We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

383 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 380: English reviews
Start your review of New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
 Click to rate
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel itself, (i.e., the building) is a nice place to be — good rooms, comfy beds, lovely breakfast, nice warm fire in the lounge and bar, etc. In particular, the delicious hot breakfast was just what we needed as we looked out to the cold and rain outside. The standout thing about this hotel, though (and the reason I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iKenndac
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

we had a ground floor room which suited me fine after a hard days walking the fell even got spoilt with a hair dryer to dry off with. Breakfast was filling and i was given an extra sausage. Plenty of room in the gardens to run around and play in. Staff very friendly always patting and stroking me. Free drinks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 200Debbie
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We've stayed here a few times now over the years (Christmas pudding 10k / summer visits) and it's always been such a memorable stay! Had many / too many drinks in The Walkers Bar, fabulous meals in the restaurant & lovely chats with the owners. Extremely friendly staff - very relaxed & helpful at all times, nothing seems too much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahshackley
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a great find. The food is delicious and the staff helpful and friendly. The bedrooms are very comfortable with good quality bedding and towels and importantly warm and dry after a day's hike. The only downside was the mattress was very soft. One of the other couples we were with had the same problem. I would stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ellaa900
Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My son and I shared a superior twin room for two nights whilst taking a short walking break. The room was extremely comfortable, reasonably spacious and very well presented. Outside was extremely wet and windy for the whole of our stay but inside was a log-fired, toasty bliss. Breakfast is fantastic and the rest of the food offerings, for lunch...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nic_gaskin
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On plus side beer and chips were good but on a rainy day it was a poor welcome The room has nothing attractive about it the barman was not interested and the sign saying don't ask for change says it all Get a load of change from the bank and use it to make sales Hope the rest of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David C
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed the beer and chips. Sorry we cannot please everyone but I think most times we actually do. Regarding the change, the car park down the lane does not take notes or cards, on a busy day we can get asked over 30 or 40 times a day for change with people giving us £20.00 notes every time,...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was fantastic, the welcome was warm and the hotel had lovely views. However, the weather outside was dire; cold and wet and yet the log burning fires in the two major rooms downstairs remained unlit! The baskets were stocked with what looked like green logs but the experience could've been elevated by an attention to detail that was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cubster62
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely comments, our bar fire was lit but not in the 2 lounges , it was wet but warm and on the previous 2 evenings guests had asked us to let the fires go out as it was far to warm in the hotel, so we decided on Monday just to light one and not all three....

Doncaster
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here on a Saturday night in January. It was outstanding ! We arrived with my partner and our 10 month old baby. Having not booked a cot the receptionist moved us to a bigger room with a huge bed. We didn't ask for this. We didn't expect it. The lady went above and beyond our expectations and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jamie H
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

It was lovely meeting and your baby is a gorgeous. It was no problem moving you, that is what I am here for. So glad you enjoyed your weekend and hope to see you soon.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2017

My husband and I came to the NDGH again for our anniversary and had an absolutely gorgeous weekend. The rooms are fab, comfy beds, great views, very friendly and helpful staff and the food is absolutely excellent once more!!! A big thank you to all.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karen W
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

Lovely comments thank you. It was lovely seeing you and your comments will be passed on to all. The kitchen team and now putting together our new menus for the coming season. Hope to see you both soon.

Reviewed 19 January 2017

We didn't stay at the hotel, but ate at the Walker's Bar a couple of times while staying in Great Langdale. The bar was really warm with a fire going both times we went and service was very quick. we were always welcomed with a smile and I have to say the staff were really helpful with helping me find...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RosieB199
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely comments and hope to see you again soon.

110 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
4.2 km away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
1,342 reviews
9.4 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,152 reviews
9.5 km away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
0.0 km away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
445 reviews
9.0 km away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the picturesque Langdale Valley, close to the bustling small town of Ambleside and is situated conveniently for visiting many intersting areas of the Lake District, such as Grasmere, Bowness on Windermere, Keswick and Kendal. The Hotel prides itself on the cuisine served, the relaxed and friendly service it offers, as well as the excellent standards provided.All bedrooms enjoy the most dramatic of views, whether over Stickle Beck as it tumbles down the fellside, to the Pikes themselves all dominant and brooding or Lingmoor as she forms the long south easterly side of the valley. Each of the extremely comfortable rooms are en-suite with colour television and tea and coffee making facilities and central heating.The bright restaurant overlooks the patio and to the lawn with the Lakeland fells beyond. Before dining take the opportunity to sample the hand pulled beers or the many malt whiskies available in the cosy lounge bar.Resident chef, Ian Manley, now in his 12th year at the hotel and his small and enthusiastic team have devised a style of cooking which is unique to The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel. Using only the finest seasonal local produce including game, meat and fish the hotel proudly claim an extremely high standard of cuisine that you will want to sample again and again. The excellent selection of dishes also extends to our range of vegetarian meals.The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the very heart of the Lake District, one of the most beautiful and inspiring corners of England. This region of long ribbon lakes, green valleys and sweeping mountains was the home of the poets Wordsworth and Coleridge and greatly inspired their work. ... more   less 

Additional Information about New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Address: Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Price Range: RM584 - RM872 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Dungeon Ghyll Ambleside
New Dungeon Hotel
Hotel New Dungeon Ghyll
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel Ambleside, Lake District
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Durham, United Kingdom
Blackburn, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 10 (a poster bed room) has great views over the valley”
  • The view from room 10
 of 5 bubbles iKenndac, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“stunning views all round”
 of 5 bubbles sarahshackley, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor is great for walkers. First floor rooms have those breathtakingly beautiful views, so, so beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles nic_gaskin, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The four poster bed was great”
 of 5 bubbles cubster62, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Haven't stayed in a bad room yet!”
 of 5 bubbles KarenW633, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5