We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Skelwith Fold Caravan Park

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Skelwith Fold Caravan Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 99: English reviews
Start your review of Skelwith Fold Caravan Park
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have just enjoyed a wonderful 5 night stay at Skelwith. As soon as we drove away from check-in, we both agreed that this is "how to run a camp site!" Thoroughly impressed with both the facilities and friendliness of staff. Website is easy to use and fuss free when paying online - We unfortunately had to cut short our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francesca L
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Looked great in the pics, but when we got there they were very small pitches for touring caravans with an awning. No defined spaces between pitches for the majority, would not return. A real shame. Unfortunately trip advisor criteria of cleanliness, location and service means that you don't see the negatives of this site. Cleanliness was great, but there were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MariaWiltshire
SkelwithStaff, Front Office Manager at Skelwith Fold Caravan Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm very sorry and also concerned that you had issues with the space around you. I can't quite fathom the suggestion that the pitches were not clearly defined (we have very clear pitch markers) or from your picture whereabouts you were pitched? Our standard pitches are spaced out 9 metres and our premiums 10 metres...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were on a nine night tour of the Lake District and this was by far the most expensive site (£33.70 per night for VW Camper with two adults). All other sites were £19 to £23. We had to pay a deposit on the first phone call, then we had to pay the balance one week before arrival... all a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerry M
SkelwithStaff, Front Office Manager at Skelwith Fold Caravan Park, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback and review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay. To address your point about payment prior to arrival, this is something we only exercise during high season (by the way, the pitch would have been £26.60 outside of school holidays) to speed up the booking-in process. The last thing we want is a...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great site, now the kids are grown hubby and me get to do lots more walking and the walk into ambleside is lovely, loads of places to eat and drink. The walk from ambleside through troutbeck stopping in the mortal man great cider and food and then back to ambleside is beautiful. Back again soon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phil b
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A special occasion in our motorhome called for a visit to Skelwith Fold in early March. We wouldn't normally splurge on an costly site like this however I am glad we did. We took a standard pitch and the three days cost over £90 (dogs are £2.10 per night!!) with electric hook up and dogs. There is a charge for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarahbeenhere
SkelwithStaff, Front Office Manager at Skelwith Fold Caravan Park, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and feedback. Regarding our charge for dogs, it is something we introduced a few years ago. We felt it was necessary to introduce a charge due to the extra effort that our pawed friends can create. Either through mess that doesn't get picked up, the emptying of doggy bins, barking episodes or escapees....

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

My son and I stayed one night using it as a base to go hill walking in the lakes Lorraine on reception has to be one of the most pleasant efficient and helpful people I've ever dealt with - 5* customer service The site is beautiful and quite secluded, although not far out of Ambleside (about a mile?) entrance is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy T
stockton uk
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Lovely 2 night stay in a hideaway. Small but well laid out and everything you need. Comfortable bed, lovely large shower, heating great, tv, in fact everything you would need for a lovely relaxing break. We were shown to the hideaway by warden Jackie who explained everything to us. Included were toiletries, teabags, coffee etc and the bottle of prosecco...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rosaleeStocktonUk
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016

We have visited this site twice now and have enjoyed both times. The site is very beautiful set in woodland and is maintained to a very high standard. The toilet blocks are warm and clean and the shop nicely stocked with basic items and a good DVD rental library. The only slight things we would pick up on this time...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hillanddale36
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016

We wanted a motorhome site in the Lakes that was central to many of the places we wanted to visit, and settled on this place. As has been noted it is within a good walk of Ambleside; Windermere and Bowness are not far away, the Langdales are just round the corner and Coniston is reached easily. In addition, as well...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dogcollar
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and loved it. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the site is within a nice walking Distance to ambleside. The wash block Is amazing With under floor heating and spotless. So glad we acted On a whim !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandie9440
SkelwithStaff, Front Office Manager at Skelwith Fold Caravan Park, responded to this review

We're very pleased you had such a pleasant stay. Ever so slightly confused by your review title and 2 stars though. We hope to see you at Skelwith Fold again very soon. Kind regards,

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
2.1 km away
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ambleside
364 reviews
2.5 km away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
4.5 km away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,622 reviews
5.6 km away
Grand at Grasmere
Grand at Grasmere
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
432 reviews
1.7 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Skelwith Fold is a unique and special touring caravan and motorhome holiday park - and a beautiful home-from-home for our guests. In the heart of the Lake District National Park we have 300 privately owned static caravan holiday homes. For touring and motorhome holidays we offer the highest of standards and facilities as one of the finest touring caravan and motorhome parks in the Lake District. For those wanting a unique couples getaway, our Hideaways provide the perfect retreat for a few days. But we're more than a caravan park; Our 130 acres are begging to be explored. There are plenty of paths to follow, leading to a wealth of discoveries, including our mystical tarn, sculptures and breathtaking views of the Langdale Pikes and surrounding fells. Although Skelwith Fold houses over 400 pitches it has the feel of a much smaller park - the various accommodation areas have been carefully and sympathetically set out in small woodland glades, settled amongst natural undulating features, creating a sense of quiet and intimacy. Even in the height of the season, the park does not have a crowded feel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Skelwith Fold Caravan Park

Address: B5286 Hawkshead Road, Ambleside LA22 0HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Number of rooms: 130
Also Known As:
Skelwith Fold Caravan Park Ambleside, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Skelwith Fold Caravan Park staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Skelwith Fold Caravan Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The premium pitches are well worth it”
dogcollar, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Loughrigg area offers peace and quiet”
Alex1916, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not a hotel but a caravan/touring site. Recommend booking in advance.”
maswales, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“n/a - its a campsite”
  • View from edge of campsite - Langdale Pikes
HCHorsham, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Executive pitch are fab!”
860miah, 14 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5