We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hillsdale in Ambleside

Certificate of Excellence
17/05/2017 18/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hillsdale in Ambleside
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

596 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hillsdale in Ambleside
See the most recent reviews
Showing 592: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The place is spotless, well appointed and is located in the centre of Ambleside. The host George couldn't be more helpful if he tried. Breakfast was first class, better than some 5 star hotels I've stayed in. One minor hiccup I forgot to mention to George, the shower in room 8 had no hot water at 0815, I assume the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eviladj
HillsdaleAmbleside, Owner at Hillsdale in Ambleside, responded to this review

Blimey - this will take some living up to!! Many thanks for all the wonderful compliments you have paid us on here. Very flattered about the "first class breakfast" too! We are really sorry about the hot water issue that morning - we had some problems with the timing meter on the boiler but sorted it pretty fast once we...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a fabulous time staying at the Hillsdale. The owners could not be more welcoming and friendly. Great rooms which are really well presented and warm and the breakfast was absolutely brilliant. Just what you need for a day in the hills.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MRHawley986
HillsdaleAmbleside, Owner at Hillsdale in Ambleside, responded to this review

Aww, what a lovely Review you have written for us here. Thank you so much for that - it always helps to know when we are getting things right - We hope to see you again next time you fancy a day or two "in the hills" - George and Lindsey

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

George and Lindsey are a fantastic couple - Welcoming, knowledgeable and very helpful. Lovely B&B, spotlessly clean, great breakfasts. We would definitely recommend it to anyone. Nearby parking not a problem - free too! This B&B is very central for all amenities in Ambleside. Lots of restaurants,cafes and pubs. We recommend the Golden Rule if you like real ale, coal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cushiedoos
HillsdaleAmbleside, Owner at Hillsdale in Ambleside, responded to this review

Aww, what a super review you have posted on here for us :0) Thank you so much for that. We are so pleased to read such positive comments about Hillsdale and for your recommendation to other prospective guests too. Thank you for putting in a word about the free parking for each room. It is a real bonus for us...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very clean, well presented and extremely welcoming b&b. The breakfast was lovely, stylish rooms and a great central location. George and Lindsey were extremely helpful and advised of places to walk, eat and drink! Would definitely recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhona P
HillsdaleAmbleside, Owner at Hillsdale in Ambleside, responded to this review

Just a quick note of thanks for the super comments you have put on here for us and for the recommendation to others too. It is always good to know that what we are doing is working for our guests and that you found Hillsdale to be a in a great central location for pubs and restaurants and for all...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nicest b&b stay we have ever had. George and Lindsey couldn't be better hosts, very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Room was bright, clean and homely and the bed was extremely comfortable. We had a lovely view of the mountains from our room. Tasty veggy breakfast with lots of choice. This b&b has a lovely atmosphere and we will definitely be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guinnees
HillsdaleAmbleside, Owner at Hillsdale in Ambleside, responded to this review

We just wanted to say a huge thank you to you for posting such lovely and positive comments on here for us. We love that you loved Hillsdale, the views of the mountains, the veggie breakfast and your room too. We are so pleased to know that you will make a return visit some time - sometimes we have nearly...

bury
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was our third visit to hillsdale, and once again we weren't disappointed. From start to finish it's a joy to stay here! The rooms are spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. It's location is perfect. Within seconds of the main town, but peaceful and relaxing. But the real stars of Hillsdale are the hosts. George is so pleasant and helpful,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shelbyjbury
HillsdaleAmbleside, Owner at Hillsdale in Ambleside, responded to this review

this is a super review - thank you so much for all the brilliant compliments you have paid us on here. We are very flattered, of course. It is always lovely to know that what we are doing here works for our guests and the fact that you have now stayed with us three times speaks volumes to us. Thank...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked for three nights for a short break in the Lake District and George and Lindsey were welcoming and helpfully informative about the area from the moment we arrived. Our accommodation was comfortable and well equipped and was just what we needed. The breakfasts were brilliant! We were able to visit Loughrigg, Grasmere, Rydal Water, Rydal Hall, Derwent Water,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spcollyer
HillsdaleAmbleside, Owner at Hillsdale in Ambleside, responded to this review

Just a quick word of thanks for posting this lovely review for us on here. We are so pleased to know that you had a good time staying with us at Hillsdale and that the accommodation was "just what you needed" and that the breakfast were brilliant :0) Yes, the Lake District is certainly a special place with something to...

South Yorkshire
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Another very enjoyable stay at Hillsdale. George and Lindsey are lovely hosts who get all the important things right: attractive decor, very comfy bed, good bathroom and fine breakfasts with plenty of choice. A really convenient location in the centre of Ambleside but calm and quiet, especially at night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris217
HillsdaleAmbleside, Owner at Hillsdale in Ambleside, responded to this review

We love this glowing report of Hillsdale! Thank you so much for taking the time to post on here for us and for making Hillsdale your first choice for your return trip to The Lakes. We do hope to see you again some time - G & L

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely welcome upon arrival. Nothing too much trouble. Spotless cosy room. Breakfast great. Parking off site not too far away. Perfect location in a perfect place. Evening meal at Tarrentellos food was delicious.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayne M
HillsdaleAmbleside, Owner at Hillsdale in Ambleside, responded to this review

This is such a super review which says so much for a one night stay with us at Hillsdale. We are really pleased to know that you found this to be the "perfect location in a perfect place" - WoW, we are flattered. Thank you for posting on here for us x

Its in Spanish
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 2 night's it's a a really lovely b/b a very clean beautifull room. The breakfast was scrumy. George and Lindsey were lovely and very helpfull recomending places too eat and visit. The area is is within easy reach of places of interest, we ate at the Lily bar which is only 50yds away, also the White Lion...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D3478URbarbarac
HillsdaleAmbleside, Owner at Hillsdale in Ambleside, responded to this review

It is so good to read that you will definitely stay at Hillsdale again and to know that you had such a great time here. From memory, we think that you stayed in our newly decorated bay-fronted king room and are so glad that it was a hit with you! We love it too. We look forward to seeing you...

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (16)
17/05/2017 18/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.3 km away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 km away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
518 reviews
1.0 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
0.0 km away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#3 of 103 in Ambleside
1,150 reviews
0.0 km away
The Lakes B and B
The Lakes B and B
#7 of 103 in Ambleside
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This charming Visit Britain 4*Bed and Breakfast property, with free off-road parking for each room, is conveniently situated in Ambleside town centre in the very heart of the English Lake District, Wainwright's Walking Country. The beautiful waters of Windermere, Rydal and Grasmere are within easy walking distance as are the historic homes of Wordsworth, Ruskin and Beatrix Potter. Each room has been individually styled - as the B&B has been created from an original Lakeland Stone townhouse, so typical of Ambleside, no room is the same shape or size, but we hope that each one is as comfortable, attractive and pleasing as the next! All rooms have either a double or king sized bed, newly refurbished en-suite shower room and flat screen TV. Hospitality trays, hairdryers, wine glasses and corkscrew come as standard. Free wi-fi is available. Prices include a selection of breakfast choices. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hillsdale in Ambleside

Address: Church Street, Ambleside LA22 0BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Price Range: RM458 - RM531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillsdale in Ambleside 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hillsdale in Ambleside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillsdale In Ambleside Hotel Ambleside
Hillsdale In Ambleside Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hillsdale in Ambleside staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Bootle, England, United Kingdom
9 months ago
London, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hillsdale in Ambleside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“From my experience call rooms are good”
968paulinet, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms vary in size but we found even the smaller ones comfortable.”
Chris217, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“we had bay room at front, very little traffic noise”
leematthews34, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose the bay room”
GizmoGreen, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had rooms 2 and 3, both were quiet and comfortable”
ThelmaAnthony, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
Official Site
Priceline
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates