinks. Very expensive but as a family treat we were prepared to pay. It appears here the gentlemen are served first - most unusual - for this type of establishment. Drinks and meals served in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 1dustyrhodes
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear 1Dustyrhodes, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your meal - the relevant points will be addressed with the team and Chef to ensure there is no repeat. As an aside, there is no crackling on the pork belly which may explain one of your concerns? Best regards,

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I love this building and been here a few times for lunch.. But disappointed today ordering soup which came with no bread/roll or even the offer of one,so I asked the waiter for some, which never appeared.. And mums £15 burger was dry as a bone.. On the plus side they allow doggies

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe J
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Joe J Thank you for your review. I'm sorry your bread never arrived with the soup and that the burger was dry. Your review has been shared with the team to ensure improvement, and i do hope we have the opportunity of restoring your faith in us shortly. Best regards,

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I cannot thank you and the team at Du Vin enough for making my book launch such an amazing success. The service throughout the planning stage and then during the launch party itself was world class. Over the years, I have arranged many incentive events around the world and I have to say that your team is stunning. Your attention...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank audrey457
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Audrey457 Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure hosting your book launch, and congratulations on such a successful first event! I do hope we have the opportunity to doing the sequel? Best regards,

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

hotel 5 minutes walk from Tunbridge Wells Station. very nice hotel and staff that made you feel welcome and relaxed we had a cottage room which I think was an old gate house very clean and comfortable slept like a log as they say the food was very nice with a good tasty breakfast. an elder gentleman was leaving the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey K
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Geoffery K, Thank you for your review. We are proud of the team and it is always a pleasure to be able to share success with them - your review has been shared accordingly. I do hope we have the opportunity of seeing you both again soon. Best regards,

Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed at HDV on a Tuesday, booked a standard room and on arrival was greeted in a fab reception by super friendly staff. Room was upgraded kindly to an amazing suite Yardley Station I think it was called. Bath in room, huge comfy bed and amazing decor. Views over the park below were great too. Staff managed to get us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Mark B Thank you for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and took the opportunity of joining a wine tasting that evening. We run them quite regularly now - do let us know next time you are staying and we can ensure there is a place reserved for you. Best regards,

Datchworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

A standout hotel in so many ways with touches of old world class. You could easily imagine you were anywhere in France, with delightful little touches , such as the milk at breakfast served in a china cow, and wonderful oak floors ,that in conjunction with the lighting, gave it ,and me ,a warm feeling. Top staff and classy rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marty W
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Marty W Thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure to see the teams hard work recognised, and I do hop we have the opportunity of seeing you again in the future. Incidentally, the china cows are a firm favourite of many a guest! Best regards,

Ely, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

It was a special family occasion and I'd decided to push the boat out but a series of little disappointments meant that this overnight stay did not match up to expectations. - Overcharged on bistro bill which was subsequently adjusted - Nespresso coffee machine in room but 'no we don't have decaf, you'll have to make do with the ones...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dopheen
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Dopheen, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry there were some mistake during your visit, however am glad that the the team were able to rectify some of them. We are proud of the product and service we deliver, and i do hope we have the opportunity of seeing you in the future to restore your faith and expectation....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Stayed at the Hotel Du Vin , Tunbridge Wells last night.How disappointed after previous enjoyable stays at other locations. The cost of a tiny room on the second floor was over £220 including breakast .The room was very tired and window paint peeling and bathroom tatty and even the toilet did not flush properly.English breakfast this morning was a joke...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Richard D
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Richard D I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We are proud of our product and service, and will always try to resolve all concerns during a guests visit if we are alerted to them. The window from the room you stayed in has been repainted, although we were unable to find any specific problems with the bathroom...

Wellesbourne
Reviewed 20 October 2016

The Hotel Du Vin has always been one of the prestige hotels in Tunbridge Wells and in terms of ambience, it still delivers. Beautiful furnishings, colour, mood and design do not disappoint. This has been maintained for many years since we had our wedding reception there many moons ago. However, do not eat there! Dreadful! Classic, well cooked French cuisine...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank moscrop7
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear moscrop7, I'm sorry the menu did not please you. We are proud of what we serve, and welcome constructive feedback. We offer a Prix-Fixe menu, with 3 courses available for £19.95 alongside our A La Carte Menu, all of which is cooked A La Minute. We incidentally have a new A La Carte Menu being launched on November 1st,...

190 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (171)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
1.4 km away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
560 reviews
1.2 km away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
247 reviews
0.8 km away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#5 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
179 reviews
0.9 km away
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
#7 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
238 reviews
3.6 km away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel du Vin Tunbridge Wells is set in one of the town's architectural landmarks, a Grade II-listed sandstone mansion built as a private residence in 1762. We have retained its authentic detail carefully, adding our unique touch to the 34 bedrooms with antiques and memorabilia. Guests can enjoy a game of boules, dining on the garden terrace with its wonderful views across Calverley Park, or a wander through the hotel's very own vineyard. BEDROOMS: Housed within this impressive building are 34 timelessly styled bedrooms and stunning suites, all featuring luxurious handsprung mattresses, fine Egyptian linen, deep baths and powerful drench showers, plasma TVs, DVDs and air conditioning. BISTRO: Open all week, and under the tutelage of head chef Daniel McGarey, Bistro du Vin is at the heart of our hotel, a classic, French styled, elegant and informal setting for lunch, dinner, to meet, celebrate or simply pass the time. Dine on the finest produce the Kent has to offer from local heroes such as herbs and seasonal vegetables from local nursery chef's herbs, meat from Woodlands Farm and fish from Chapman's of Sevenoaks. These are only a handful of the suppliers included within our homegrown & local philosophy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: Crescent Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN1 2LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range: RM554 - RM1,301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel du Vin & Bistro staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Denver
5 months ago
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Vin & Bistro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best rooms in main hotel looking over the park.”
 of 5 bubbles PhilipN356, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Standard rooms are big enough for a short stay”
 of 5 bubbles 62saraw, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“not applicable.”
 of 5 bubbles 1dustyrhodes, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the the staff and the events planning team have been amazing. Would recommend to anyone who wants a beautiful and stress free event.”
 of 5 bubbles audrey457, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“cottage room very nice but not in the main hotel”
 of 5 bubbles geoffreyk553, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay