We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ouse Bridge House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ouse Bridge House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 125: English reviews
Start your review of Ouse Bridge House
 Click to rate
Pickering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for one night (Feb 2017) It is the ideal place away from the usual bustle of the lakes. Our puppy was made very welcome as were we. The room was small, but we were made aware of this at booking and the bathroom was private but across the landing but again we knew this on booking. Everywhere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank edenmedia
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed there for a couple of days (New Year's even and New Year). Great little place - very friendly owners, great breakfast and the room we were staying in had a lovely lake view. Close to Cocermouth. Great place for a base if you are planning some Lake District walks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank limpkorn
manchester,england
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a two night stay here. Check in very quick and Claire gave us a recommendation to eat out locally. Shown to our room on the 1st floor. Room was smallish but already knew this when we booked so not a problem. Nice and cosy though all the same. Bed was comfy as were pillows and got a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bluejay1967
Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We were attending a wedding locally so took the opportunity to have a late summer/autumn break. We found this B&B as it met all our requirements. The couple that run the B&B are extremely friendly and very helpful. I contacted them prior to arrival to ask if we could bring our bikes and could they be stored...this was not a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RandSHowell
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. We were made very welcome by the owners. We didn't take our dog but it is dog friendly. Also recommend visiting the Lakes distillery just up the road! The bed was comfortable and the room clean, we had a nice view on the top floor of the lake and mountains from our window. Would use again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2016

My wife and I stopped here on Tuesday, for one night on our way to Scotland. I had read reviews before booking and we were not disappointed. OB House is located about halfway between the towns of Keswick and Cockermouth just off the main A66 road, and is therefore ideally located for those wishing to explore the northern end of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank doebag
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Our fourth stay at Ouse Bridge House. An ideal location as a base to bag a few more 'Wainwrights'. A super breakfast, cooked to order, a day's fell walking followed by a short evening stroll to the Pheasant for a pint. Keswick easily accesible by bus. Hosts as welcoming as ever. We shall be returning again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TVsocks
Bhuj, India
Reviewed 5 September 2016

The external entrance and surrounds not good and even not clean. The arrangements of rooms not good, the rooms is very small size and utility area is very old and un higenic. It's very dirty and vorn our place. Need major refurbication. The food is also not very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ramjigorsia
bazCumbria, Owner at Ouse Bridge House, responded to this review

We do not recognise the name of thiis guest as someone who has stayed with us. We also do not have a Utility Room [we are a guesthouse not a self catering property] and therefore suspect this is the wrong property being reviewed.

Paris, France
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Claire and Stephen went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable - our party consisted of my teenaged daughter, myself and my elderly mother - all of us were very impressed! The vegetarian cooked breakfast was delicious, the rooms clean, bright and tastefully decorated and the beds comfortable. The location is peaceful but well placed to visit the North...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ccdadamson
bazCumbria, Owner at Ouse Bridge House, responded to this review

We are so glad that you all enjoyed your stay with us at Ouse Bridge House and we are happy that you found it a "home from home." I do hope that Lea found her work experience very interesting that she undertook whilst visiting the Lake Distirict.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Angry South African receptionist- worst customer service ever, booked through booking.com for a wedding in August, they took the money straight away then I had to cancel so called for a refund but one week later still not had it, called again and the receptionist said angrily 'we are trying to run a guesthouse here, we will get round to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luciadd1
bazCumbria, Owner at Ouse Bridge House, responded to this review

This guest cancelled their booking with us and did not stay in July 2016 as stated in this Tripadvisor review. The booking was cancelled on Monday 11th July 2016 @ 16h53 and the deposit was refunded to the guest on Friday 15th July 2016 @ 17h16. We believe that a 4 day turnaround on a refund is reasonable and any...

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
1.4 km away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,534 reviews
2.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
4.0 km away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
407 reviews
4.0 km away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
477 reviews
5.6 km away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Ouse Bridge House

Address: Bassenthwaite Lake | Dubwath, Cockermouth CA13 9YD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Price Range: RM409 - RM520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ouse Bridge House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Ouse Bridge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ouse Bridge House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Sunderland

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ouse Bridge House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best views from the front rooms (great views of Bassenthwaite)”
  • view from room 3 window
 of 5 bubbles edenmedia, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a top floor double room with a lake view - stunning”
 of 5 bubbles limpkorn, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“A room on the front of the property has great views and fantastic sunsets”
  • View from Room 1
 of 5 bubbles RandSHowell, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at front for views of the lake”
 of 5 bubbles doebag, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms have views of Bassenthwaite Lake & Skiddaw”
 of 5 bubbles TVsocks, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5